AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 09:35 PM
JungleMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 40

Why are my case temps so high?

My case temps are anywhere from 36-40C...I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong!

I've got a Lian Li PC-70, with 2x32cfm Adda exhausts, 2x32cfm Adda intakes (they're set on High), 2x Panaflo M1A exhausts at the top of the case, a dual-fan Antec TruePower PSU, a Thermalright SK-7 with 35cfm fan. I CANT FIGURE IT OUT!!

I tried removing all of my PCI and AGP cards, removing my side door, even taking my hard drive cage out, all to no avail. My house is probably not even 30C. What the heck is going on?? I had similar results on my Antec SX840.

Someone please help, I've been going mad for days trying to figure this out! I am monitoring using Winbond 3 on the 3/03/03 BIOS.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 09:38 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Make sure all your fans are functioning and pointed in the right direction, sorry it's all I can think of at the moment. After re-reading your post...How sure are you of your temperature reporting accuracy?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 09:43 PM
JungleMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 40

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
Make sure all your fans are functioning and pointed in the right direction, sorry it's all I can think of at the moment. After re-reading your post...How sure are you of your temperature reporting accuracy?
Yes, the two in the front are aiming in, and the two in the back are aiming out.

I tested in the BIOS and in MBM. Strangely my CPU temp isn't too bad, right now it's at a mere 43C load but that's with the case door open...

It still bugs me why my case temp is so high, one of the reasons I bought this case was to get nice chilly case temps. Yet my case temp is 39C right now and everyone else's is under 30 with cases that have far less fans! And my house isn't evne that hot...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 09:44 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

I take it your reading the case temp from the mobo sensor.
Keep in mind this is a surface mounted component and may be near a source of heat on the motherboard, this may be giving you slightly higher readings. Also the temp monitor isnt allways accurate and can be out by a few degrees.

What motherboard do you have?
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 09:45 PM
JungleMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 40

Thanks Soul, does anyone know where exactly on the board this sensor is located?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 09:47 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

what is your motherboard?
i located a few using a can of spray air held upsidedown, it freezes the motherboard.
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 09:48 PM
JungleMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 40

I have an Epox 8RDA+ 1.1, using the 3/03/2003 BIOS.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 09:50 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soul99
what is your motherboard?
i located a few using a can of spray air held upsidedown, it freezes the motherboard.
Clever devil! any ill side effects?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 09:52 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

I used to have one of those and the case temps did seem a little high, tho at the time I used no case cooling at all and just leave the side off.
have you got a heatsink on your southbridge?
mine didnt come with one and the south bridge was roasting hot.

I'f your brave put your finger on the south bridge now, if it burns thats prolly whats raising your mobo temp and giving you seemingly higher case temps.
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 09:53 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

No Daniel, used to do it all the time.
Its also good for using on the heatsink, freeze the sink to -40 and then turn on the pc > go for some mad windows boot speeds.
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 09:56 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Thanks Soul99 I'll add it to my list of tricks! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 10:00 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

just watch out for little droplets of water, they do form but usually not enough to do any flooding or anything like that.
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 10:02 PM
JungleMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 40

Moving back on topic...does anyone know where the case temp sensor is on the 8RDA+?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 10:10 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

is your south bridge hot?
i'm looking for info on the location of the temp sensor, i've seen one review that says its actually the northbridge, but i bet yours is hotter than 40c, assuming you have the normal round cooler and no fan.
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 10:11 PM
JungleMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 40

Yep I'm on stock NB and SB cooling, right now at 176fsb..(it can do more)

Southbridge is warm, but not exactly hot.

If it's right next to the Northbridge, then that's a really stupid place to put it
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 10:14 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

hehe, just got the board out of my cupboard >
it died over an hour period when it became unstable and then half the stuff in the bios didint work and then it would no longer boot. looking around for it.
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 10:19 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

"the MB temp sensor is down near the Winbond sensor chip bottom left of the MB"

I found this on these forums after doing a search.
may or may not be true.
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 10:28 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

well i cant find any info on the web and i cant visually find it on the board. from experiance tho it looks like any of the other small resistor things on the board so i doubt you could spot it anyway.
Maybe if you could get an epox tech to confirm its location? might be worth a post on the epox boards section.
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 10:31 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

At 200 fsb my south bridge was burning hot, i remember the burn > chopped a GlobalWin FOP-38 heatsink in half and stuck that on, which is now cooling my current south bridge.
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 10:37 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Yeah, that's kinda what I had in mind.":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kv8 pro temps too high fiendlybrds Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 14th February, 2005 12:05 AM
8RDA+ and high case-temps SgtBudde EPoX MotherBoards 12 24th May, 2004 12:02 PM
Do temps tend to go up over time or is it the warm weather causing high temps? mookydooky AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 15th November, 2003 06:56 PM
High OC--Low Temps? majkmil Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 23rd September, 2003 01:03 PM
Temps too high on P4? Armand Karlsen Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 24 25th October, 2002 02:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0