AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2003, 06:05 AM
DA1's Avatar
DA1 DA1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: US
Posts: 2

Ep-4pea+

Newbie needing a little help

I am looking to build a system and need some help/advice. I like the Epox EP-4PEA+ seems complete. My question concerns the on board RAID Highpoint HPT372

I know its a waste of a RAID but I simply want to connect Harddrives and ATAPI devices such as CDR DVD,

Can I setup in the following manner

IDE 1: MASTER 20 GB HD
SLAVE: OPEN

IDE 2: MASTER: DVD PLAYER
SLAVE: OPEN

IDE 3: (RAID i GUESS) MASTER: DVD BURNER
SLAVE: CDRW

IDE 4: (RAID) MASTER: 120GB HD
SLAVE: 120GB HD

I want to build a system for video editing, I have a lot of 8MM analog tapes (family stuff) and want a lot of room to edit.

Can I do what I want here, I have downloaded and read the manual and numeroud google searches but to no avail

My apoligies for non Overclocker Question

Take Car
Dom
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2003, 09:42 PM
Cythrawl's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 2

If you are going to connect hard drives to the system, please bear in mind the CD/DVD Drives will NOT work on the highpoint RAID controller. So I would suggest you set it up like this:

Onboard IDE 1:
Master: 20Gb HD (boot dirve)
Slave : DVD Player

Onboard IDE 2:
Master: DVD Burner
Slave : CDRW

RAID IDE 3:
Master: 120Gb HD
Salve :

RAID IDE 4:
Master: 120gb HD
Slave :

If you are installing fresh (and I assume you are) and your 120gb drives are blank, try using them in a RAID 0 stripe using the hardware, or by using Windows XP Dynamic drives. For some reason the performance in Sandra with an XP software RAID blows the hardware RAID out of the water, go figure...

Either that or just put all your hard drives on the RAID controller.

Hope this helps
__________________

Last edited by Cythrawl; 28th February, 2003 at 09:47 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with 4pea+ W_Kenji EPoX MotherBoards 1 31st May, 2003 03:37 PM
New 4pea 4pea+ Bios!!!!! IBANEZ EPoX MotherBoards 6 5th February, 2003 02:41 PM
Doesn't anyone own a 4PEA+ 1meangti EPoX MotherBoards 3 5th January, 2003 09:47 PM
What About the 4PEA+ That Won't Do 3:4 Prometheus EPoX MotherBoards 2 2nd January, 2003 06:08 AM
4pea+ meatpipe EPoX MotherBoards 3 3rd December, 2002 03:45 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0