AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2003, 07:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 30

Wants to run forever

I have an 8rda that was running fine at 200fsb then all of a sudden would start rebooting rather than shutting off. Is this a windows XP problem or a hardware problem? Thanx
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2003, 08:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

My guess would be hardware, something id getting hot?
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2003, 09:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Europe, Finland
Posts: 243
Send a message via ICQ to sirtoby

either one of them or both..

could be anything.. does it do this at lower speeds as well? if no, then it's not windows. If it happens no matter what speeds you're running at.. then hardware. If it happens only at such high speeds, then it's the o/c .. and you need to either increase some voltage somewhere, maybe set some other memory timings or simply drop speed until you find something stable.

Installing SP1 might help if you haven't done that already?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2003, 11:25 PM
Mrspec3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 14
Send a message via ICQ to Mrspec3

Make sure your board is not shorting on the case standoffs also take out mem and vid card out and give the slots a good shot of air and firmly seat the card and mem again. See if that fixes it

Steve
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th January, 2003, 01:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 30

And the winner is Windows XP, did a reload of xp and no more problem
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duke Nukem Forever: We screwed up danrok GAMES! OH YEAH! 12 27th March, 2007 11:35 PM
Duke Nukem Forever danrok GAMES! OH YEAH! 2 2nd April, 2005 11:01 PM
single channel memory forever? pumbertot 64 Bit computing 22 15th June, 2004 05:17 AM
Time to kiss off MS forever? cloasters OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 23 11th October, 2003 04:15 PM
On a windy day you can smell it FOREVER!! Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 6 20th January, 2002 07:49 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0