AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > CRASHED!

CRASHED! A topic for SEVERE and immediate Hardware and Operating System FAILURES. We will try to get you up again. NOT for Optimization questions!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 10:54 PM
michealwolfe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 84

wireless network problem.

my notebook is picking up the wireless network but i can't seem to get on the net......i'm at an internet cafe thats has wireless access point, it's a D-Link wireless router.
i'm on a sony vaio notbook with built in wireless
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 10:55 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

does it detect the network but not the internet?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias F√ľnke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 11:02 PM
michealwolfe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 84

yes it does detect the network......but noooooooooooo internet
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 11:04 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by michealwolfe
yes it does detect the network......but noooooooooooo internet
At any hotspot, you may have to configure the nic for the settings specific to the local network. Check with the local admin to see if there are any settings you need to enter... Your nic may see the connection, but the server may be refusing, without the correct settings.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 11:08 PM
michealwolfe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 84

no server.......the wireless router is simply plugged into the modem an the signal is just there.......
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 11:42 PM
michealwolfe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 84

any more suggestions
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2004, 11:56 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

It still may be necessary to set something in the wireless NIC so that you can connect properly. I know some of the early D-Link routers required you to set the NIC to Ad-Hoc mode even though you would normally set to Infrastructure mode.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2004, 01:01 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Are others able to connect? Usually, at least one wired PC is used to access the settings of the wireless router. Can you confirm that the router is working properly?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless network Toro General Hardware Discussion 8 23rd January, 2005 10:36 PM
My wireless network...DONE! Logan Mobile Devices and Networking 3 9th January, 2005 11:53 PM
Linux + Wireless Network SiGmA_X OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 31 28th July, 2003 08:55 AM
Wireless Network 3 computers loop Mobile Devices and Networking 5 26th February, 2003 11:35 PM
Need wireless network help TranceBear Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 28th September, 2001 01:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0