AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 01:10 AM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

Exclamation Serious Hard Drive Problems!

I'm now on my umpteenth install of XP SP1, my hard drives keep getting corrupted when I move files around. This is happening on 200/166 & 133 FSB.

When I move data around I get a "delayed write failed" error pop up box. I've tried every version of Nforce drivers with and without their own IDE drivers. I've turned off write caching and also IDE prefetch in the bios to try to help, but no joy.

Please help as I have not got to play any games yet in a week or so with this board. Ghost is all well and good, but I have to keep that drive unplugged just to stop it getting corrupted as well!

I don't to spend christmas just installing windows, ET Holst or anyone else who knows please help!
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 01:22 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Do you have any other memory ?

What timngs are you running ?

Posible bad IDE cable ?

How exatly have you got these HDD attached, PCI cards or the Nforce IDE ?
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 02:07 AM
popcicle's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Miles From Civilization
Posts: 113

You don't happen to have an AV program running in
the background?

May be a good thing to run a AV program first just
to make sure you don't have a virus lurking in there
somewhere.

Luck.


Pops.
__________________
....it ain't over 'till the Fat Lady sings....

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 02:16 AM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

The hard drives are all attached to a pci raid card. The onboard Ide ports have the 2 cds on primary and the zip 250 on slave.

I sold my old samsung memory, this corsair works fine on my other board though.

I could maybe try some other IDE cables, the ones I'm using now are akasa braided aluminium round ones.

For memory I've tried 7,3,3,2 & 6,3,3,2. The CPU interface is at optimal and the chip is currently at stock settings.
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 02:29 AM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

My board is also saying FF on the display, I don't know whether thats good or bad Neither 3D Mark or any games will run. Could my board be faulty?
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.

Last edited by Jay T; 14th December, 2002 at 02:46 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 03:36 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Try going into the BIOS and selecting "fail Safe" and installed from there.

If/when it works just go back into the BIOS and change things back to the way you had them.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 04:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 86
Send a message via AIM to dr5op3rdud3

wow thank goodness.. i thought it might have been because you were running the FSB too high good to hear its not that
__________________
1700+@1900mhz SK-7 with YS TECH 512mb Corsair 4-2-2-2 ATI 9500pro WD SE 80gig Lite-On 52x24x52 Lite-On 48x12x48
Logitech MX700 Logitech Elite Logitech z640 Samsung 955DF and 4 fans that aren't quite enough

RIP SF2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 08:32 PM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

This thing has trashed another install of windows. Everything has been changed so it must be the board.

I've spent over a grand upgrading this system for christmas and I'll be sat looking sadly at boxes full of crap or if I'm lucky installing windows. I'm only glad I didn't put my old GF4 in it
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.

Last edited by Jay T; 15th December, 2002 at 07:55 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 08:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 95

Are you using the new nVidia V2 drivers? If so, there's your problem. They utterly suck. Install the drivers from the EPoX CD. I had the same problem, now everything is stable.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 08:47 PM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

I had tried those and also had problems. I could give them one more go before this board gets the same treatment my g-g-b-t-e board got this afternoon. (chucked on a bonfire):devil:
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2002, 09:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 95

Well, make sure you are't just uninstalling the V2, then installing V1. Because that doesn't seem to work. Once the V2 drivers are on, that's it.. the damage is done.

Try installing *just* the V1? (CD Drivers) on a FRESH XP install. Let's see how it goes from there.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2002, 08:01 PM
Jay T's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 331

OK Magnux, I have a clean install of windows, all drivers except Nforce are on and I'm not using the raid card just in case. I'll put the Nforce drivers on from the CD and see what happens. Actually, my computer seems to be going fine without any Nvidia drivers:-D (wonder why micro$oft certified them?)


Thank you for your help, I'll let you know how I get on.
__________________
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
Venice 3200 @ 9 x 300
2 x 1024MB Mushkin blueline 5,2,3,2.0 (2t )
Raptor raid
2 x SATA 300GB Maxtor HDD's
Enermax 600W Noisetaker PSU
Geforce 6800GT
Audigy 2.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2002, 08:35 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Re: Serious Hard Drive Problems!

Quote:
Originally posted by Jay T
When I move data around I get a "delayed write failed" error pop up box.
What events do you get in the event log when this occurs? The event log should have more detail about the cause.

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cd Drive Hard Drive Cage amarkarian Case Modifications 4 9th July, 2005 04:15 PM
Hard drive issues?/IDE problems?/I'm confused. Kontrollverlust EPoX MotherBoards 11 18th August, 2003 01:52 AM
ghosted drive and a new hard drive RangerJoe General Hardware Discussion 3 10th August, 2003 08:47 PM
Epox 8RDA3+ / Hard drive problems Jocka General Hardware Discussion 1 30th June, 2003 09:23 PM
Epox 8RDA3+ / Hard drive problems Jocka EPoX MotherBoards 3 30th June, 2003 09:06 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0