AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2001, 07:08 PM
Cole's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Athens, GA USA
Posts: 140

Question Difference Between 8KHA and +

I was about to pick up one of these boards and ran into some confusion and/or misleading advertisements on pricewatch. I was under the impression that the 8KHA+ simply added RAID to the original board. Then I read at HOCP that the 8KHA+ uses a revision of the KT266 chipset. While searching pricewatch I see some ads that say "8KHA+ KT266..." while others say "8KHA KT266A" etc. etc. So what's the real deal here - is the + model using a newer revision of the chipset? How can I definitely tell what I'm buying since some ads say 8KHA without the plus but also have KT266A listed?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2001, 08:41 PM
Jon's Avatar
Jon Jon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 67
Send a message via ICQ to Jon

Ads are screwy. 8KHA is the older KT266 chipset and the 8KHA+ is the newer KT266a chipset...the one you want to make sure you're getting.
__________________
:]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2001, 12:22 AM
fireball_87's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 596
Send a message via AIM to fireball_87

exactly what jon said and btw: neather of them have raid.
__________________
duel athlon xp 1700+'s
msi k7d mobo
ati radion 8500 all in wonder 128mb
512mb crucial pc 2100 ddr
sound blaster audigy
120gb 7200 rpm WD hard drive
40x12x40 cd burner
16x dvd
450wpsu
alienware style green case (:

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2001, 04:53 AM
Cole's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Athens, GA USA
Posts: 140

Thanks guys - sounds like going back to the old days of asking for a specific stepping of cpu over the phone. I can see it now "IS this a + or not.....!!??"
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2001, 05:34 AM
Phiber's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NYC,USA
Posts: 1,611
Send a message via ICQ to Phiber Send a message via AIM to Phiber

they cant make it anymore confusing can they?
__________________
[color=blue]
Folding :
XP 2500+@ 2.2Ghz
XP 1800+
[color]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2001, 07:59 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Exact differences are :

8KHA and 8KHA+ use exactly the same PCB.

8KHA+ uses the same audio codec chip found on revision 1.3 of 8KHA, different to that of rev 1.0,1.1 and 1.2 of 8KHA.

8KHA+ uses an ICS PLL, 8KHA doesn't (although the ufnctionality of the two PLL's is similar and allows for the two chips to use the same PCB).

8KHA+ uses 8366a (KT266a) whereas 8KHA uses 8366 (KT266).

Due to the fact that the PLL is different, the 8KHA+ BIOS is different, if 8KHA+ had kept the same PLL as 8KHA, the BIOS would have remained. Note that official 8KHA+ BIOS filenames start 8khi****.bin with the "i" indicating the ICS PLL.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the difference between the NF7-S and the NF7-S2?? brunobm AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 19th January, 2005 12:28 AM
What's the Difference Staz Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 1 2nd January, 2005 05:51 AM
What's the difference of 3/3 6/6 etc ? hann AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 21st November, 2004 10:06 AM
Much of a difference? NeVeRmiNd Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 13 13th September, 2004 11:31 PM
What is the difference? Claudius Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 18 27th March, 2002 05:23 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0