AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2003, 03:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to RangerJoe

8RDA3+ BSODing before windows bootup screen....

Alright, so I installed everything, put a zalman cooler on the NB, and the stock NB cooler on the SB. Started up the first time, go into bios, change memory to 133mhz (stock cpu speed) and restart...and right after it recognizes the hard drive as the boot device, it BSOD's. It says I need to check to see if I have viruses.

I am thinking the change from a KT333 board, to the Nforce 2 board has screwd things up. Think that would be the culprit?

Anywho, the board is pretty nifty besides that. I can't believe how many bios options there are. Here are some pics.

There we go.
Attached Thumbnails
8RDA3+ BSODing before windows bootup screen....-full_case-medium-.jpg.JPG
Views:	75
Size:	89.4 KB
ID:	6723   8RDA3+ BSODing before windows bootup screen....-closeup-medium-.jpg.JPG
Views:	83
Size:	109.2 KB
ID:	6724   8RDA3+ BSODing before windows bootup screen....-motherboard2-medium-.jpg.JPG
Views:	88
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	6725   8RDA3+ BSODing before windows bootup screen....-motherboard-medium-.jpg.JPG
Views:	77
Size:	89.9 KB
ID:	6726  
__________________
1700+ Tbred DLT3C @ 2.42ghz/1.75vcore --- Epox EP-8RDA3+
512mb Corsair PC3200 --- IBM 80gb
Lian Li PC-75 w/120mm blowhole/120mm intake at bottom
Albatron Ti4200P Turbo
SLK-800a w/ Sunon 84 CFM fan
My Heatware

My name is actually Phillip.
Need hosting? Check out my hosting site here.

Last edited by RangerJoe; 9th August, 2003 at 03:52 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2003, 06:18 AM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

Quote:
Originally Posted by RangerJoe
Alright, so I installed everything, put a zalman cooler on the NB, and the stock NB cooler on the SB. Started up the first time, go into bios, change memory to 133mhz (stock cpu speed) and restart...and right after it recognizes the hard drive as the boot device, it BSOD's. It says I need to check to see if I have viruses.

I am thinking the change from a KT333 board, to the Nforce 2 board has screwd things up. Think that would be the culprit?

Anywho, the board is pretty nifty besides that. I can't believe how many bios options there are. Here are some pics.

There we go.
are you trying to re-install windows on a fresh format?
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2003, 06:21 AM
Drisler's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Somewhere I Belong
Posts: 190
Send a message via MSN to Drisler Send a message via Yahoo to Drisler

Yes that is the cultprit. Tried entering Safe Mode maybe?

You may have to do a XP Repair to recover your old installation.

I recommend doing a clean install though. Less problems and is painless, if you backed up before switching motherboards.
__________________
DFI LanParty-UT, Vapochill LS
Athlon64 CH/CG 3400+ ( 2.86GHz, 1.76V )
(512x2) OCZ EB PC3700, 3-2-2-10-1T ( 260MHz, 3.3V )
X800pVIVO > XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2003, 06:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to RangerJoe

my brother has a computer, and 240gb of hard drive space, so I can backup everything on there, and format from there...so thats not a problem.

I was unsure if the recovery console would work, but a clean install will be better I'm sure. I will just do that tomorrow when I wake up.

Ordering a SATA 120gb WD drive tonight anyway, so I can install that after quakecon.

Thanks for the help guys.
__________________
1700+ Tbred DLT3C @ 2.42ghz/1.75vcore --- Epox EP-8RDA3+
512mb Corsair PC3200 --- IBM 80gb
Lian Li PC-75 w/120mm blowhole/120mm intake at bottom
Albatron Ti4200P Turbo
SLK-800a w/ Sunon 84 CFM fan
My Heatware

My name is actually Phillip.
Need hosting? Check out my hosting site here.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2003, 06:42 AM
Drisler's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Somewhere I Belong
Posts: 190
Send a message via MSN to Drisler Send a message via Yahoo to Drisler

The repair doesn't need the recovery console really..Just pop in your XP CD and it should detect your existing installation.

But yea..Clean install is the way too go.
__________________
DFI LanParty-UT, Vapochill LS
Athlon64 CH/CG 3400+ ( 2.86GHz, 1.76V )
(512x2) OCZ EB PC3700, 3-2-2-10-1T ( 260MHz, 3.3V )
X800pVIVO > XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2003, 12:27 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Yeah, the chances are it's trying to use a VIA driver on the nForce2 chipset. That doesn't generally get you good results.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New PC - black screen on TFT on bootup? RickBaker CRASHED! 7 24th January, 2005 02:38 PM
Windows XP Bootup Time Oldjim OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 7 14th September, 2004 03:09 PM
EPoX Tech: 8K5A2+ can't bootup to bios screen, it hang w/"C1 error and beep sound. BioS EPoX MotherBoards 6 9th April, 2004 06:09 AM
Slow bootup / slow tray load once in windows OverDose EPoX MotherBoards 9 24th January, 2003 02:22 AM
8K3A+ stops on blu-bar screen Windows Xp iname1030 EPoX MotherBoards 2 2nd August, 2002 05:41 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0