AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2003, 11:17 PM
Blackmyst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 268

(8RDA3+) Which PSU

Hi, me again!

I'm convinced my Enermax 550w PSU is holding me back. It's brand new and works fine, but MBM and BIOS often reads my 12v rail at 11.5ish. I know the best way to check is with a multi-meter, but I don't have one unfortunately.

On the 8RDA+, the 5v rail was the most important one, and the 12v rail is the most important for the 8RDA3+. The Enermax claims 36a to each rail. Is this good?

I was thinking of replacing it with an Antec Truecontrol 550w which claims 40a to the 5v rail, 24a to the 12v rail, and 32a to the 3,3v rail. The fact that I could adjust each rail with a pot is what attracted me to it, but do you think I'm best sticking to what I have already, or buying the Antec (or something else)?

Blackmyst
__________________

EPOX 8RDA3+ rev1.1, 3526 bios, vantec iceberg (nb), zalman gold (sb), heatsinks/fan (mosfets)
XP1800+ slk900 w/92mm vantec tornado, 11 x 215mhz, 1.85v
TWINMOS PC3200 ch-5 winbond, 2x256mb, dc-sync, 8,3,3,2.0, 2.63v
RADEON 9800 PRO 128mb, 380/680
WD RAPTORS 2x36gb, sata raid0
CHEIFTEC CASE enermax 550w
XP HOME sp1, nforce v3.13, catalyst v4.3
3DMARK2001se 18120


Last edited by Blackmyst; 27th August, 2003 at 11:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2003, 11:22 PM
Blackmyst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 268

And would the Antec help with my 8RDA3+ undervolting my CPU???

Sorry for the multi-post!

Blackmyst
__________________

EPOX 8RDA3+ rev1.1, 3526 bios, vantec iceberg (nb), zalman gold (sb), heatsinks/fan (mosfets)
XP1800+ slk900 w/92mm vantec tornado, 11 x 215mhz, 1.85v
TWINMOS PC3200 ch-5 winbond, 2x256mb, dc-sync, 8,3,3,2.0, 2.63v
RADEON 9800 PRO 128mb, 380/680
WD RAPTORS 2x36gb, sata raid0
CHEIFTEC CASE enermax 550w
XP HOME sp1, nforce v3.13, catalyst v4.3
3DMARK2001se 18120

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th August, 2003, 01:40 AM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

volts ..

Hi,

My 400w zalman also shows a line voltage of 11.612 on the 12volt.. the others are stable.....
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th August, 2003, 02:23 AM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

Blackmyst, If you can afford the Antec True Control you should get it. I bought mine from xCaliberPC.com . It was delivered on time and in perfect condition and about $5 less than anywhere. Wherever you want to buy from at the least see what this place was told about the vendor.
Bob
ps. I see that you are from the U.K.--- on second thought you might want to shop local.
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah

Last edited by timbob2469; 28th August, 2003 at 02:35 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th August, 2003, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Latvia
Posts: 85

I've also thought about bying an Antec True Power PSU but after reading this post at amdforums.com, it seems that a better choice would indeed be the True Control.

Anyway, right now I'm running on a 300W generic psu which shows 12V rail around 11.86 - 11.92 (Motherboard Monitor), and is rated only to have 12A on the 12V line. It may sound weird that my system still runs without PSU related crashes even if overclocked (at least I think so) but so far so good...
__________________

Epox 8RDA3+ v1.1, 3827 bios, 1.6v Vdd, stock cooling on nb, sb
XP Barton 2500+ @ 200x11 = 2200 mhz, 1.725v Vcore
2x256 Mushkin pc3500 Black Level1 @ dc sync, 2-2-3-8, 2.63 Vdimm
Sapphire Radeon 9600 Pro @ stock
WDC HDD 80 gig, 7200rpm, 8 mb cache
WDC HDD 20 gig, 7200rpm, 2 mb cache
300 W noname psu & case one side open, no other cooling
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8rda3+ modbios on 8rda3? plz help! Gordon Deluxe EPoX MotherBoards 0 31st March, 2006 06:46 PM
Um...8RDA3+? Logan EPoX MotherBoards 5 7th September, 2004 05:36 PM
Need help with 8rda3+ please. dod EPoX MotherBoards 26 7th July, 2003 09:58 AM
Nothing over 1.8v with 8rda3+ Dirty_Punk EPoX MotherBoards 13 4th July, 2003 05:05 PM
8RDA3+ set up? LouTheBlueGuru EPoX MotherBoards 4 25th June, 2003 09:21 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0