AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 01:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 51

Aha, thanx for that! Almost went and ordered one, I was looking at RS components for that one - will have another look in a sec.

I've already contact Hirschmann this morning - no reply as yet.

But I'll have a bit more of a look - might just do alot of soldering direct on the chip if I can't find one!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 02:35 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaiser Soze
Aha, thanx for that! Almost went and ordered one, I was looking at RS components for that one - will have another look in a sec.

Kaiser, if you don't get a timely reply from Hirschmann, consider placing an order with Farnell Electronics. Doublecheck the order code though, but I think I picked the right one.

The Hirschmann 14way SOIC clip has the Farnell order code of 517100, and costs £13.53 Ex VAT and delivery. Farnell can be found at http://uk1.farnell.com/Welcome/welco...gistered.jhtml

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 03:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 51

Cheers Aidan, is it free delivery (think it says that on the about page)?

edit\ Hirschmann just got back to be quoting Farnell
__________________

Last edited by Kaiser Soze; 14th January, 2002 at 03:37 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 04:22 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaiser Soze
Cheers Aidan, is it free delivery (think it says that on the about page)?
Farnell are one of the better electronics/test tool suppliers in the UK...

It would appear to be free delivery too.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 09:40 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by AidanII


Farnell are one of the better electronics/test tool suppliers in the UK...

It would appear to be free delivery too.

AidanII
I use Farnell Components for a great deal of my consumables from Dow Corning 340 Silicon Grease through to Ceramics and heat shrink - best company there is - make Maplin look like Tandy
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2002, 12:19 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Id normally use RS as my dad has a trade account but I often find that Farnell stock what I want when RS dont.

The orders I have placed have arrived promptly and in good condition (maplins have broken things on several occations)

I allso give them a high recomendation.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2002, 10:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 92

Sorry guys, I should have said I got mine from Farnell here in Australia. They are a bit more expensive in general, but they do keep a good range. I also use RS when they have stuff in stock as I can pick up from them.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2002, 08:55 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by Nico67
Racerx

I got mine from Farnell electronics here in Australia, and they are an international company Any good major electronics component supplier should have them or something similar.

Heres the Link to Hirschmann in the UK.

http://www.hirschmann.co.uk/
You Did !!!!
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2002, 12:35 AM
engineer's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 27

nico67:
3.3v line stable at 3.37v
I am running the bios you mentioned.
One thing to note um it takes several boot attempts before i can get all the way into windows, sometimes it stops at post sometimes at scsi card bios and sometimes dies when loading winxp. Almost like some part needs to warm up!
i know there is more demand o nthe supply at cold boot time but cant help thinking its something else .

ps i used to live in VIC till i moved to the states but i do get hokme every few years or so
__________________
Epox 8ka3 rev 1.1 2508 bios

hybrid Vapochill cooled cpu
water cooled video and mobo

1 x corsair 512meg pc2700 cas2

adaptec u160 dual scsi card

2 x quantum 18g 10k ultra 160 h/d
externally mounted

visiontek gf4 ti4600(330mhz -695)
water cooled gpu + ram sinks

sb audegy soundcard

3com 3c905tx 10/100 nic

Samsung 170t digital lcd display @1024x1280

Enermax 450w +5v rail modified
180w sep supply to run drives
winshaft xp pro

current overclock
xp1900+@1.8g 9 x 205
vcore 2.05v vdimm 2.8v
3dmarks2001 stock settings 10949
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2002, 12:53 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by engineer
nico67:
3.3v line stable at 3.37v
I am running the bios you mentioned.
One thing to note um it takes several boot attempts before i can get all the way into windows, sometimes it stops at post sometimes at scsi card bios and sometimes dies when loading winxp. Almost like some part needs to warm up!
i know there is more demand o nthe supply at cold boot time but cant help thinking its something else .

ps i used to live in VIC till i moved to the states but i do get hokme every few years or so
I had the exact same thing.
My PC wouldnt boot from cold when overclocked.
I had to restart it then overclock once it was warm.
Once I replaced My PSU with a 400watt Sparkle the problem disapeared totaly.

Have you tried running without your PCI devices ?
Or is that just not practical ?
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2002, 10:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 51

Quick question, rather than soldering resistors direct to the hirshman clip, is there much loss if I solder on longish (say 5cm) wires to a pcb board.

