AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Cooling & Temperature Monitoring


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2006, 02:37 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Video Ram Sinks

Well, after installing my Maze 4 on my 6800 card, my temps dropped to a low of 43 load. The issue I have now is because the Leadtek HS was all one peice, I am getting artifacts while gaming. This did not happen until I removed the stock cooler. So I need to pick up some ram sinks to cool that hard working memory down.

I see a few out there. vantec and zalman

What would be the better stuff?

Does it really matter and should i just throw the cheapest I can find?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2006, 04:51 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Swiftech ...uh..MC19's?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2006, 04:06 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Just a quick up. I did a search on video ramsinks, and this thread was number one on the list.

I found MC14 not MC19.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 24th December, 2006 at 04:07 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2006, 10:18 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

I take it your GFX RAM is back up and running now Sam? Awesomeness!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2006, 12:15 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

The zalmans are awesome. Got them on my 7600GT and they do an awesome job. Without them, i got artifacts ("the magic polygons") in hl2 after about 15 minutes. With them, i could up my mem clock and not get any artifacts. Since i also have an Arctic Cooling aftermarket cooler as well, i used 2 of the blocky ones on the vram near the edges and 2 of the spread ones near the gpu. They do an awesome job, you don't even need any air directed at them (just make sure your case airflow and/or temperature is good (even though it looks like you're on watercooling)).
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2006, 02:47 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Well, I have not got them yet. I am ordering today. The odd thing is, I only noticed the artifacts in the FEAR demo. Q4 runs fine and does the ATI tool test. RIght now it's @ 410/800...Again 6800 Vanilla unlocked.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 19th January, 2007 at 10:22 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2006, 10:49 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

So, what did you order then?
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 04:10 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I ordered these
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 02:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 568

Those are very similar to ones I have for the RAM on a 9800, just standard copper RAMsinks. They helped keep the artifacts away during heavy fraggin' when O/C'd.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 02:36 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I liked them because there big, and have allot of fins.

Plus the price is nice.

I post back with the results.

Should I use the supplied sticky tape or remove it and use some super glue and thermal compound?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 27th December, 2006 at 02:38 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 02:41 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Use the pads supplied, superglue just isn't a good idea where memory chips are concerned.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 568

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow

Should I use the supplied sticky tape or remove it and use some super glue and thermal compound?
I dunno, I just used the thermal tape that came stuck on them. Seemed to do an OK job.
__________________

Last edited by aztec61; 27th December, 2006 at 02:44 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 03:33 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Thermal Pads it is then. I guess if I had to remove them, SG would be a bad idea...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 06:35 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

no, actually it's not. I use AS5 with 2 dots of superglue on opposite conrners...however I use the very tip of a round toothpick to put on the superglue. bewtween the surface tenaion of the AS5, and the wee bit of superglue, you end up with a semi-permanent bond!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 10:21 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Well I will give it a go then.

I have seen where many have done this. It makes sense that I would get better heat transfer with AS5 and super glue.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 10:22 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
no, actually it's not. I use AS5 with 2 dots of superglue on opposite conrners...however I use the very tip of a round toothpick to put on the superglue. bewtween the surface tenaion of the AS5, and the wee bit of superglue, you end up with a semi-permanent bond!
Exactly, what if you need to remove them for some reason? You neve know what tomorrow will bring. With the thermal tape, just peel off the backing, press them onto the chips surface and apply pressure for about a minute (but not too much pressure, just squeeze the ramsink and the back of the card between your thumb and index finger).
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2006, 10:43 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

My method ensures that the sink can be removed. we are talking two dots smaller than the head of a pin. We need minimal holding force due ot the surface tension of the AS5...so the amt you use make the bond not permanent. You simply toss the vidcard into the freezer, come back an hour later, and pop it off. Just remember to let the card return to room temp before installing it in your machine!
__________________

Last edited by cadaveca; 27th December, 2006 at 10:43 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2006, 12:08 AM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
Just remember to let the card return to room temp before installing it in your machine!
Unless you're THG and overuse liquid nitro just to cool a DVD-ROM drive.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2006, 12:26 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

Actually, I tend to push things harder than they do. I just do it right, while they just do it stupid.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 19th January, 2007, 07:12 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I guess I should update this.

The units I ordered are huge. I took pics and will be doing a review. Solid copper and heavy.

Took my mem from 800 with out the sinks to 850 so far and still not found the limit. Able to push the GPU a little more also.

Again I have all the pics and am writing a review. Well worth the 18.00 bucks shipped...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An anchor sinks into the sea link by link...until it hits bottom. Daniel ~ GAMES! OH YEAH! 4 16th September, 2006 07:19 PM
Egyptian Cruise Liner Sinks with 1,400 Onboard aghastpumpkin Random Nonsense! 5 4th February, 2006 01:18 PM
Heat sinks for ram? Gunny2times Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 4th November, 2004 08:40 PM
NO Ram Sinks? And they are so small? Spode Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 29 26th September, 2002 11:37 AM
vid ram sinks eobard Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 16 8th December, 2001 05:19 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0