AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2001, 11:44 PM
engineer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 27

Question Epox 8kha+ and vapochill setup

Hello all im new to this forum having just got my Epox and Vapochill system.
I purchased a "used" Vapochill system and am trying to commision it and am having some problems, i hope someone can help.
1> My system does not post, i believe a failure in one of the many new components (cpu or ram or even mobo) to be at fault and not the vapochill. I took great care in mounting the CPU a athlon xp1700+ and hope this is not the problem. My mobo is a epox 8kha+ and i have 1 stick of pc2400 ram installed. I think most people would say try a cpu swap first ?
On system powerup the mobo led display is at 00, i get no beeps in the speaker, and no display to the monitor.

The vapochill system seems to behave properly with the compressor starting normally and when t1 (-5c) is reached i hear the relay click on.
Any idea would be most welcomed thanks ..
__________________
Epox 8ka3 rev 1.1 2508 bios

hybrid Vapochill cooled cpu
water cooled video and mobo

1 x corsair 512meg pc2700 cas2

adaptec u160 dual scsi card

2 x quantum 18g 10k ultra 160 h/d
externally mounted

visiontek gf4 ti4600(330mhz -695)
water cooled gpu + ram sinks

sb audegy soundcard

3com 3c905tx 10/100 nic

Samsung 170t digital lcd display @1024x1280

Enermax 450w +5v rail modified
180w sep supply to run drives
winshaft xp pro

current overclock
xp1900+@1.8g 9 x 205
vcore 2.05v vdimm 2.8v
3dmarks2001 stock settings 10949
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2001, 02:14 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Do you have a normal HSF handy. If you do it would simplify things allot if you put that on instead of the vapochill.

Once your PC is running then install the vapochill and get that FSB up

Firstly, do your fans spin up or does the system do nothing when you press the power button.

If it does nothing check the position of the CMOS jumper (Jbatt1) as the manul shows the incorrect position. The jumper should be on the left side pins.

Try clearing the CMOS.

Try posting without any hard drives or PCI cards installed.

Reseat your AGP card.

Reseat the memory.

Try plugging a fan into the fan header on the motherboard. Ive never tried to post mine without a fan but the board may not start without a fan installed. Epox Tech can probably clear that one up.

Take the evaporator off and make sure you didnt crush the CPU. Epox Tech killed a few XP's using a vapochill, I hope you havent but youd better check.

What PSU are you using.

If none of that works then it might help to try alternate memory, Agp cards, PSU's and CPU's to identify the fault.

Good luck.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2001, 07:16 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I know where "Engineer" is comuing from here. Once you have mounted the hose onto the CPU you don't want to take it off.

Try running the compressor from a seperate PSU. It may be that the compressor is draining the PSU of sufficient power to boot the system. This insufficiency would after boot hinder system stability also.

I ran mine on 8K7A with a CWT 320W (recommended upto XP1900+) for normal system and a little advance 250W for the compressor jumpered to the black jumper for 100% loading on the compressor.

There is sufficient space at the bottom of the case to rest a second PSU on the deck.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2001, 06:27 PM
engineer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 27

Wink

Yes Epox tech you are right about removing the vaporchill Im sure you have some memories from your old vaporchill system.
I should have included that the system im building has a bran new Enermax 450w power supply, so unless its faulty i think its not a power problem.
I have the system stripped down to bare essentials just a vid card 1 stick of ram and of course the mobo.
I will begin by swapping out the vid card and ram and ps and see what happens. But more then likely its the athlon and i think this because the vapor chill typically takes a miniute to begin cooling and you would expect to see the cpu put of enough heat to activate the vapor chill's t2 level thus cutting power of to the system but it doesnt, the heat rise is not that great thus i think the cpu is dead.
Having never booted the epox board im not sure about the Led displays 00 reading. would a dead cpu result in a 00 reading ? the manual is a little unclear in this department.
__________________
Epox 8ka3 rev 1.1 2508 bios

hybrid Vapochill cooled cpu
water cooled video and mobo

1 x corsair 512meg pc2700 cas2

adaptec u160 dual scsi card

2 x quantum 18g 10k ultra 160 h/d
externally mounted

visiontek gf4 ti4600(330mhz -695)
water cooled gpu + ram sinks

sb audegy soundcard

3com 3c905tx 10/100 nic

Samsung 170t digital lcd display @1024x1280

Enermax 450w +5v rail modified
180w sep supply to run drives
winshaft xp pro

current overclock
xp1900+@1.8g 9 x 205
vcore 2.05v vdimm 2.8v
3dmarks2001 stock settings 10949
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2001, 08:30 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

For diagnostic purposes, before setting up vapochill, always check the integrity of all system components including of course the mainboard and the CPU.

