AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2001, 07:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 2

Question Can't run UDMA100 on 8KHA+ with BETA BIOS

My setup:
XP1700 (unlocked, o/c 1650mhz @ 1.85v)
8KHA+ (12/18 beta bios)
256MB Kingmax PC2400
30GB WD300BB
300W Aopen P/S

The system runs fine at 145x11 with offical 11/02 bios, but can't post any higher than 150mhz fsb.
8KHA+ can post/run 150-180mhz fsb with beta 12/18 bios, but not stable, get hdd crash. (even at 145mhz fsb)
*However 150-180mhz fsb runs stable(no hdd crash) with the beta bios (12/18) IF the hard disk is NOT set at UDMA100. (before set at udma disabled/pio 4, now set at udma66)

I dont think WD300BB is the cause since it ran stable at 165mhz fsb on other boards (EPOX 8KHA, ABIT KT7A, IWILL KK266).
WD300BB can't run UDMA100 on 8KHA+ with beta bios? bios settings? (but i've played with bios fair bit, but nothing made seem to run stable at udma100 on beta bios, even at 145mhz fsb.)
Anyone else have same problem? (i'm gonna try diff hdd but have to find one...)

At least now, if anyone else have same problem (can't run 145MHz+ FSB on 8KHA+), they might/should be able to run higher FSB with this latest bios and hdd set at udma66.

Any suggestions will be much appreciated.. thanks in advance.

I've tested all the parts and i'm pretty sure its not the CPU, PSU or memory and HDD. soo ===> 8KHA+

originally posted at amdmb, http://www.amdmb.com/vb/showthread.php?threadid=85814

http://www.amdmb.com/vb/showthread.php?threadid=84305
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@XP2000+ @1.85v (165x10), 8KHA+ (150-180mhz with beta bios, UDMA66), PAL8045, Leadtek GF3 (235/525), 256M Kingmax PC2400 (165, cas2, turbo @ 2.60v), 30G WD300BB, AOpen HQ45 + 300W P/S
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2001, 12:51 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I think that the bulk majority of experienced overclockers are able to achieve 170MHz or better with this product on a modest multiplier provided that all of the machines peripherals will permit such.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2001, 04:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 43

EPoX tech,
Just so u know that AMDBOY is bad mouthing EPoX boards. http://www.amdmb.com/vb/showthread.p...threadid=84907
Check this, he's been cusing the board for not being to overclock at high speeds which EPoX doesn't gurrante to do so. He's been posting telling people how bad the board and don't buy it because it doesn't overclock at high fsb "according to him (the so-called-expert of the art of overclocking)". hehehe..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2001, 10:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 2

Now i'm startin to think that BETA BIOS is causin HDD crashes.. cos i'm not the only one.
I had my pc runnin stable at 165x10 with 11/30 beta bios for few hours and then it suddenly hanged, lost half the data in hdd.
Later realsied that 150-180 does NOT run stable on my pc even with beta BIOS. (unfortunately my 8KHA+ can only post upto 150MHz with offical bios).
After tryin 12/18 beta bios, had same error i got from 11/30 beta. HDD crashes at 155-180mhz, and even at 145mhz fsb.

But i was able to run stable 150-180mhz without hdd crash by disablin the UDMA, which sets the hdd to PIO 4. (i have WD300BB hdd)
I was pretty sure that HDD wasn't not the cause at high FSB but the 8KHA+ or the BIOS. because i was able to run 165MHz FSB on 8KHA 100% stable before i got 8KHA+.
And there was another person in this forum with 20 WD 7200rpm, WD200BB or WD200AB i guess. who was able to run around 170mhz (i think) stable on 8KHA+.

But now i'm startin to think it could be the HDD again, cos after running 165 and 180 stable for almost 12 hours (by runnin UDMA66). ran 3dmark2001 demo for about 6 hours, serious sam se for about 4 hours, etc. The HDD crashed again.
Could it be possible that WD300BB does not run stable at UDMA100 on 8KHA+ when used with beta bios???


I can get Windows ME to copy all the files even at 180mhz using UDMA100 but most time it crashes at the end of installation, even at 145MHz.
Sometimes i can finish installin Windows at UDMA100 but soon as i install few programs and run scandisk or hdd defrag, there are crossed linked files, etc and half the files on hdd is corrputed.
It seems to be MUCH more stable at UDMA66 but not 100%... i think its safe to say it 95% stable at UDMA66 even under intense benchmarks but can crash anytime... but might be stable if u never stress the pc.

Anyway i'm back to 145x11, or 143x10.5 with offical bios, i think it should run 100% stable at 150-180 on PIO 4 with beta bios, but not worth it... i'll try with diff hdd soon.
Any chance of new Offical BIOS for 8KHA+ before xmas??? or before 2002???
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@XP2000+ @1.85v (165x10), 8KHA+ (150-180mhz with beta bios, UDMA66), PAL8045, Leadtek GF3 (235/525), 256M Kingmax PC2400 (165, cas2, turbo @ 2.60v), 30G WD300BB, AOpen HQ45 + 300W P/S
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2001, 05:39 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

I've been running mine at 164MHz for the past three weeks straight under 24/7(no restarts, no crashes, always on) load via folding at home with everthing in the bios set to "bat out of hell" . . .

I love this board . . .

I should get off my duff and try one of the new BIOSes . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 03:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

Running 163 fsb max mem tweaks perfectly stable with BETA Bios.
170+ seems ok when lowering the disk drive to UDMA 33 and disable IDE prefetch (IBM GXP60).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 09:26 AM
Brad
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

amdboy, it doesn't matter, your pci speed is 33mhz at 166, cause the 8kha+ has a 1/5 and 1/6 dividers, just like the gigabyte (which has it written on the pcb)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2001, 02:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 537

There is no 1/5 and 1/6 PCI divider kicking in on 8KHA+.
Even though the clockgenerator supports it the VIA chip does not.
This is also stated official by Epox.
http://www.epox.com/html/english/sup...p?Article=1546
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8KHA+ USB Problems with BETA Bios? Jet Black EPoX MotherBoards 0 9th December, 2002 06:37 PM
new beta 8kha+ BIOS ver.2612 mauler2000 EPoX MotherBoards 9 19th June, 2002 03:08 PM
beta bios rishy EPoX MotherBoards 2 30th May, 2002 05:53 PM
Beta Bios Summary Please.. DazzleW EPoX MotherBoards 7 28th February, 2002 04:16 PM
8KHA+ Beta Bios with Ram Divider? Cole EPoX MotherBoards 5 19th December, 2001 04:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0