AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2002, 09:45 PM
retrospooty's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Silicon Valley Ca.
Posts: 407
Send a message via Yahoo to retrospooty

8K3A 8k3a2a10 (Oct 10th) bios ?

Whats up with that ?

http://www.vrforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=5403
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2002, 10:58 PM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

Why ask why. Use it and shhh.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 01:42 AM
retrospooty's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Silicon Valley Ca.
Posts: 407
Send a message via Yahoo to retrospooty

What I mean is Is it any good ? Usually, a bios that is at least good enough to send out as beta gets posted here first.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 01:59 AM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

I'm also curious as to how good it is....

Is CPU Fast Decode enabled in this one???
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 07:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 80

i'll try it in a sec. Nice to see we got 2700+ and 2800+ support
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 07:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 80

Quote:
Originally posted by K6-III
I'm also curious as to how good it is....

Is CPU Fast Decode enabled in this one???
I can say that is a YES

I can't test how high the FSB can go though. Since i'm stuck with my duron
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 10:58 AM
BNN's Avatar
BNN BNN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Posts: 51
Send a message via ICQ to BNN

Quote:
Originally posted by K6-III
I'm also curious as to how good it is....

Is CPU Fast Decode enabled in this one???
No CPU Fast Decode, sorry.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 11:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 80

hmmmmm, I got the same mem scores with this bios and the 29/08 bios :/

And i thought that one had fast cpu code enabled
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 11:39 AM
BNN's Avatar
BNN BNN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Posts: 51
Send a message via ICQ to BNN

My memory scores with Sandra are higher than 2815, but the SUPERPI, PCMark & 3DMark are lower.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 02:16 PM
goofydave's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: melb.vic.au
Posts: 74

I noticed this bios is showing different fsb speeds than are actually running 9x169 = 1521Mhz in bios
but windows says its 168.75 making it
1518.75
I know this aint much of a difference
but even at 166 its running at 165.8 or something
previously it has always been higher than the integer number u selected.. not lower..

anyone else noticed this?
__________________
EPOX 8K3A+ | XP2100+ TBRED-B @ 2210Mhz | Samsung 512mb DDR400 | 80GB MAXTOR ATA133 7200rpm
GeForce4 Ti 4200 128mb (300/555) | LITE-ON LTR-52246S | LITE-ON LTD-166S
3DMark2001 SE - 13012
__________________
The hardest thing to do is to watch the one you love - love somebody else.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 02:40 PM
goofydave's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: melb.vic.au
Posts: 74

er I have worked it out. the bios is 1Mhz out

the attached screenie is what my settings are now @ 167x9

before i installed this bios @ 166x9 I was getting the same results
Attached Thumbnails
8K3A 8k3a2a10 (Oct 10th)  bios ?-1500.png  
__________________
EPOX 8K3A+ | XP2100+ TBRED-B @ 2210Mhz | Samsung 512mb DDR400 | 80GB MAXTOR ATA133 7200rpm
GeForce4 Ti 4200 128mb (300/555) | LITE-ON LTR-52246S | LITE-ON LTD-166S
3DMark2001 SE - 13012
__________________
The hardest thing to do is to watch the one you love - love somebody else.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 10:03 PM
K7Jo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: germany / frankfurt
Posts: 11

Talking Cool ...

Hello,

with the new 1010 Beta - BIOS is 1-2 MHz more FSB with an Athlon XP 2000+ (original multiplier) enable ... hehe, SETI runs stabel ... so it's a good one IMHO !!

greets, K7Jo

P.S.
@ K6-III ... are you from OCW forum
__________________
BIOS makes the world going round ...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 11:28 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 21

Hi. Now i have installed the BIOS, but im unsecure. First, the Name of the BIOS-File is suspiciously. Second i downloaded the driver from Highpoit. The automatic driver-installation doesnt work. I installed it manually and find out why. The adaptor is now known as HPT 3xx, not as HPT 372.OK ... now to the BIOS. I installed the BIOS and what must i see ? The Biosversion of Highpoint is not 2.34 it is 2.331. But finally i can say: It Works ... now i test my system for stability ...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 11:42 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I've asked ET about this BIOS as many have expressed an interest,
Here's his response:
"There are better BIOSes – this is not for performance but for compatibility (as most BIOS are)"

Thought you would like to know.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 29th October, 2002, 11:58 PM
K7Jo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: germany / frankfurt
Posts: 11

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~

...Thought you would like to know.
Hello,

THX Daniel ... we everytime (!) want MORE INFO ... the world is watching this thread ...

greets, K7Jo
__________________
BIOS makes the world going round ...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2002, 12:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Posts: 80

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~
I've asked ET about this BIOS as many have expressed an interest,
Here's his response:
"There are better BIOSes – this is not for performance but for compatibility (as most BIOS are)"

Thought you would like to know.
would be nice to get those better bioses
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2002, 12:43 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 21

Thanx ... now i know its not a fake ... this was very important for me. I prefer always a compatible-Bios. Performance i have enough . 3% more or less is not important. But it MUST be stable ...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2002, 07:58 AM
BNN's Avatar
BNN BNN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Posts: 51
Send a message via ICQ to BNN

Quote:
Originally posted by Daniel ~
I've asked ET about this BIOS as many have expressed an interest,
Here's his response:
"There are better BIOSes – this is not for performance but for compatibility (as most BIOS are)"

Thought you would like to know.
Can you/it post a perfomance BIOS, pls?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2002, 08:15 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 21

@the last 2 posters : Don't U think, if he has a new BIOS, he would post it ?I'm happy that he has posted the info. I hope, that not 20 People ask him now for a new BIOS, because i think then he never post such infos ...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 30th October, 2002, 08:25 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I probably know a lot less than most of the people who post here; but it seems to me BIOS writing must be a lot like overclocking, first you get it to run everyday, THEN, you get it to run fast.

If you've got a BIOS that runs everyday, a faster BIOS may not be far behind, pure speculation on my part, no inside information on this one":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stats Feb 10th MONKEYMAN LP'S AOA FORUMS WCG TEAM 3 11th February, 2006 01:46 AM
Congrats to Yoyo for becoming our 10th 100,000 point member!! mookydooky ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 5 25th July, 2004 10:40 AM
8K3A 2912 BIOS, Highpoint 2.34 BIOS Imbedded Harryc AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 1st November, 2002 05:33 PM
Unofficial, 8K3A+ October 10th... Genius AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 29th October, 2002 07:29 PM
8K3A+ with 2312 bios faster than 2326 bios??? How Come? Haze EPoX MotherBoards 7 4th April, 2002 06:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0