AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2003, 05:22 PM
sotti's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Portland, Or
Posts: 138

8RDA+ -- high FSB+ATI=BAD, high FSB+NVidia=Good, WTf?

I've had a GF3ti200 in my system since I got my 8RDA+

I've been running 188x12.5 and it's stable in prime95 and never had a crash in a 3d app

Loaded up a 9700pro this week.

got crashes out of 3dmark constantly, rarely would complete a full benchmark.

The crashes were only to desktop.

I fixed the issue by lowering my FSB to 175.

AGP frenquency was locked at 66mhz
8x and fastwrites where enabled, anybody have any clue about this?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2003, 05:45 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

tested a 9500 this week. same thing here. boards no longer do 200 and 3dmark. not enough time to read but i recall no solution at this time. others have much more expirience. no issues with the thinner 9000pro though. it seems the external power supplies to the high end ati's are not working for this purpose anyway.
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2003, 06:14 PM
sotti's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Portland, Or
Posts: 138

hopefully someone will come by with words of wisdom
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2003, 06:34 PM
Flymo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 82

DISABLE fastwrites in bios with the radeon.

Also, Radeons do not like ANY trace of nvidia drivers in the system.

Look for instructions to remove EVERY trace of drivers or format/reinstall.

My Radeon 9500 modded to 9700 running at 375 core, 333 mem runs flawlessly @ 197 fsb - the board craps out here - I guess I need cooling on the mofsets.

Flymo
__________________
EPOX 8RDA+
XP2400+ @ 2.4 GHz
Coolermaster HHC-001 HS/Fan with Heatpipes
1 GB Twinmoss/Winbond pc-3200 DDR (2 X 256 and 1X512) @ 3.2.2.2
Radeon 9500 MODDED to Radeon 9700 PRO+ @ 375/333 DDR
80GB Maxtor ATA 133 HDD
20X10X40 AOpen CD-RW
Cyberdrive 16X DVD-ROM
Modded AVGS Cyberfusion case with
4X80mm case fans and 1 X 120mm fan on a self-built fanbus
3dmark 2k1 17686
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2003, 07:45 PM
sotti's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Portland, Or
Posts: 138

but fastwrites can hold you back, I'll check into that.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2003, 08:13 PM
Flymo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 82

Also, increase the AGP voltage in the BIOS one step at a time until you get stable.
__________________
EPOX 8RDA+
XP2400+ @ 2.4 GHz
Coolermaster HHC-001 HS/Fan with Heatpipes
1 GB Twinmoss/Winbond pc-3200 DDR (2 X 256 and 1X512) @ 3.2.2.2
Radeon 9500 MODDED to Radeon 9700 PRO+ @ 375/333 DDR
80GB Maxtor ATA 133 HDD
20X10X40 AOpen CD-RW
Cyberdrive 16X DVD-ROM
Modded AVGS Cyberfusion case with
4X80mm case fans and 1 X 120mm fan on a self-built fanbus
3dmark 2k1 17686
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2003, 11:14 PM
jcool
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

diable Fastwrites and set Vagp to 1,6V, that should be enough.
I'm perfectly stable at 225Mhz FSB sync with my modded radeon 9500.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2003, 12:27 AM
perc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

iam to stable at 200fsb with my 9700pro and my 8rda board.. now i did have to bump the agp voltage up a notch but that was all i did.. no problems was able to run toast for 24 hrs straight before giving up cause i was satisfied it was stable at the 200 fsb...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2003, 05:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Posts: 6

I read somewhere a while ago.. an ATI tech said that increasing Vagp to 1.7 would be a good idea, also make sure that the card is plugged into a cable straight from the power supply and doesn't go through other devices

think that should help
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2003, 06:40 AM
nfrenay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 573
Send a message via ICQ to nfrenay

