AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2001, 02:53 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

8KHA+ Restart issues

Dear All,

Please note that the issue relating to the the restart problem being experienced by some can be solved to the best extent by flashing with the BIOS named 8khi1b02.bin which is the BIOS of 02/11/01.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2001, 05:42 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Epox Tech,

Where do you get such a bios. From your offical support site there is no mention of this bios date. Please advise.

Thanks Paul.
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2001, 08:34 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Just a note to say thanks Epox Tech
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2001, 10:18 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you . . . . I hope this solves my particular restart issue . . . .

And I assume that date is European, and means the 2nd of November, correct?
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2001, 10:37 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I couldn't find it on the official site either.

Can you E-mail it to me ET so I can upload it some webspace of mine?
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 07:31 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I have e-mailed it to Daniel already, but I'll maile it you in approximatley 3 hours.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 12:10 AM
cpu-uk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: London
Posts: 52

another me too, request

Could I humbly request a copy of the new bios. Thanking you in advance.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 02:07 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Attention EP-8HKA+ owners:

The BIOS has been temporarily uploaded to the following URL. It will only remain there for a day or so. So get it now if you want it. Please don't spread the URL around too much either, wouldn't want Dan to get mad at us for using too much bandwidth . . . .

Edit: Now available at EPoX's website at the following URL:

ftp://ftp.epox.com/support/motherboa...s/8khi1b02.exe
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 9th November, 2001 at 08:51 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 02:26 AM
cpu-uk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: London
Posts: 52

Wink Ta

Thanks dude. Oh, and your secret is safe with me ;-)
__________________
8kha+ AthlonXP 1700 (30th Nov bios)
Win2k sp2\ Win98se
ATI 8500 (std driver) via 434 (DirectX8.1) 512k Crucial 2100
SonicFury
WD WDC400BB h/d
Segate ST328040a h/d
Pioneer 106 DVD drive
Aopen 1232pro cd-rw (EZcd dlx 4.05)
Pinnacle Studio DVDplus firewire
400W Sparkle & UPS
IIyama 19inch Monitor
dirty coffee cup, pair of comfy slippers
and the damn instruction manual
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Nottinhgam, UK
Posts: 16

Hello there !

I have tried the updated BIOS and am still getting the same problem.

Whenever I restart the machine from Windows XP, Change the BIOS settings or occasionally on first boot I still have to press reset.

Also Windows XP will not turn my machine off and when prompted with "It is now safe to turn machine off" the power button doesn't work. I have to reset the machine and press the power button as it starts booting into the BIOS to turn my P.C. off.

Apart from that the board is fantastic, giving great FSB performance, so I don't want to send it back.

Any ideas ?
__________________
EPOX 8KHA+,XP@1740(174*10), SK6, 512 Crucial PC2100, Asus V8200 GF3, 40GB IBM Deskstar, Panasonic DVD\CD, SB 5.1 Live, 2 * YS-Tech 120mm

9242 3DMark2001 points
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 11:32 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Shelton, I'm curious as to how you were able to achieve the FSBs you are achieving. From the specs you have given in your signature, I'm stumped, perhaps your PSU is giving you the edge? What PSU do you have? And also, if it's not too much trouble, what are the first four numbers of your boards serial number?(they will reveal the date of manufacturing, mine is 0110, which is the 1st of October).
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 11:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Nottinhgam, UK
Posts: 16

Unfortunately I'm at work at the moment so I can't look at board. Will post detail later.

I'm using a non AMD approved ! Enermax 431 Watt PSU. I can get into Windows with my FSB at 178 but have been running at 175 for a bit more stability
__________________
EPOX 8KHA+,XP@1740(174*10), SK6, 512 Crucial PC2100, Asus V8200 GF3, 40GB IBM Deskstar, Panasonic DVD\CD, SB 5.1 Live, 2 * YS-Tech 120mm

9242 3DMark2001 points
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 12:30 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Please note that this BIOS is now on the epox.com site.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 12:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Nottinhgam, UK
Posts: 16

It doesn't fix the problem though for users with higher FSB's.......
__________________
EPOX 8KHA+,XP@1740(174*10), SK6, 512 Crucial PC2100, Asus V8200 GF3, 40GB IBM Deskstar, Panasonic DVD\CD, SB 5.1 Live, 2 * YS-Tech 120mm

9242 3DMark2001 points
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 08:52 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by Shelton
It doesn't fix the problem though for users with higher FSB's.......
Every motherboard I've ever owned has this same problem at high FSBs, so I'm not too worried about it . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 9th November, 2001, 10:51 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by dimmreaper
Every motherboard I've ever owned has this same problem at high FSBs, so I'm not too worried about it . . . .
This is a point that I feel that some may need to appreciate. Even my setup with 8K7A with a professional hand made 650W PSU with some 330W of combined power can offer problems with restart at 172MHz.

Our motherboards do offer a great deal, perhaps more than those of some other manufacturers, but they are not guaranteed tickets to easy overclocking by no means.

Those of the old scholl who have had Celeron 300A at 450, dual 366's at 550 and 600's at 900 plus will appreciate the endeavours that are required to acheive such overclocking feats.

The Duron/Thunderbird/XP revolution has bought much ease to the overclocking world, however the truly outstanding stable overclocks will always mean taking things that one step further.

I am pleased that Dimmreaper is thinking in the same way as me. I do understand from conversations that I have had with him the lengths that he had to go to in his lengths to overclock the K6III processor - I know that he is a true overclocker.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 09:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Nottinhgam, UK
Posts: 16

Thanks guys,

I'll leave it alone then. Like you say its not a huge problem as the benifits of running a high FSB make pressing restart a small price to pay. If I know its not something I've done wrong I'll stop wasting time trying to find a solution.
__________________
EPOX 8KHA+,XP@1740(174*10), SK6, 512 Crucial PC2100, Asus V8200 GF3, 40GB IBM Deskstar, Panasonic DVD\CD, SB 5.1 Live, 2 * YS-Tech 120mm

9242 3DMark2001 points
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shutdown instead of restart with 8KHA+ and Chieftec. Baek General Hardware Discussion 1 8th February, 2003 05:29 AM
8kha stability issues radix CRASHED! 21 24th June, 2002 03:56 AM
Epox 8KHA+ compatibility issues? Missy EPoX MotherBoards 6 27th April, 2002 04:00 PM
Performance Issues w/8KHA+ Krookednek EPoX MotherBoards 5 11th December, 2001 12:13 AM
8KHA USB issues proze EPoX MotherBoards 6 7th November, 2001 11:04 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0