Always be very careful attaching the hose and contact making sure the clamp ring is seated level on the cooling attachment and doesn't foul the hose so as to be lob-sided.

Note that it is normal for the temperature to rise after power on upto approximatley 40°C befoire it reduces to the -5°C that you've set t1 at send the pulse to the mainboard to power on.

I think at the stage that you're at now it would be prudent to extract the hose and processor, replace with another processor and an aircooler in order to test the mainboard. If positive, then replace the CPU with the XP and try again. Trubble-shootin'
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2001, 02:39 AM
engineer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 27

Thumbs up

Ok thanks for the suggestions.
Im up and running and have the system posting now um turns out it must have been a iron filing somewhere on the mobo stopping it from booting um i blew out the case with a compressor and bang she came right up.
I was so glad it wasnt the xp
I will finish building the system over the next day or so and post some specs once i have tweaked the bios.
__________________
Epox 8ka3 rev 1.1 2508 bios

hybrid Vapochill cooled cpu
water cooled video and mobo

1 x corsair 512meg pc2700 cas2

adaptec u160 dual scsi card

2 x quantum 18g 10k ultra 160 h/d
externally mounted

visiontek gf4 ti4600(330mhz -695)
water cooled gpu + ram sinks

sb audegy soundcard

3com 3c905tx 10/100 nic

Samsung 170t digital lcd display @1024x1280

Enermax 450w +5v rail modified
180w sep supply to run drives
winshaft xp pro

current overclock
xp1900+@1.8g 9 x 205
vcore 2.05v vdimm 2.8v
3dmarks2001 stock settings 10949
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2001, 08:09 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by engineer
Ok thanks for the suggestions.
Im up and running and have the system posting now um turns out it must have been a iron filing somewhere on the mobo stopping it from booting um i blew out the case with a compressor and bang she came right up.
I was so glad it wasnt the xp
I will finish building the system over the next day or so and post some specs once i have tweaked the bios.
Let us know how it goes Engineer
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2001, 06:17 AM
engineer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 27

Talking im up and running

It was a long struggle to get this system running but i finally made it.
Here is a brief summary of what happened.
I spent many an hour trying to sort out why my system wouldnt get past the boot portion where it lists all your device and irq just before it boots to windows. My system would hang all the time, i began by swapping all the pci cards around thinking that one ofthem didnt like sharing .. no luck. I then removed all the pci cards except the vid and the scsi controller and still no go. Next i disabled my usb on the mobo and heay it gets past the device listing but fails to get into winxp wheich i had from a prevoius install. I install all the cards again and keep usb disabled and reboot and begin working on the winxp problem.
After a angry reinstall of xp im running except for usb. I try enabling usb again but this time remove assign irq for usb and it works. Not to much documentation on this.
I will run system for a day or so then begin the overclocking .. i will post to let you all know how i go.
__________________
Epox 8ka3 rev 1.1 2508 bios

hybrid Vapochill cooled cpu
water cooled video and mobo

1 x corsair 512meg pc2700 cas2

adaptec u160 dual scsi card

2 x quantum 18g 10k ultra 160 h/d
externally mounted

visiontek gf4 ti4600(330mhz -695)
water cooled gpu + ram sinks

sb audegy soundcard

3com 3c905tx 10/100 nic

Samsung 170t digital lcd display @1024x1280

Enermax 450w +5v rail modified
180w sep supply to run drives
winshaft xp pro

current overclock
xp1900+@1.8g 9 x 205
vcore 2.05v vdimm 2.8v
3dmarks2001 stock settings 10949
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2001, 08:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 22

Lo there, nice Answer there Epox-tech

The t2 control holds the 12v line off, and t1 holds the reset on. Just for info.
As for mounting th Evaporator, goto the support site and look for the thread on "stopping core crushing". I posted a good way to mount the Evaporator.

Cheers
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th December, 2001, 08:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 22

no sig
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPOX 8KDA3+ and reset switch VS vapochill endecoot EPoX MotherBoards 2 9th October, 2004 09:47 AM
EPOX 8RDA3+ setup questions Rogeter EPoX MotherBoards 4 19th June, 2003 12:10 PM
Epox 8RDA+ on-board audio and 5.1 setup H.P.Lovecraft EPoX MotherBoards 6 8th February, 2003 06:09 PM
Epox 8k3a+ and corsair mem and pos raid setup :D Sideburns AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 6th November, 2002 07:51 PM
Epox Tech few problems with my setup of my Epox 8KHA+ Paul.K EPoX MotherBoards 13 18th October, 2001 07:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0