AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 02:51 AM
CooledByWater's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: WILDCAT COUNTRY
Posts: 200

What’s Your Opinion

I am building a new system using the Cheiftec full tower case. My plan is to turn my heater core sideways as per the drawing and mount the core at the top of the case. The rear fan will exhaust out the back and the front fan will get supply air from the top of the case. I will build ductwork from the front fan to the top of the case.

I am adding additional barbs to the heater core to eliminate the Y fitting and to eliminate the T fitting. This will keep the looped system clean and efficient with no bottlenecks using fittings within the loop.

I know some will say having the pump before the water block is not good, but from what I have read this would only add 0.05c to the system.

Open for any suggestions you may see.
Attached Thumbnails
What’s Your Opinion-t-fitting-1.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 06:30 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Looks good!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 07:33 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

sounds smart~ i use my ehime infront of the block and it works great!
Interesting idea~ what heatercore??
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 08:01 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

eh? I always try to cool the water BEFORE it gets tot he block.
But that's just me.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 08:32 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

think about it~
Heatercores cause the most restriction~
By having the strongest part of the pressure on the block, you remove as much heat as if it were after the rad, because even though it may add 1/2 degrees, it still knocks it down to only .5 more at the most. Works best for high flow blocks~
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 10:31 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

You what spyder? :S my heatercore offers nigh on zero restricion with the valve in place, without its totally unrestricted. (Comparing to 1/2" tubing this is)
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 02:44 AM
CooledByWater's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: WILDCAT COUNTRY
Posts: 200

I am going to use my D-Tek TC-4 block with a three-barb top. Going to try an arrangement that Cathar used on the White River block. I was messing around today and came up with this idea for the center barb. Again Cathar introduced the idea, but I used just the barb and not a separate plate.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 02:50 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

so your creating a directional jet spray?
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 02:57 AM
CooledByWater's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: WILDCAT COUNTRY
Posts: 200

The plan is to have it spraying across the channel over the die, But can try it the other direction as well.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 04:09 AM
gone_fishin's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Da U.P.
Posts: 16

DV, doing R&D for Dt once again? Slot magic? There's a lot more to it than the slot on Cathar's design.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 04:51 AM
CooledByWater's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: WILDCAT COUNTRY
Posts: 200

Quote:
Originally posted by gone_fishin
DV, doing R&D for Dt once again? Slot magic? There's a lot more to it than the slot on Cathar's design.
Doing nothing for D-Tek. In fact have not talked to Danny in over a month. If you look back I had plan to use a three barb top on the TC-4 long ago with supplying water coming into the block from both ends and exiting out the center. I was in my shop today kicking around this idea and I am going to try it out. Do you see a problem with that GF?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 04:56 AM
gone_fishin's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Da U.P.
Posts: 16

That adapted barb would work nicely on an open chambered block such as the Swiftech UH. Orientation of the slot by the final twist of the barb would not matter. Dimple the baseplate and your in business.
No problem, just imagining what type of hoopla is going to show up on dtek's sales pitch page this time for the revision 50
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 05:01 AM
CooledByWater's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: WILDCAT COUNTRY
Posts: 200

How funny someone just sent me a link to OCA and here is a quote from cathar,

Quote:
Originally posted by Cathar at Australia Forums
Looks interesting.

If only the orientation and depth of the barb could be guaranteed when screwing tapered barbs in....