I would suggest you to be careful with Vagp. If you need to up it, try to do it as little as possible (1.6V for example). As far as I know, this voltage goes to the video card's own power regulation system, so there is no big advantage in overvolting it, unless you're volt-modding the video card or the motherboard can't provide a steady output.

good luck!
__________________
- EPoX 8K3A+ rev 1.2 (BIOS 3414)
- XP 1700+ "JIUGB" @ 1979MHz @ 1.65V
- Home-made WaterCooler
- 512Mb Kingston Hyper-X PC2700 @ 2-2-6-2-1 @ 198MHz @ 2.67V
- MSI GF4 Ti4400 VIVO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2003, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Location: Portugal (Europe)
Posts: 104

per - how the hell you managed to get 15.5k with your Radeon9700PRO at only 2Ghz?
__________________
without cpu|| moboless || 1x256MB Samsung PC2700 Cas2 ||80GB Seagate 7.2k rpm || Liteon 16x DVD-ROM || Liteon 48x/10x/40x CDRW ||Intel i740 8MB AGP || Guess what i'm doing
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2003, 02:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 274

Rudzer,
I would hope that his 3Dmark would be 15k or more since I'm about the same score with older generation boards at a smaller mhz
__________________
630 quad4
Asus M4A79XTD Evo
4G Corsair XMS
HD5570 ATI
750w Antec PSU
500g x 2 Seagate
160g x 2 Seagate mirrored
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2003, 03:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Canada/Ontario/AJAX
Posts: 62

Quote:
Originally posted by flytek
tested a 9500 this week. same thing here. boards no longer do 200 and 3dmark. not enough time to read but i recall no solution at this time. others have much more expirience. no issues with the thinner 9000pro though. it seems the external power supplies to the high end ati's are not working for this purpose anyway.
I have no problem running at 12X203=2436MHz with my 9500pro...
check sig.....
Fastwrites are disabled
maybe you need a bit more Vcore
My board is not VDD modded yet..
Full load temp playing Nascar2002 is 49 degrees..
__________________
- ABIT NF7-S 2.0
- AMD ATHLON 2500+ BARTON AQXDA 0315 WPJW RUNNING SYNC AT 11X200=2200MHz so far....@1.65 Vcore
- VANTEC VA4 AEROFLOW
- ATI RADEON 9800PRO 128MB DDR
- OCZ 1GB DDR PC3500 EL at 2-2-3-7 timings
- SATA RAID RUNNING 2 WESTERN DIGITALS 8MB CACHE 80GB HD
- CREATIVE AUDIGY 2 SOUND CARD
- LOGITECH Z-560 THX SPEAKERS 4.1
- IBM E94 19"
- ANTEC SX-840 W/ MODDED WINDOW
- ENERMAX 460W
- MICROSOFT WINDOWS XPHOME
http://members.rogers.com/jamiehayman
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2003, 04:42 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

As has been stated ( fly) MAKE SURE ALL vestiges of NV vcard drivers are removed from your system, I have seen that cause more problems than anything else.

I've run an 8500 and a 9700p at 238 fsb without issues on 2 different 8RDA+ boards......
My guess is the problem lies elsewhere, unless you have a bad card.
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2003, 06:04 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

finally got the 9500 up to 200 fsb on the desk. had to swap many componants and run many test over two days. my final recommendations.
do a full system reinstall even if its at 200fsb
make absolutely sure that the cpu and memory are up to speed and stable
stock voltage to memory and agp should suffice if the componants are up to the task.
run 98se for best visual quality and 3dmark stability & performance.

testbed specs 10630 3dmarks, 98se dx8.1, 0 mods yet

stock 8RDA+ 1.1, athlon xp1800+ 307 dlt3c @ 2.2ghz & 1.625V.
2x256mb ddr333 @ 100%7-3-3-2.5, ati9500 dvi, 300watt psu.
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2003, 06:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: South Florida...USA!!!
Posts: 7

