AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2001, 03:03 AM
DazzleW's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 77

To all those that have volt modded there Epox 8kha+

Do you have a stable vcore?

Mine bounces all over the place from 2.05 to 2.00. 5v is also moving..

I'm using an Aopen 300w..

I'm guessing i need an upgrad to 400w to get more stability, what do you think...

Has anyone else vcore modded using a 300w..
__________________
Mail Me
15114 3dmark2001
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2001, 10:10 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

This would depend on certain variables :
[list=1][*]PSU used[*]Graphics Card used and core/mem frequencies[*]Type of modification carried out - straight pass or regulated (Macci / Paul K)[*]Host Clock Speed[*]Memory Voltage selected[/list=1]

As such it is difficult to merely point at the VMod giving the fluctuation, but does show the many possible effective momentary actions
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2001, 11:56 AM
DazzleW's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 77

Thanks Epox Tech..

Volt Mod =220k 1/4w resistor attached to Pin 2 of vol regulator chip with a micrograbber.

Vcore set in Bios -.25.

PSW Aopen 300w Tweaked 5v Line

Graphics Card Leadtek Ti200 - Default Clock

VDimm 3v

Funning thing is i was really hoping for much more, as at 1.85volts i can bench at 9.5 x 168..
__________________
Mail Me
15114 3dmark2001
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2001, 04:11 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I would imagine that the PSU is having difficulty keeping all that lot going with modified voltages.

You may have more success with either the more complex VMod or a more sufficient PSU.

Please do note also everyone the lack of response in general that people get from Athlon XP at high voltage when compared to Thunderbird due to the differing manufacturing process.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2001, 05:52 PM
DazzleW's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 77

I'll see if i can tweak my 5volt line a bit more, failing that i supose i'll have to go for another PSU, maybee the 400w Sparke.

I'll check back later, thanks..
__________________
Mail Me
15114 3dmark2001

Last edited by DazzleW; 26th December, 2001 at 05:55 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2001, 10:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

after my volt mod i also had a bouncy vcore... until i got a new and much better psu that is. maybe yours is a similar issue.
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 04:09 PM
DazzleW's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 77

I've tweaked my 5volt line to the max and my core voltages are much more static.

I figured that i may have maxxed out my chip at 1.64ghz.

The next step is to try first thing in the morning when the pc is really cold..
__________________
Mail Me
15114 3dmark2001
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8KHA+ and T-Bred 2100 - volt mod cpu Randell EPoX MotherBoards 0 5th April, 2003 12:23 AM
Volt mod on 8KHA+ and ram ?? Lionfish EPoX MotherBoards 14 25th August, 2002 04:38 PM
EPOX 8KHA+, Leadtek A250 ULTRA 3.3 volt low! LORD EPoX MotherBoards 8 17th May, 2002 01:46 PM
Volt Modding 8KHA & XP... Shelton EPoX MotherBoards 3 7th December, 2001 08:30 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0