AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2002, 11:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

ET, 8K3A+/XP2400 high temps!

I must begin to say this board pleases me very much, fast stable and OC friendly
I know 8K3A+ reads the CPU internal sensor and haven´t worried too much with my old XP1600+
Today I mounted an XP2400+ and my temps seems very high.
The chip is cooled by Thermaltake SK-6 with a Delta 60 mmm fan.

Currently running 2200 Mhz/1.85 vcore and MBM reports 70 Celsius under full load (Prime95)
Bios shows 64
I am also able to run 2300 Mhz stable 1.95 vcore but MBM reports 83 Celsius under load!
This is with the case open and motherboard temp is about 28 C, room temp 22 C.
Now...the odd thing is that the sink isn´t hot at all, when I put my finger on it it is just a bit warm.

I have tried to reseat the sink(using AS) and still same temps are being reported.

I am using latest official Bios that I found at epox.org yesterday.

The chip is stable, the sink doesn´t feel hot at all...but my temps are VERY high.
Any comment on the high temps, ET?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 02:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Update:
I am currently running not overclocked and default 1.65 vcore.
Full load with Prime95 reports about 60 Celsius.
Bios reports 55 Celsius.
This board sure give high temp readings, when I feel at the sink with my fingertip it is cool.

I also tried Bios release 2815 and the same high temp readings.


Anyone with similar experience?
__________________

Last edited by Caper; 7th November, 2002 at 02:53 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 03:16 AM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

I would say the problem is definately your heatsink. Swap your SK-6 out for an SK-7 or better yet, an SLK-800 with a 50-80 CFM fan and you will notice a huge improvement. The SK-6 was a nice heatsink in it's day, but for a 2400 which has a smaller die (less heat dissapation) you really need something bigger.

As far as the heatsink still feeling cold, I would say that's normal. I would guess the base is still hot, and the HSF too small to effectively transfer heat away.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.

Last edited by Genius; 7th November, 2002 at 03:25 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 03:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

I am not so sure about that, take a look at the attached image.
I am running 2330 Mhz using 2.15 vcore(just had to stress the chip to see temps)
Prime 95 is running even though MBM reports 94 Celsius on the CPU!

Well...I am going to get SLK 800 and see if things changes!
Attached Thumbnails
ET, 8K3A+/XP2400 high temps!-temp.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 04:06 AM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

92°!!!! Shut that thing off man! =)

My friend just recently fried his processor by either a) using too much thermal grease or b) incorrectly seating the hsf, i.e. not flat.

He just got his new one and was getting very high temps until he reseated it a couple times, making sure it was flat.

Be sure to check your hsf placement and use only a very very thin layer of thermal paste (I hope you're not using a thermal pad).
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 04:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537



I am using Arctic Silver and have remounted the cooler twice.
Also using a thin layer.
Same high temps though.

I also turned down the OC/voltage a bit, currently running 2250 Mhz/1.95 vcore and under full load it is now 76 Celsius...still the heatsink is not hot at all.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 04:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Well...remounted the cooler a third time and now with as thin layer of AS I could.
Same temp readings.
I did it at once after shutting down the computer and the base of the sink was not hot at all.
Also it seems like the sink has good contact with the CPU.

I have been looking at the SLK-800 here:
http://www.overclockers.com/articles373/

SLK-800 with Vantec 84 cfm fan, c/w=0.23
SK6 with Delta 60mm 43 cfm fan, c/w=0.28

According to overclockers and som math...the difference with my particular CPU and those 2 coolers should be about 4-5 Celsius.
Now that is nice....but not very much.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 07:33 AM
sly113's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 22

hi caper your not alone i have the same prob just got my 2400 today and installed it to see high temps in bios and mbm,i shut down and checked heatsink for a good fit as3 hade made contact with both heatsink and cpu. im not sure but i think theres a prob with the diode readings and our mb.i allso changed winbond 2 diode to winbond 2 2n3904 (is this the socket temp?) hope somone can shed some light on this thankyou
__________________
msi-k8t fis2r
A64 3200+ 205x10@1.50vcore
1024 corsair 3500c2_v1.1
2 wd raptors raid 0
1 wd 200 7200/133
ati x800 pro
amd cooling
vantec 520w ps
XPpro
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 07:38 AM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

Caper,

I'm not sure how they got those figures, but I have tried that SK6 + 60mm Delta fan combo and compared to my SLK-800 + 84cfm Tornado fan, the difference was at least 25° Farenheit. Likely more but I'm not sure as I have a new case. I believe I idled at around 140° Farenheit when I tried it. Right now I idle at 96°-100°F.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 12:02 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Default voltage on these CPU is only 1.65v you guys are blindly pushing 2v throught them.

and you wonder why your temps are too high.

To run one of these at a increased voltage you need watercocoling or vapor phase. Air cooling just wont cut it once you start pushing the volts.

As ive said before however.. If your 100% stable then you dont need to worry too much about your temperature readings.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.

Last edited by Holst; 7th November, 2002 at 12:08 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 12:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Quote:
Originally posted by Holst
Default voltage on these CPU is only 1.65v you guys are blindly pushing 2v throught them.

and you wonder why your temps are too high.

To run one of these at a increased voltage you need watercocoling or vapor phase. Air cooling just wont cut it once you start pushing the volts.

