AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 05:36 AM
Kosmic1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 48

Just got 8rda, but will my gf4 (4xagp) run on this board?

I'm perusing the manual and in the agp slot it shows 8x (1.5v only) which makes me wonder if my 4x agp vid card will work. I've run searches on the threads here and didn't see this mentioned, so I'm hoping ET or somebody who has one of these boards can tell me?

I suppose that in about 3 hours I can find out the hard way, but I'd kinda like to know first before I pull everything out of my rig and slap this sweet ass mobo in.

Thanks,
K1
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 07:46 AM
Israfel's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to Israfel Send a message via Yahoo to Israfel

All motherboards that have AGP 8x are backwards-compatible...

The 8RDA can run at 2x/4x/8x

All motherboards incorporate this feature otherwise it would decrease their sales to people who have 4x now, and want 8x later (although there is virtually no difference, but that's not a discussion for now).

Hope I helped!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 07:50 AM
Kosmic1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 48

Thanks mon. I *really* figured that was the case, but I didn't wanna hook this sucker up and get a nasty surprise. I can't wait to finish up the work I have to do and fire this puppy up! soooooonnnnn
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 07:52 AM
Israfel's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to Israfel Send a message via Yahoo to Israfel

soooooooooo lucky!!! Ya better post back here real quick and tell us all how cool it is!

*looks at calendar*

13 days till mine... ohhhh so sweet
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 07:56 AM
Kosmic1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 48

About another hour of work left on the site I'm doing, then this mobo goes in. Super early preliminary results to follow soon after in a new thread.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 01:03 PM
LL_NEO's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Oiolosse
Posts: 80

Are u sure that an 8x agp slot can handle a 2x card? I have heard the opposite and the 8rda manual agrees with me. I quote from it:"The AGP interface can support external AGP slot (1.5V only) with AGP 8X/4X and fast write transactions". Anyway this isn't pretty much of a problem since kosmic1 is talking about having a 4x agp card.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 06:04 PM
Kosmic1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 48

Dunno about that 2x but I guess I should have read the manual front to back 'cause that would have answered my question. I didn't have time to put this in last night, but I got up early this morning and installed it. Right now I'm re-installing windows 2000, (had to) and I'll need to spend some time toying with all the bios features before I run any benches.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 07:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 57

The 8x AGP specs only support 4x and 8x gfx cards.

AGp2x runs at higher voltage and is not supported.
__________________
EpoX EP-8RDA+(V 1.0 A2 NB- not modded)
AthlonXp 2500+ @ 2505 Mhz
WD 100GB, 8MB cahce, Maxtor 120GB 8MB Cache
Sapphire ATi Radeon 9800Pro 128MB
All components H2O cooled
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 08:22 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by Trekster
The 8x AGP specs only support 4x and 8x gfx cards.

AGp2x runs at higher voltage and is not supported.
Correctemundo!
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2002, 11:29 PM
Israfel's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to Israfel Send a message via Yahoo to Israfel

oh well, if you still own a 2x AGP card then you don't deserve the board... correctumundo Uncle Bob?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 12:04 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by Israfel
oh well, if you still own a 2x AGP card then you don't deserve the board... correctumundo Uncle Bob?
Not really, be kind! Not everyone has unlimited resources! I still have a PCI 2MB video card floating around for when I need a card! If all Kosmic1 has is a 2x card, perhaps he will be verrrrrry dissapointed, tho! LOL It could end up looking like this:
Attached Thumbnails
Just got 8rda, but will my gf4 (4xagp) run on this board?-burntpcb.jpeg  
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 12:08 AM
Israfel's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to Israfel Send a message via Yahoo to Israfel

:O

SEND IT STRAIGHT TO HELL!!!

*runs*
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 12:15 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

I have threatened to throw it away, along with my ISA network card and ISA modem cards but everytime I think about doing it, I end up being realy glad I had them on hand! I hardly have anything with an ISA slot anymore, tho! The vid card will stay in my parts drawer tho for a long time I'm sure.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 12:18 AM
Israfel's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to Israfel Send a message via Yahoo to Israfel

ISA... SOOOO BIG... sooo tasty

hey, I know it's off topic, but when physically putting the Athlon XP CPU into the Epox 8RDA+, which way does it go? Like, what way, does the athlon logo face?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 12:24 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

The underside of each chip has two adjacent corners without a pin in them and these correspond to the socket. Remember not to force the CPU as the pins will bend verrrrry easily as I (heavy handed Bob) have found out! CPU no workie after pins bent!!!
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2002, 01:57 AM
Israfel's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to Israfel Send a message via Yahoo to Israfel

well, I had a friend who bent one of the pins while taking it out of retail packaging (those things are alot more dangerous than OEM I'm telling you now)...

And all you have to do is get some sort of small solid object and push it straight again... even if it's not perfect, it will fit in, and then the pin-hole will straighten it up more...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8k5A2 with 4xAGP and Geforce FX5900XT dbruynmf EPoX MotherBoards 2 2nd April, 2004 05:56 PM
4xAGP with new GFX card - worth it? dbruynmf Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 3rd December, 2003 08:30 PM
8rda Board FLIK EPoX MotherBoards 5 7th April, 2003 12:15 AM
is the 8rda the board to get? m1ke101 EPoX MotherBoards 1 24th February, 2003 12:03 PM
New 8RDA Rev 1.1 non plus board RandyB EPoX MotherBoards 7 28th December, 2002 07:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0