I think it should be fine, but wanted to check that its not overlysensitive to this.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2002, 11:00 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaiser Soze
Quick question, rather than soldering resistors direct to the hirshman clip, is there much loss if I solder on longish (say 5cm) wires to a pcb board.

I think it should be fine, but wanted to check that its not overlysensitive to this.
The problem is that you're dealing with the resistors that set the output voltage. Any noise from these resistors will also cause noise in the output from the regulator. Generally, it's better to keep them as close to the regulator as possible.

If you do add the extra cables, you'll still get the expected voltage, but it might not be quite so clean.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2002, 11:02 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
I use Farnell Components for a great deal of my consumables from Dow Corning 340 Silicon Grease through to Ceramics and heat shrink - best company there is - make Maplin look like Tandy
A number of years ago Maplin was reasonable. Now they're not much better than most of the electrical outlets on the high street. Shame, but that's life. Farnell are pretty good, given the small quantities I've ordered in the past!

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2002, 11:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 92

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaiser Soze
Quick question, rather than soldering resistors direct to the hirshman clip, is there much loss if I solder on longish (say 5cm) wires to a pcb board.

I think it should be fine, but wanted to check that its not overlysensitive to this.
I crimped push on connectors straight onto the resistor legs (lightly soldered for good measure), they slide onto the clip terminals. Tons of heatshrink, then solder all the resistor together and a short lead down to an earth ring that is now under a screw to the motherboard mount.

Everybody seems to suggest short is better when it comes to vmods.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2002, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 51

Okay, I was going to take the wires to a small pcb board and attach things there, thought it may help avoid legs of resistors touching, but I prob won't bother then and get some shrouding for the legs instead then.

Aidan - when you say it may not be as "clean", does this mean it may jump around a bit around the selected voltage?

Cheers guyz!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2002, 01:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 51

Need some quick help on componenets, just want to check some things, as I want to order it asap, so it gets here tomorrow.

Whats the difference between LIN and LOG 470K pots - which one shold I get (Lin=order number 350126 and is 0.4W, LOG=order number 350229 and is 0.2W).

What 50K pot - is order number 549927 okay?

Also I can't seem to locate any 80K resistors.

Thanks for any help.

All the order numbers are from farnell: http://uk1.farnell.com/Welcome/welco...gistered.jhtml
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2002, 01:54 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaiser Soze
Aidan - when you say it may not be as "clean", does this mean it may jump around a bit around the selected voltage?
Pretty much. Each bit of wire you add to the circuit is capable of acting as an antenna for electrical noise. The internals of a computer are not known for being electrically quiet. A set of little antennas in an electrically noisy environment doesn't bode well for a clean smooth voltage. In terms of "jumping" around, you wouldn't be able to detect it without the right equipment. None of the monitoring chips are even close enough to pick this up!

Basically, those wires could pick up interference from other parts in the system, and your mod could end up injecting that interference into the voltage supplied by the regulator. When you're overclocking components they have less tolerance to noise. It's possible to do the mod in such a way that machine would be less stable after the mod than before because of all that extra noise!

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2002, 09:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 92

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaiser Soze
Need some quick help on componenets, just want to check some things, as I want to order it asap, so it gets here tomorrow.

Whats the difference between LIN and LOG 470K pots - which one shold I get (Lin=order number 350126 and is 0.4W, LOG=order number 350229 and is 0.2W).

What 50K pot - is order number 549927 okay?

Also I can't seem to locate any 80K resistors.

Thanks for any help.

All the order numbers are from farnell: http://uk1.farnell.com/Welcome/welco...gistered.jhtml
Log or lin just determines how quickly the resistance changes, but go for a 1/4 watt 6mm multiturn cermet pot.

As far as the resistors, I used the following items

3 x 340972
1 x 340510 (just used 1/3 of 75k, didn't bother with a pot)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2002, 10:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 51

Cheers Nico and Aidan, I will be ordering and trying out this alternative voltmod soon
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very dissapointing FPS in Counter Strike, please help Got EpOx GAMES! OH YEAH! 12 22nd July, 2005 04:43 AM
Better results warp1 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 25th January, 2004 12:44 AM
vdd mod my 8rda, dissapointing oc. amd2400user EPoX MotherBoards 4 21st July, 2003 12:44 PM
My new oc results... :) athlonboi AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 6th February, 2003 11:27 AM
8RDA+, XP2400+, OC results...with similar system, whats your results? Powerhouse EPoX MotherBoards 7 6th February, 2003 01:37 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0