As ive said before however.. If your 100% stable then you dont need to worry too much about your temperature readings.
If you read all my posts I pushed over 2v just because I wanted to what kind of temp readings I would get.
That gave me 94 Celsius...still the sink wasn´t hot...just beginning to get a bit warm, actually pretty warm .
If those temerature readings would have been correct the cpu should not be able to run Prime95...it should have be dead by now :clown:
Running default speed/voltage it still reads pretty high, 60 Celsius under load.
2250/1.96 vcore fives me a reading at full load by 76 Celsius.
I wounder what would happend with a stock cooler?

I agree with you that if the CPU is stable there is no need to worry too much by high temp reading...but since I get such high ones I reacted at once.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 12:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Quote:
Originally posted by sly113
hi caper your not alone i have the same prob just got my 2400 today and installed it to see high temps in bios and mbm,i shut down and checked heatsink for a good fit as3 hade made contact with both heatsink and cpu. im not sure but i think theres a prob with the diode readings and our mb.i allso changed winbond 2 diode to winbond 2 2n3904 (is this the socket temp?) hope somone can shed some light on this thankyou
I downloaded latest MBM so I could try that winbond2 2n3904.
It reacts as it reads the internal sensor, as soon as I put stress on the CPU the temps go up.
Normally with an external sensor it take a couple of seconds before you see the temp go up.
The difference in temperatures is huge though, 70 Celsius under load using Winbond 2 Diode while winbond 2 2n3904 reports 46 Celsius.
This is running Prime95 2200 Mhz/1.95 vcore.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 12:55 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Part of this thread As you can see, my Vcore voltage is 2.05. (BTW, Vdimm is 2.80).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg images.jpg (994.3 KB, 821 views)
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 01:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Does EPOX 8K5A2+ use the CPU internal diode?
If I remember right, it doesn´t?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 05:49 PM
kowalski's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: london
Posts: 202

it only uses the diode for the thermal protection. the BIOS and MBM readout come from the in-socket thermistor. try seting the thermal protection to 65-70C. if your cpu is really getting that hot then the board should shut down. if it doesn't then you're getting an erroneous reading from the thermistor.

also, if you're getting high cpu temps but the heatsink doesn't feel hot it suggests the heat is not getting transferred to it properly. if the heatsink is inadequate for the job then it would be getting overly hot as it would not be dissipating the heat quick enough.
__________________
Epox 8K5A3+ | XP1700+ AROIA-Y @1851MHz (10x185) | Thermalright SLK-800 + SmartFan II | 512MB Samsung PC2700 CAS2 3-6-3 1T | PNY GeForce 4 Ti4600 @333/742 | Western Digital 120GB Special Edition | 431W Enermax PSU | CoolerMaster ATC-201 case | Iiyama 21" VisionMaster Pro | Win2k sp2

13,659 3DMarks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 11:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

I have a 8K3A+ wich uses the internal diode for temp readings.
Anyway...I pumped up the voltage and set the thermal protection to 65 Celsius.
Loaded Windows and started Prime 95, even though my highest readings was 95 Celsius(by MBM) the computer did not shut off.
Prime 95 was humming along for about 10 minutes without problems.

EPoX Tech?
__________________

Last edited by Caper; 7th November, 2002 at 11:18 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2002, 11:22 PM
kowalski's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: london
Posts: 202

umm... strange, but at least it does *seem* to suggest that your temps aren't really that high and it's maybe a bad reading. hopefully you can be a little reassured by that, though what the actual problem is i dunno mate.
__________________
Epox 8K5A3+ | XP1700+ AROIA-Y @1851MHz (10x185) | Thermalright SLK-800 + SmartFan II | 512MB Samsung PC2700 CAS2 3-6-3 1T | PNY GeForce 4 Ti4600 @333/742 | Western Digital 120GB Special Edition | 431W Enermax PSU | CoolerMaster ATC-201 case | Iiyama 21" VisionMaster Pro | Win2k sp2

13,659 3DMarks
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 8th November, 2002, 04:57 AM
sly113's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 22

ok there may be somthing about the onboard diode (8k3a+) and this new chip? http://www.ocworkbench.com/ocwbcgi/u...&f=28&t=000291
__________________
msi-k8t fis2r
A64 3200+ 205x10@1.50vcore
1024 corsair 3500c2_v1.1
2 wd raptors raid 0
1 wd 200 7200/133
ati x800 pro
amd cooling
vantec 520w ps
XPpro
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2002, 01:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Columbus,OH
Posts: 10

I also am having those same problems I have the 8K3A+ and have had a AthlonXP2000+ AND a AthlonXP2400+ in the board using the same cooling (Water with maze3) and have noticed huge temp increases with the 2400+. MBM will not ready it right(From what the bios says) and the bios says 125F+(Idle) which can't be right the water/line/block are all 80F-100F and with the 2000+ my temps never went above 93F full load. I've tried bios' 2815- to the latest.


Kook
__________________
I remember when I got my first AMD that 486DX2-66 was fast!!Now the only time it's fast is when I throw it
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2002, 01:33 AM
JungleMan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 40

Your heatsink is fine...the SK6 was only the best heatsink of its time for the 1.4 T-Bird and the XP2400 runs cooler than the 1.4 Bird.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New User. 8K3A+ High Temps. BTTB EPoX MotherBoards 116 13th March, 2004 11:34 PM
Do temps tend to go up over time or is it the warm weather causing high temps? mookydooky AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 15th November, 2003 06:56 PM
High 2200+ temps : 8K3A+ to blame?? Reejoc EPoX MotherBoards 9 28th August, 2002 06:55 PM
8k3a+ high temps fix? Maths EPoX MotherBoards 1 27th April, 2002 02:55 AM
? about high temps on 8k3a.. Oc Jason EPoX MotherBoards 1 26th April, 2002 04:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0