AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2001, 05:24 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Another bios update for Epox 8KHA+??

Hi guys,

Here's some good news hopely, a snippet from Epox USA website

"some good The KT266A, 8KHA+ won over 30 Awards all over the world! Plus great news for the overclockers! We have heard many good things about how 8KHA+ can go over 150MHz and beyond. Now, we are researching a Beta BIOS that could bring it up to 200MHz. More to come!! For more information about this motherboard, please check the spec located at the products page or contact sales@epox.com for information about purchasing it at a place near you."

This quote is taken directly from their website. Also over on amdmb.com/forums/epox the beta version of the bios has been released and it seems to fix the "warm rebooting issue". People are at 160FSB and are having no warm rebooting issue.

The link for the bios .bin file is
here


test it at your own risk!!! However wait a few days and Epox are releasing the offical version.

Paul.K


P.S One users opinion on the new bios

Racer X (Senior member of amdmb.com/forums)

Quote:
Soft reboots are history with this bios. My ram can only manage 174FSB with tweaking in the bios.
Its time for really good PC2700 and this board will be untouchable.
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium

Last edited by Paul.K; 2nd December, 2001 at 05:27 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2001, 05:53 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Sounds cool. I can boot windows at 174 right now. But can't get the system 100% stable at more than 164, hopefully the new BIOS will get me there 100%. But since I have no spare EEPROM handy, I'm reluctant to try any beta BIOS. I'll be waiting till it becomes official . . . .

I've got the stuff to do the Vddr hack, but I havn't made my copper heatspreaders yet.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 2nd December, 2001 at 08:08 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2001, 05:58 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Dimmreaper,

I'll be posting the results of the bios change tonight when I get back home.!!! So stay tuned.


Paul.K

I dont mind since i have 2 Epox 8KHA+ boards if worst comes to worst I'll have to swap bios chips.
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2001, 07:00 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Dimmreaper,

Could you give me some information concerning the VDIMM DDR mod. Thanks


Paul.K
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2001, 08:00 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I'm not prepared to tell anyone, as I have not tried it yet and don't want anyone to blow there stuff up. Only crazies like me need more than 3.2V(measures 3.16V with my multimeter) anyway.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 2nd December, 2001 at 08:06 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2001, 10:27 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I tried my Vddr hack. It worked. But because it is a more extreme(read dangerous) hack, I'm not going to tell everyone and there brother how to do it. But if anyone seriously wants to know, and doesn't mind loosing some memory or a motherboard if worst comes to worst, E-mail me and I will fill you in. I don't have any pictures, and will not take any pictures, so nobody ask. I feel this is a hack best kept out of sight and out of mind . . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dimmreaper; 3rd December, 2001 at 12:40 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2001, 11:12 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

That's also available on aoafiles.com, direct from Epox Tech. Has been there for a few days now.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2001, 11:44 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Just flashed the bios the date is 30/11 and it fixed my warm reboot issue. So guys download it now!!!! I will test for its stability by running benchies overnight. No rebooting issue when FSB is 170........



Paul.K
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2001, 11:48 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Any improvement in maximum postable FSB?
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2001, 12:02 AM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Some info here,

There has been no improvement in posting at higher FSB speeds. My system usually posts at 178FSB but freezes in Win XP. However now my system wont even post at that speed.


More information to follow!!!!
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2001, 12:37 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Thanks Paul, keep us in the know . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2001, 04:03 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I found this thread on amdmb.com

http://www.amdmb.com/vb/showthread.php?threadid=79653

There are several people on there who are claiming 200+ fsb with pics to prove it.

Plus the reboot problem some people where having has been fixed.

There were a couple of people who had problems with it.

Definately worth reading if you have the time.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2001, 11:47 AM
spirits247's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 106

Check out the new Epox budget board:

8KHAL - YES THE SAME AS THE BIOS FILE!

Since this bios is called 8khaL00.bin isn't it for the above motherboard? This uses dip switches by the way for FSB and multipliers.