With straight thread barbs it'd be a decent idea. I wonder how fiddly it was for him to get that made up?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 05:04 AM
CooledByWater's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: WILDCAT COUNTRY
Posts: 200

Quote:
Originally posted by gone_fishin
That adapted barb would work nicely on an open chambered block such as the Swiftech UH. Orientation of the slot by the final twist of the barb would not matter. Dimple the baseplate and your in business.
GF you have read my mine. I had plan to take the TC-4 and in the channel place small dimples along its path.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 05:07 AM
gone_fishin's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Da U.P.
Posts: 16

I have read your mind and you have read my words, which one is a sure thing
Well, hop to it, let's see some pics of the final outcome.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 05:16 AM
CooledByWater's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: WILDCAT COUNTRY
Posts: 200

Well it will be a few days if not longer. The system I would use had a complete melt down of the ATX power connector and it took out my EP-8K3A+ mobo. Waiting for my new EP-8DRA+ mobo and I still need to make a copper top.
__________________

Last edited by CooledByWater; 2nd December, 2002 at 05:50 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2002, 09:54 PM
nikhsub1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 124

Quote:
Originally posted by The Spyder
think about it~
Heatercores cause the most restriction~
By having the strongest part of the pressure on the block, you remove as much heat as if it were after the rad, because even though it may add 1/2 degrees, it still knocks it down to only .5 more at the most. Works best for high flow blocks~
That theory doesn't really work - pressure/flow/velocity 'should' be the same at ANY point in the system, shouldn't be higher right off the pump.
__________________
Athlon 2600 XP @2.525 (210 x 12, 2.0V)
ASUS A7N8X
PC Power & Cooling Turbo 450
Micro Channel "White Water" --> Heater Core --> Iwaki MD-15R --> 1/2" Tygon In-Line System
2x 256MB OCZ EL 3500
2 40 GIG ATA 133 D740X (Fluid Bearing) Raid 0 TX2000
2 40 GIG ATA 100 120GXP IBM 7200 RPM
Yamaha 16x10x40 ~ Creative Labs 52X CD-ROM ~ ATI 32MB DDR
[color=bright green]"Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity" - Unknown[/color]
We need YOUR help! Find a CURE ----->FOLDING @ HOME TEAM 32!!!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2002, 03:12 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by nikhsub1

That theory doesn't really work - pressure/flow/velocity 'should' be the same at ANY point in the system, shouldn't be higher right off the pump.
Indeed . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2002, 04:41 AM
CooledByWater's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: WILDCAT COUNTRY
Posts: 200

Going to take longer than I thought. With the new MOBO to arrive in the next few days I have learned that this mobo does not report from the ON DIE.

I am going to place a temp probe inline leaving the water block. Ambient temps will be taken from the intake fan with the probe 1 inch in front of the intake and will try my best to control these ambient temps. Ambient temps as well as water temps will be taken using a Fluke series 54 dual probe meter with an accuracy of (0.05%).

Once I have received what I believe to be accurate temps I will disassemble the water block and replace the block with the new three-barb top using a Y connector so not to change anything else, fans, heater core, pump, etc.

I will mount and remount the block 5 times per block and take readings. For loading the computer I will use Prime95. Because I am testing the same block, but configured differently it does not really matter what program I use to load the system. I am not testing to see what my system does under an extreme load only how each block compares to each other. The blocks will be tested as an open channel block. This will eliminate any bickering that each block water channel is the same.

Once I have accurate results from both block tops I will report my findings.

Then I will begin my new adventure of building my new system.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2002, 05:51 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Quote:
Originally posted by nikhsub1

That theory doesn't really work - pressure/flow/velocity 'should' be the same at ANY point in the system, shouldn't be higher right off the pump.
hold true in my system~ if i run the pump directly let say it takes 25sec to fill a 1 gallon bucket, where if i put the radiator after the pump, it takes 30 sec so flow is restriced~

I should "not" have said pressure~rather flow~ but i made this post at like midnight
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need your opinion on cooling ~* InSoM *~ Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 14 3rd February, 2005 02:25 AM
Your Humble RAM Opinion fusheeezy General Hardware Discussion 4 29th May, 2004 12:49 AM
Opinion about the best P4 HSF... Phat99Eclipse Intel Motherboards & CPUs 5 17th February, 2004 08:11 AM
TFT Display Opinion? Muta General Hardware Discussion 10 20th March, 2003 01:20 AM
Whats the best car ever in your opinion? Random Nonsense Random Nonsense! 77 2nd December, 2001 01:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0