AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2004, 04:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 2

Computer Produce Blank Screen (urgent)

Dear fellow computer people,

I am new to these forums, so the first thing I wanna do is say Hi. Now onto what this topic is about, I have built a computer before in the past and things went smoothly. Now, I am going off to high school and needed a new computer, so I ordered my parts from good ole' New Egg. I got a Sis 648 motherboard, 2.4 Ghz cpu Intel, Ram, etc...Those parts were all 300 dollars all together. Now I have followed the manual to the word, and I cannot start my computer up. The fans spin, power seems to be going to the componets, but the screen is BLANK and nothing shows up. Everything is seated, and I mean I have tried EVERY solution. I have done minimum configuration,reseating the ram, videocard, swapping videocard, ram, etc...Now I got a replacement for my CPU,RAM,and Motherboard from Newegg and I have had no luck. I know a cool guy named Gizmo who helped Nevermind. I am wondering if anyone here is friendly enough to help a 14 year old boy in need. I would pay shipping, expenses, and the person who helps would be held blameless for what happen. I am a great honest guy, but I really dont wanna have 300 of my hard worked for dollars going down the drain. PLease help if anyone can...thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2004, 10:23 AM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

Have you made sure all the jumpers are set properly? you tried minimum componets, but did you get a test system(known working good) and swap in your parts until you find one that doesn't work, and then figure out/ask us why. Isolate the problem is the first step, then try to find ways to solve it. GL and you'll find plenty of help here!
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2004, 04:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 2

i took the videocard and it works on my other computer. i dont have another computer that takes a p4 cpu and that takes ddr RAM. So I know the problem can be the RAM,CPU,or MOBO.But I still want to ship my computer out to an expert that can get it up and running
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2004, 04:17 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Any beeps?
Give us more specifics, everything you can identify, brand, model, everything.
PSU
Case (does it have a built in speaker?)
Mobo
memory,
etc, etc.

If this is an upgrade on an old case, have you tried powering up outside the case?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2004, 04:19 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcalibur
.....But I still want to ship my computer out to an expert that can get it up and running
I don't think that is an option.. There are inherent risks that could cause problems in the long run for this site. Where are you?

If you can give us enough specifics, we should be able to walk you through troubleshooting.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2004, 07:06 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

As I mentioned in my e-mail, because you know NeVeRMiNd I am willing to take this on if it gets to that point. I would prefer to see if we can figure this out here first, though. It would save you some shipping costs.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th July, 2004, 07:42 AM
sasrob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: BRISTOL UK
Posts: 445

like u said everthing starts up ok but just a blank screen the frist thing is u'r video card pci or agp as i know from working on a mobo that do not work with a pci video card but then 4 400 i would think that it would be agp mobo
__________________


sabertooth 990FX
amd FX8350 @4.2ghz
16GB 1600mhz hyperX ram
AMD HD7970 3GB asus DCPC graphics
hyperX 120GB SSD
WD 320GB hard drive
1TB,500GB working over usb3
corsair HX850 psu
aerocool cyclone black case
window 8.1
asus monitor 24" 1920x1200 res.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9npaj sli new 1/9/06 bios = blank screen MasterAtArms EPoX MotherBoards 4 24th January, 2006 10:54 PM
ecs k7s5a v3.x install blank screen midnightcowbo1 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 16th October, 2004 07:04 PM
Asus 9800XT and blank screen info flylow Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 6th March, 2004 04:21 AM
9800se aiw flashed to blank screen doctoromeo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 28th December, 2003 04:48 PM
Blank screen on 8RDA+ Longhorn EPoX MotherBoards 12 30th December, 2002 08:47 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0