I'm going to wait for an official bios update. The most encouraging thing is that this bios has solved many peoples reboot issues, which means that an official bios fix IS POSSIBLE! HURRAY!
__________________
Athlon XP 1.33Ghz 1.6V - 133FSB - 2000rpm Silent Coolers
Epox 8KHA+ KT266A - Crucial 256Mb 2100 DDR 2.5V
Radein 8500 64MB DDR - SBlive
4x Front 2x Rear USB 2.0 Card
Deskstar 180GXP 120GB 8MB cache - SpinPoint SP0411N 40GB Low Profile
Optorite CDRW 52x32x52 - Pioneer DVD 115 16x
SkyHawk 400W PSU - 220W combined
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2001, 02:49 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

After several benchies (including Sandra, 3DMark2001, and prime95) overnight, the updated bios revision seems to be stable. I have repetitively rebooted the machine at high FSB 170-180 to see for sure if the warm rebooting issue has finaly been eliminated for good. I can safely say with regards to my system that the warm rebooting issue has been eliminated. It's great not having to press the reset button 5-6 times to reboot the machine.

Great work Epox!!!!!


Also to conclude some people are getting high FSB in the 200 range. I reckon for me to reach that speed I will need to get better memory has my memory craps out at 182FSB with aggresive memory timings.


Paul.K
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2001, 09:48 PM
macci's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 14

Paul, YOu can also use the 3/4 RAM divider option

I flashed the new BIOS and set RAM to 3/4 mode and this is what I've got so far:
http://virtual5.nebula.fi/~efidata/i...cci/221fsb.gif
221FSB!

I was also able to run several 3DMark loops at this insane FSB.

Default benchmark (221x8, card 264/565)

Low Detail 640x480 benchmark (221x8, 264/565)

Obviously this 3/4 divider does hurt the performance quite a bit but it's a great option for testing the limits of Chipset and PCI devices. Now I'm 100% sure that the only thing holding me back is the RAM, which maxes out at 185ish w/ fastest timings.

Now Can you imagine the speed at 221MHz w/ FULL RAM SPEED!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2001, 10:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 57

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2001, 12:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
Posts: 19

Question er......wow...

daaaaaaaamnn!!!!! 221mhz !?!!? crazy, anyhow i've flashed my board but.......can't seem to find this RAM divider option, i'm sure i've got the correct beta BIOS... v.8 khal00.bin yes? hmmm, got this one yesterday, maybe i've got an earlier version?......
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2001, 01:03 AM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Macci,

Thats really insane mate.....I did the 5volt resistor mod and it does work. I am at 2.15volts Vcore with my XP AMD. I used 60Kohm resistors and a 47kohm pot. Works like a baby. However I can only get 1800Mhz stable which is cool by me......


I'll have to look for this 3/4 Ram divider....


Cheers Macci....


Paul.K
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2001, 10:37 AM
macci's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 14

The "3/4 divider" is the option that lets you choose the DIMM speed (100MHz, 133MHz and by SPD). 3/4 can be enabled by setting this option to "100MHz".

Paul, nice to hear that the Vmod worked for you
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2001, 12:54 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Cheers Macci, it was a liitle difficult soldiering all the resistors since the IC legs were so close, however with patients and determination I succeeded. My next little pet project is my KR7A VDimm,Vcore and Vio mods.


Keep up the good work Macci

Paul.K
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which bios do i update to for my 8Kha+ michael999 EPoX MotherBoards 0 25th May, 2004 12:59 AM
ET, Thornton bios update for 8KHA+ please. muddocktor EPoX MotherBoards 12 1st December, 2003 01:30 AM
8KHA+ onboard audio doesn't work anymore after bios update wago EPoX MotherBoards 6 17th June, 2003 08:36 PM
ET, Bios update to support MP2800+ for EP-8KHA+? muddocktor EPoX MotherBoards 10 28th May, 2003 05:25 AM
BIOS update for 8KHA ?? Tom64 EPoX MotherBoards 1 22nd March, 2002 06:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0