Had same problem....but found it to be a driver issue...i went back to the Omega's 2.3.92's and it stopped doing it!!!!
__________________
System 1:
Epox 8RDA+ v1.0 bios 3609
AMD XP 2500+ (12 x 185)
Samsung 2x256mb pc3200 ddr
Rad 9700 pro (3.5 Omega's)
Win XP pro (sp1)
2-20gb Maxtor's ATA-133
3DMark2001se score=17565
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6728535
3DMark03 score=5740
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=784055
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2003, 08:49 AM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

ran prime95 all night @ 2.2ghz 1.65V. it will run 3dmark as well time after time except as soon as i set 3dmark to loop it will crash out to the desktop. restarting 3dmark will run smoothly unless set to loop. must have run 3dmark 20 times already with prime 95 still running. when looping it crashes on the second or third loop. could this ddr333 be failing only long term 3d?
any suggestions before i switch off tests and change ati driver?
any hot tips to turn this 9500 way up would be very welcomed???
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd

Last edited by flytek; 13th April, 2003 at 09:42 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2003, 11:22 AM
Flymo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 82

run memtest overnight to make sure the mem is ok at that fsb and mem timings.
My twinmos/winbond runes fine @ 195fsb and 3.2.2.2

I need to get some heatsinks on the mosfets tho and active cooling on the northbridge to increase fsb


Flymo
__________________
EPOX 8RDA+
XP2400+ @ 2.4 GHz
Coolermaster HHC-001 HS/Fan with Heatpipes
1 GB Twinmoss/Winbond pc-3200 DDR (2 X 256 and 1X512) @ 3.2.2.2
Radeon 9500 MODDED to Radeon 9700 PRO+ @ 375/333 DDR
80GB Maxtor ATA 133 HDD
20X10X40 AOpen CD-RW
Cyberdrive 16X DVD-ROM
Modded AVGS Cyberfusion case with
4X80mm case fans and 1 X 120mm fan on a self-built fanbus
3dmark 2k1 17686
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2003, 07:32 PM
perc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Rudzer
per - how the hell you managed to get 15.5k with your Radeon9700PRO at only 2Ghz?
i got 16137 with this xp1800 oced to 2100 mhz 10.5x200 1.85v.. heck im trying for 17k but i seem to be stuck... all ive done to this set up is the active coolers on the nb and sb and syncs on the mosfits.. i oced the card to 344/324 and thats about it really..
here is the screen shot of last nights benchie this is my highest so far with this xp1800 oced it's the best i can do right now...
Attached Thumbnails
8RDA+ -- high FSB+ATI=BAD, high FSB+NVidia=Good, WTf?-2100-400-1.85.jpg  
__________________

Last edited by perc; 13th April, 2003 at 09:32 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2003, 11:40 AM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

funny thing that prime95 will run for 24 hours when a few loops of 3dmark will bring a cpu to its knees at the same settings. the ddr333 on the testbed only does ddr400 @ 9-4-4-3.0 reliably. so with dodgy memory and cpu my stability was wishfull thinking.
with the new memory timings and a 2ghz cpu @1.5 Vcore everything loops fine at 200fsb. i think i'll stick with these cpu setting till i replace this unlapped aluminium heatsink.

edit. learnt my lesson. every day stability is not 3d stability. now totally stable with 2x256 hyperx3000 one bar code apart.
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd

Last edited by flytek; 14th April, 2003 at 10:47 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Reveals Tesla Solutions for High-Performance Computing. Samuknow General Hardware Discussion 5 25th June, 2007 07:37 PM
Nvidia, AMD accused of conspiracy to keep graphics pricing high danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 34 20th December, 2006 01:46 AM
Ram Voltage How High Is To High? QSDT General Hardware Discussion 5 26th August, 2005 08:27 AM
High school physics, how good was your teacher? mookydooky Random Nonsense! 18 3rd July, 2004 04:49 AM
8RDA+ IDE - high cpu usage chs EPoX MotherBoards 26 22nd April, 2003 06:35 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0