AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2002, 12:29 AM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

Unhappy Help!, IE is the only browser that works!

OS is XP w/ sp1

Well the story goes. I installed mozilla because of the tabbed browsing. Here's the thing. Mozilla worked fine most of the time, but every now and then they randomly freeze. Here is what happens;

1. Computer speaker beeps
2. I can move mouse, but can't click anything
3. Mouse freezes, keyboard freezes, and there is nothing I can do

Same thing was for netscape. The internal beep makes me think it is hardware related, but my computer is 100% stable. I unoverclocked my machine and it still happened.

I just installed Opera without java, same thing happens.

Here's an example of a web page that always causes a freeze, http://httpd.apache.org/docs/mod/directives.html

Any ideas? I need a web brower with tabs .
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2002, 12:39 PM
loop's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Under bed with pan of water and 2 mines.
Posts: 866

you willing to try linux instead of windows?? mozilla comes as standard with Mandrake 9
__________________
Are you on drugs? If not should you be on drugs?
Warranties are there to invalidate.

Last edited by loop; 25th November, 2002 at 06:36 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2002, 03:31 PM
ronin1967's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 261

you wanted tabbed windows(Mozilla) and mouse gestures(Opera) then go with
http://www.ruihehang.com/myie2/html_en/home.htm

you won't be disappointed
__________________
EPoX EP-8K5A2+, AMD XP 1600+, Dual Corsair XMS3200 DDR

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2002, 09:21 PM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

Quote:
Originally posted by ronin1967
you wanted tabbed windows(Mozilla) and mouse gestures(Opera) then go with
http://www.ruihehang.com/myie2/html_en/home.htm

you won't be disappointed
Thanks! It's awesome, and has gestures and tabs. To bad it's still the ugly IE look, but I can't complain. I'll just have to find a skin. Definatally worth the dl.
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 01:30 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Mozilla 1.0 for Win32 caused problems for me. Did you try the latest version for Windows?
Gotta agree with loop, the Mozilla that's included with SuSE 8.1 works very well!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 01:40 AM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

Quote:
Originally posted by cloasters
Gotta agree with loop, the Mozilla that's included with SuSE 8.1 works very well!
I have an extra p100 64megs ram box I just build from the garbage, literally. Can SuSE 8.1 run decent on that? I was just about to install debian because I had that CD lying around. Technically it'll run from the system requirments, but will it run decent?

All I know is the mozilla I installed on Redhat was garbage, but that was like a year ago when I was using linux.

Oh yea, I'm using MYIE 2, so far it's awesome. Thanks again.
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2002, 02:04 AM
ronin1967's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 261

there are skins you can download to change the look, even some linux skins if that's your tastes...
__________________
EPoX EP-8K5A2+, AMD XP 1600+, Dual Corsair XMS3200 DDR

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2002, 06:47 AM
drow_elf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 721
Send a message via ICQ to drow_elf Send a message via AIM to drow_elf

i can never get the mouse gestures to work half the time in myie2 (maybe i move the mouse like a drunk?!?) and one can accidentally close tabs a lot

other than that i think this browser is awesome (note all the nice options!!)
__________________
"Pointillists shouldn't use Scantrons" -me
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2002, 06:55 AM
ronin1967's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Highland Park, NJ
Posts: 261

you can alter the tabs feature so you don't accidentally close them, and I don't have any problems with the mouse gestures(although I only use forward and back). The other feature I like besides the tabbed windows and mouse gestures is being able to open to mutilple home pages.
__________________
EPoX EP-8K5A2+, AMD XP 1600+, Dual Corsair XMS3200 DDR

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 02:14 PM
Slapper Joe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5

I'm betting big $$$'s your using a Radeon vid card. I bought a 8500 knowing this occasionally happened on Mozilla and Opera but soon found out it happened ALOT. Needless to say the card soon went back. It's amazing the complex web-page rendering can bring a vid card like that to it's knees, but it's the truth.

Anyways you can also try www.avantbrowser.com, tabbed browsing, open link in new window, back and forward gestures. It works and doesn't look too bad.
__________________
SJ.

Processor 6510 (1Mhz)
RAM (KB) 64, ROM (KB) 16
Sound: 3 channels SID
Keyboard: Typewriter-style, 66 keys
Dimensions:404mm x 216mm x 75mm
Weight: 1280g
Interfaces: Serial printer interface
Cartridge port
Cassette interface (edge connector)
2 joystick ports (9 pin D-type)
Composite video output (5 pin DIN)
RF interface

Last edited by Slapper Joe; 6th December, 2002 at 02:16 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2002, 09:13 PM
Cyberey66's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to Cyberey66

Quote:
Originally posted by Slapper Joe
I'm betting big $$$'s your using a Radeon vid card. I bought a 8500 knowing this occasionally happened on Mozilla and Opera but soon found out it happened ALOT.
That is actually what I thought in the back of my mind, once I got an error saying my video driver was currupted, but I didn't think that could cause the lockup. I'm def not buying a new video card so I can use mozilla though.
__________________
Rutgers University School Of Engineering 2007

"skin and tragedy are the ways to attract a crowd"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
web browser time out dsio CRASHED! 32 25th September, 2005 07:15 PM
What web browser do you use? Áedán Random Nonsense! 17 9th January, 2004 07:11 AM
Browser Trouble gdeman OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 14th February, 2003 08:57 PM
Opera Browser Southern Man Random Nonsense! 7 25th April, 2002 04:00 AM
Galeon's new browser!! Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 29th November, 2001 07:35 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0