AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 05:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

8KHA USB issues

mr epox tech,

is there any way of getting around this problem? my usb ports work perfectly at 137mhz, and cut out at anything above that. i'd dearly love to be able to use my printer, webcam and mouse again...

what's the word? fixable or not?
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 06:06 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

That sucks

I'd hang myself if I couldn't use me USB optical mouse. I'm never going back to PS2 and balls . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 07:39 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Unfortunatley this is not a fixable problem and is present in mainboards from various manufacturers implementing the original KT266 chipset.

Whilst in my opinion the 2nd best DDR Northbridge made, it did have its shortcomings.

I don't see memory as having much great difference until after 160MHz memory clock and 320MHz FSB anyhow, so perhaps drop below 138MHz and increase the multiplier - no one will ridicule you, they just realise that you have a KT266 board and need the USB.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 07:49 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Could always buy a KT266a board, swap northbridges, and send the KT266a board back as a DOA. But then again, that not only sounds hard, but is probably harder than it sounds. LOL
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 07:50 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

The equipment and training outweighs the cost of the board about 30 to 1.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 10:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

le sigh. that sucketh. oh well, i'll see how i feel and might end up dropping the fsb. my northbridge fan has been going on the blink lately, so i might talk to my distributor to see if that warrants a swap-out for an 8kha+.. hmmm...
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th November, 2001, 11:04 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Dependant upon stock and RMA availability that may be a possibility.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8KHA+ BIOS 2612 can introduce USB detect issues! :( unplugged EPoX MotherBoards 6 1st August, 2002 09:32 PM
8kha stability issues radix CRASHED! 21 24th June, 2002 03:56 AM
Epox 8KHA+ compatibility issues? Missy EPoX MotherBoards 6 27th April, 2002 04:00 PM
Performance Issues w/8KHA+ Krookednek EPoX MotherBoards 5 11th December, 2001 12:13 AM
8KHA+ Restart issues EPoX Tech EPoX MotherBoards 16 12th November, 2001 09:26 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0