AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2003, 05:38 AM
justshawnf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to justshawnf

Time clock speedup on 8rda+

I started having this unusual problem a couple of days ago.
The time on my computer seems to be running fast by a noticable amount. At first, I thought it was just a fluke, but I've resynced the clock 5 times in the last 3 days, and it is definiately running fast. I just synced it 30 minutes ago, and it is already 5 minutes fast.

8RDA+
Athlon 2400+, 11x200 (sync)
2x 256 Corsair pc-3200 cas2, 2-2-2-4, CPU Interface Optimal
WD 80 Gig SE, WD 40 Gig
Liteon 40x12x48 CR-RW
Pioneer DVR-105 DVD-R/RW

The only thing I have done recently was add the DVD burner, but I don't see how that would affect the time. Well, I did install a Promise Ultra 66 card, but then removed it when I couldn't use the burners on it.

Any thoughts?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 04:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

I have the same problem on an 8RDA, otherwise the board & system runs fine, just gains about one minute per hour, Epox Tech, replace bios battery?
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 04:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Posts: 96

Which bios you guys running??
__________________
EPoX 8RGA+, XP3000+ 12x200@2400Mhz cooled by Danger Maze3 H20 setup, 2x256mb TwinMos PC 3200, WD 80GB Special Edition, Radeon 9800 Pro, Klipsch Pro Media 4.1, LiteON 48x12x48, LIAN LI PC 75USB w/Window, Antec 480w True power PSU w/Blue LED.....
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5785350
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 04:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

On the 8RDA I am using the 12C16
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 08:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

BUMP
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 11:52 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I dont htink this will be a flat battery.

I lost my time when I flashed the bios yesterday so im not sure if my board runs on time or not..

What if you run stock speed for a few days, does it still run incorrectly.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 11:53 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

You may want to try the new 3117 BIOS...
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 12:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

I replaced the battery, the new one had 3.2 volts, the old one had 2.95 volts, the problem seems to have disappeared in the last two hours...................

I had already gone back to an un-overclocked condition, but that did not help, so when push came to shove. off to Staples did we go! Thanks ET!
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 12:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 44

heh, just noticed that mine was like 8 mins fast, i remember setting it like yesterday but can't remember if it was before i flashed my bios
__________________
"Use, do not abuse; neither abstinence nor excess ever renders man happy." -Voltaire 1694 - 1778
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 02:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to DisposableHero

i use statbar that synch's my time with some internet server's... so if i had this problem i wouldnt even know
__________________
-METALLICA-

| AMD XP 1700+ @ 2.75 2.05v | Prometeia | Epox 8RDA+ | 512m Corsair DDR @ 211 DC | ATi 9500 @ 9700 - 400/630 | Antec sx1040b | 80gig WD |

-METALLICA-
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 06:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 85

Win XP .....

automatically syncs your system clock with internet time servers by default.....so if you run Windows XP it will stay closer to realtime. Glad you found that it was only a battery problem though.
__________________
Abit NF7-S with 2100+ T-Bred "B" @2406MHz (200X12) Vcore 1.775V, VDIMM 2.9V, VDD 1.82V 2X256M Twinmos/Winbond PC3200 6,2,2,2.0 DDR,SLK800 with 84CFM Tornado,ATI Radeon 9700 Pro, Antec Truepower 430W ps.
80G WD HDD w/8M cache Windows XP Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 01:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Wales,UK
Posts: 141
Send a message via ICQ to Shonk Send a message via AIM to Shonk Send a message via Yahoo to Shonk

this seems to be an issue

i have had exactly the same problem
the clock running quite noticeably fast

1 second every few min's

i have changed the battery
and also spent £100 on a new psu to make sure it
wasnt my cheapo 550 watt one doing it

and its still running fast

maybe a bios issue epox guys?


i hope its not a hardware issue
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2600+ OC'd 219x11.5 1.72V
Alpha Pal8045 2700 Rpm Fan @ 1600 Rpm 2500Mhz
Motherboard: Abit AN7
RAM: OCZ Premier 512mb X 2
Primary: Ati Radeon 9800 Pro 128meg
Second: Geforce FX5200 PCI 128meg 128bit
Primary: AOC LM919 19" TFT 16ms
Second: AOC LM919 19" TFT 16ms
Third: Iiyama E430S 17" TFT 16ms
16x Nec 3500AG X 2
52x24x52x16 LG Combi X 2
2x 200Gig Diamond Max 9 Sata Raided
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Wales,UK
Posts: 141
Send a message via ICQ to Shonk Send a message via AIM to Shonk Send a message via Yahoo to Shonk

this board takes power for the time
from the pc not the battery
when its turned on

so i doubt it would be a battery problem anyway

take out your battery and check your vbat voltage .
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2600+ OC'd 219x11.5 1.72V
Alpha Pal8045 2700 Rpm Fan @ 1600 Rpm 2500Mhz
Motherboard: Abit AN7
RAM: OCZ Premier 512mb X 2
Primary: Ati Radeon 9800 Pro 128meg
Second: Geforce FX5200 PCI 128meg 128bit
Primary: AOC LM919 19" TFT 16ms
Second: AOC LM919 19" TFT 16ms
Third: Iiyama E430S 17" TFT 16ms
16x Nec 3500AG X 2
52x24x52x16 LG Combi X 2
2x 200Gig Diamond Max 9 Sata Raided
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2003, 11:06 PM
justshawnf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to justshawnf

I forgot I started this thread, it was so long ago.

I was initially running the 8rda2c10 bios. Upgrading to 2c31 did not help. I change my multiplier to 10.5 and the problem seemed to disappear. After a week, or so, I set the multiplier back to 11 and noticed the increased clock speed again. The amount of speedup varied. Sometimes it would gain 30 minutes in an hours time!!

Anyway, last night I loaded the 3117 bios (with the 11 multi) and all seems OK so far. If it speeds up again, I will check the voltage on the battery.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2003, 12:36 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Ive been running 3117 since it appeared and my clock seems to be running exactly on time (this is a 195fsb and I havent unplugged my PC from the power socket)
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8rda+ is not liking my Barton 2500+ at high FSB and clock speed. Hexedit EPoX MotherBoards 23 29th July, 2003 05:07 AM
8RDA+: Fast Clock! Mark099 EPoX MotherBoards 18 25th June, 2003 06:57 PM
Faulty system clock on 8RDA!! :( Ian EPoX MotherBoards 9 31st May, 2003 04:58 PM
is this a good over clock for 8rda+ DieHard EPoX MotherBoards 5 22nd May, 2003 06:20 PM
Where is the clock generatior chip on 8rda+ bigbear EPoX MotherBoards 7 22nd December, 2002 01:29 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0