AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2003, 12:11 PM
maluszek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cracow, Poland
Posts: 6

8rda+ bios short question to Epox tech

Hi,
The question is:
What have you changed since 3129, that every bios (incl. beta) following this one causes my system to significant drop in performance?

When using GF2 video card it did not want to even load winxp, while with ati9500pro there were some kind of short (~1s.) freezes all the time.

I tried messing with irqs, acpi, turning off onboard devices, overclocking, underclocking, and no improvement was noticed.

Was is some kind of irqs priority table or what? I've noticed something like spectrum.bin in 3305? What is this?
Code:
CBROM V2.15 (C)Award Software 2001 All Rights Reserved.

              ******** 8RDA3305.BIN BIOS component ********

 No. Item-Name         Original-Size   Compressed-Size Original-File-Name
===========================================================================
  0. System BIOS       20000h(128.00K) 1439Bh(80.90K)  6a61bpaa.BIN
  1. XGROUP CODE       0D3A0h(52.91K)  08EB5h(35.68K)  awardext.rom
  2. ACPI table        04C85h(19.13K)  01C86h(7.13K)   ACPITBL.BIN
  3. YGROUP ROM        05710h(21.77K)  034E4h(13.22K)  awardeyt.rom
  4. GROUP ROM[ 0]     04200h(16.50K)  01DC9h(7.45K)   _EN_CODE.BIN
  5. PCI ROM[A]        10000h(64.00K)  07593h(29.39K)  NVPXES.NIC
  6. Flash ROM         0A0E7h(40.23K)  057DEh(21.97K)  AWDFLASH.EXE
  7. OEM0 CODE         00900h(2.25K)   004F7h(1.24K)   spectrum.bin

  Total compress code space  = 33000h(204.00K)
  Total compressed code size = 313EBh(196.98K)
  Remain compress code space = 01C15h(7.02K)

                          ** Micro Code Information **
Update ID  CPUID  |  Update ID  CPUID  |  Update ID  CPUID  |  Update ID  CPUID
------------------+--------------------+--------------------+-------------------
In 3129 there is no spectrum.bin (but the sizes are also different)
Code:
CBROM V2.15 (C)Award Software 2001 All Rights Reserved.

              ******** 8RDA3129.BIN BIOS component ********

 No. Item-Name         Original-Size   Compressed-Size Original-File-Name
===========================================================================
  0. System BIOS       20000h(128.00K) 1430Ch(80.76K)  6a61bpaa.BIN
  1. XGROUP CODE       0C910h(50.27K)  089CAh(34.45K)  awardext.rom
  2. ACPI table        04C96h(19.15K)  01C8Fh(7.14K)   ACPITBL.BIN
  3. YGROUP ROM        06090h(24.14K)  03867h(14.10K)  awardeyt.rom
  4. GROUP ROM[ 0]     04220h(16.53K)  01DCCh(7.45K)   _EN_CODE.BIN
  5. PCI ROM[A]        10000h(64.00K)  07593h(29.39K)  NVPXES.NIC
  6. Flash ROM         0A0E7h(40.23K)  057DEh(21.97K)  AWDFLASH.EXE

  Total compress code space  = 34000h(208.00K)
  Total compressed code size = 30D09h(195.26K)
  Remain compress code space = 032F7h(12.74K)

                          ** Micro Code Information **
Update ID  CPUID  |  Update ID  CPUID  |  Update ID  CPUID  |  Update ID  CPUID
------------------+--------------------+--------------------+-------------------
Maybe it has been already discussed (sorry for the inconvenience then), but I've already reviewed forums at amdmb and overclockers.au and haven't found any working solution (apart from the commonly known: if it works, don't change anything )
Regards
M.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2003, 03:56 PM
HauZDauG's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: U.S.A
Posts: 154

Quote:
When using GF2 video card it did not want to even load winxp, while with ati9500pro there were some kind of short (~1s.) freezes all the time.
When you say Freezes , how often does it do this? Is Win XP always slow?
Do you have all of windows updates? Are you aware that one of the windows XP updates has caused wide spread slow downs on machines?have you looked into that?
__________________
AMD 2600+(333fsb) @180x12=2.16ghz@1.75v w/ThermalTake Volcano7+
DFI LanParty Ultra B
2x256=512 DDR pc2700 Samsung(DualChannel)@2.77v
Antec 430W TruPower PSU
Maxtor 120GB SATA drive
Geforce 6600 GT
SB Audigy 2 ZS Gamer
Windows XP Pro
Chenming 6 bay case w/ SiX 80mm case fans
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th May, 2003, 04:10 PM
maluszek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cracow, Poland
Posts: 6

I know 'bout this update, therefore I've only installed sp1.
Moreover it is not the winxp problem for sure, as I work now under 3129 bios and everything is ok, and all I did was to downgrade the bios from 3507. That's why I asked whether there was any code reorganization in bios, or new function implementation...

It looks like something is refreshed on an ongoing basis. The most notable symptoms are menus - they are freezed upon both appearing and disappearing. And as I said: with 3129 it's all ok.

Regards
M.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2003, 06:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 54

Hi maluszek,

somehow the BIOSes after 3129 are messed up. There seem to be some problems with IRQ's which is connected to what device and what does the BIOS report to the operanding system.

This behavior confuses the nVidia graphics driver under linux OS - it crashes. Also not every onboard USB controller gets an IRQ ...

I wrote this to the Epox support Germany and they replied: It's a known issue, it's already reported to taiwan - stay tuned for new BIOSes ...

So I hope someday my 8RDA+ works under linux.

Greetings
mibo
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2003, 08:26 PM
Clipse's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: South-Africa, Capetown.
Posts: 162
Send a message via ICQ to Clipse Send a message via MSN to Clipse

gaah, I just dont know nemore, getting alot of headaches cause of this board :/
__________________
NEW

Athlon 64 4000+ @ 3Ghz 1.65v (300x10 , 3.5x HTT)
SHUTTLE XPC N26P NFORCE4 SLI
2x MSI 7800GTX 512MB @ 620/1880 each
2x 1GIG Kingmax Hardcore @ DDR600 2.9v


OLD

Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.7Ghz 1.5v (300x9 , 3x HTT)
MSI K8N NEO2 Platinum Nforce 3 Ultra
Leadtek Geforce 6800 Ultra @ 480/1300
2x 512MB Kingmax Hardcore @ DDR500 2.7v
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPoX tech guy i got another question Jason|Pro EPoX MotherBoards 8 9th May, 2005 11:45 PM
EPoX Tech - Beta BIOS Question CYoung1235 EPoX MotherBoards 6 25th June, 2003 08:35 AM
question for EPOX tech Kuriacin EPoX MotherBoards 3 21st January, 2003 02:01 AM
Epox Tech... bios flash question Folk EPoX MotherBoards 2 7th September, 2002 11:55 AM
A Question for EPox Tech O'Dell EPoX MotherBoards 3 7th March, 2002 11:43 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0