AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 01:40 PM
CooledByWater's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: WILDCAT COUNTRY
Posts: 200

8RDA+ REV 1.0 or REV 1.1

I have a question. What is the difference? Reason I ask is my temps are really on the low side. Now someone I know has the 1.1 and their reported temps are about 12c higher than mine. Has Epox made a change to the MOBO and could it have been where they are reading the temps from? Could the REV 1.1 be reading ON DIE?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 01:56 PM
goofydave's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: melb.vic.au
Posts: 74

the difference between the 2 I believe from reading a thread in here (which i cant find) is the sticker on the board and possibly some say minor cosmetic changes

I was also reading a review earlier and the only thing that reads the on die diode is the bios for post and the shutdown temp
__________________
EPOX 8K3A+ | XP2100+ TBRED-B @ 2210Mhz | Samsung 512mb DDR400 | 80GB MAXTOR ATA133 7200rpm
GeForce4 Ti 4200 128mb (300/555) | LITE-ON LTR-52246S | LITE-ON LTD-166S
3DMark2001 SE - 13012
__________________
The hardest thing to do is to watch the one you love - love somebody else.

Last edited by goofydave; 21st January, 2003 at 02:08 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 02:10 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

The difference is the PCB printing only.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 02:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 105

may I ask then where the sense is to name one 1.0 and the other 1.1? Did Epox ran out of 1.0 stickers? ;P
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 02:20 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

As I stated - the printing is different - there is sense to alter the printing if large customer demands such for OEM order or similar.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 02:37 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

The fact that these boards are once again completely sold out and off the shelves for the moment may also account for the need to move to the 1.1...Just guessing here":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 02:41 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

No - just a small printing change, which anyone with knowledge of ISO9001 design series quality systems will know does necessitate the need for a revisional increment.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st January, 2003, 02:46 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Thanks ET! Congratulations on being a sell out...er that is... having a board that has sold out more times than I can keep track of, a real victory in the trenches of Motherboard competition!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 03:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to Garet

I guess there might be a slight difference in the boards...
If you read my other thread you may notice I have massive troubles with my REv 1.0 board and Corsair Rams.

I tried a frieds rev 1.1 and it seemed to work better.

Epox Germany told me to send in my board, which I am going to do tomorrow, cause I can'T run the board in Dual memory mode at all.

I'm also going to change the Rams (Corsair 3200 2x256), because Epox germany said that they are not supported... in anycase I can't get them to run higher than at 333 mhz.

My last try is to use the stronger psu (instead of 350, use the 420watt) and hope this helps a bit.
__________________
Greetz Garet
-------------------------------------
Epox EP-8RDA+, Athlon XP 2200+
2x 256 DDR400 Corsair
Geforce Ti4200 64MB
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 03:47 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I have stated that the only difference is the printing - which part of this do people not have the ability to hear ?
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 03:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to Garet

my other thread is Troubles with Corsair and EP-8RDA+

)
__________________
Greetz Garet
-------------------------------------
Epox EP-8RDA+, Athlon XP 2200+
2x 256 DDR400 Corsair
Geforce Ti4200 64MB
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 03:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 171

please understand that 1.0 and 1.1 boards differ in printing only. stop RMAing boards unnecessarily, we are harming EPoX!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 03:51 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

In responce to G.'s post:

No, ET has said there is no difference. That means that there is no difference.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 23rd January, 2003 at 03:25 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 05:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 36

Quote:
Originally posted by Garet
I guess there might be a slight difference in the boards...
If you read my other thread you may notice I have massive troubles with my REv 1.0 board and Corsair Rams.

I tried a frieds rev 1.1 and it seemed to work better.

Epox Germany told me to send in my board, which I am going to do tomorrow, cause I can'T run the board in Dual memory mode at all.

I'm also going to change the Rams (Corsair 3200 2x256), because Epox germany said that they are not supported... in anycase I can't get them to run higher than at 333 mhz.

My last try is to use the stronger psu (instead of 350, use the 420watt) and hope this helps a bit.
Hmmmm, My 8RDA+ rev1 is currently running 10x200 sync with 2 x 256 Corsair 3200. No problem. Timings set to 5-2-2-2. No burn in, bought new and put in last night. NO mods done to the board other than replacing NB HS with Iceberg and adding HS to SB.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 05:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 95

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
I have stated that the only difference is the printing - which part of this do people not have the ability to hear ?
Well, that.. and the little pins that hold the NB heatsink on now have springs.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 06:01 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

As they do on many rev 0.3 and rev 1.0 boards.

You "thought" you were having one over then - but alas no !
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2003, 06:59 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I didnt beleve ET either, so I got two boards out and checked them.

The only difference is the printing.

Sometimes other components will change due to avalability (like little springs and capacitor manufacurers) but these wont affect performance and are not part of the rev 1.1 ECN.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 03:28 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

OH! Holst! Ye of little faith! LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 03:29 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
As they do on many rev 0.3 and rev 1.0 boards.

You "thought" you were having one over then - but alas no !
But hey, it was still a good try! LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 12:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to Garet

SO I believe you that there is no difference in revg 1.0 and 1.1, but alas - my board is still faulty, no matter what revision. So I sent it back to epox today, which was the suggestion by Epox Support Germany anyway. I just hope they don't keep the board for ages...
__________________
Greetz Garet
-------------------------------------
Epox EP-8RDA+, Athlon XP 2200+
2x 256 DDR400 Corsair
Geforce Ti4200 64MB
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will the 8rda+ bios work on a plain jane 8rda??? Lanker EPoX MotherBoards 3 23rd May, 2003 05:11 PM
Interesting bios option description (8RDA/8RDA+) k1114 EPoX MotherBoards 9 17th February, 2003 06:45 PM
8RDA vs 8RDA+ comparing bios updates DisposableHero EPoX MotherBoards 2 3rd January, 2003 09:29 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0