AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2003, 04:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 5

8RDA+ (1) 512 stick or (2) 256 of this ram?

The only item I need is memory for my 8RDA+. I wanted to get some good memory that I may overclock at some point. this site has twinmos/winbond for $59 (256) and $118( (512). I just read that something that Dual DDR does not support two 3200 chips. So, I am confused. Should I just get one 512 stick or 2 256 sticks.

Overall, I waould like a csot effective approach to getting the ram I need ram that will be reliable with some tweaking capabilities. My machine will primariliy be used for day to day stuff, no gaming, but I intend to start creating dvd's with my mini dv camcorder.

I know this questions gets asked 100 times 100 different ways but for some reason I don't see a suggestion that jumps out and says this is the way to go.

I have an AMD XP2100.

Memory
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2003, 05:45 PM
sotti's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Portland, Or
Posts: 138

there are issues with the spd detection with some sticks, doesn't matter if it's 2 sitcks or 1.

twinmos seems to be good stuff for the 8RDA+ so go ahead and grab two sticks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2003, 06:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 5

I take that back. The single 512 is $159 vs 2 x $59. Looks like it will be 2 x 256 for me.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will 8RDA+ handle 1Gb stick ? Ancient1 EPoX MotherBoards 6 5th June, 2004 07:08 PM
Epox 8RDA+: 1 stick of 256 mb ram=ok, but 2 sticks of 256 mb ram=freeze/crash! oestergreen EPoX MotherBoards 5 3rd August, 2003 03:03 AM
stick with RAID and 8k3a+ or go to 8RDA Boss900 EPoX MotherBoards 3 7th March, 2003 06:13 AM
8RDA with 1 stick of RAM?! paymon EPoX MotherBoards 3 2nd January, 2003 04:18 AM
8RDA+ won't post with only 1 stick of ram mrsteel74 EPoX MotherBoards 5 5th December, 2002 07:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0