AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 20th February, 2003, 03:50 AM

4G4A+ Problem with memory upgrade

4G4A+
1.6A @ 2.4 (150 FSB 375 DDR)
256 Corsair XMS3000 Turbo memory timings
Default voltages
Win 2000

I've been running at the above speed for six months now. Solid as a rock. I decided to increase my memory from 256 to 512 in order to get better performance with some of the newer game titles like Unreal 2. I wanted to get better memory and didn't want to mix modules, so instead of getting another 256, I ordered a single 512 stick of Corsair XMS3200LL. Plus, I understand that the 4G4A+ OC's better with one stick than with two.

I installed the new stick at the same FSB, and changed the memory timings to "by SPD", which gives 2225. I was installing a new sound card (Audigy 2) at the same time. I installed all of the Audigy software, ran some sound diagnostics, ran a SiSoft memory benchmark (slightly better throughput on the new stick due to better memory timings) and did several other tasks. Then I fired up 3DMark2001SE, and my system locked. After a reboot, I tried 3DMark2003. Locked again. Reboot again and then tried dxdiag and it locked on the directx test. I tried setting all of the memory timings to their slowest (3336) and still no joy. I finally set the system to stock speed and was able to run with no problems. I put the old stick back in, and was able to get right back to 150 FSB with no problems. Weird that it only locked up on Direct X stuff.