AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2002, 09:33 PM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Lightbulb NEWER & FINAL 8khi1c18 Bios for 8KHA+ Posted on EPOX JAPAN

NEWER & FINAL 8khi1c18 Bios for 8KHA+ Posted on EPOX JAPAN. Follow this thread, scroll dwon to the Bios Topics:
http://www.amdmb.com/vb/showthread.p...852#post532338

The previous leaked 8khi1c18 has different CRC and does not fix this issue:
CDROM / DVDROM installed on IDE 2 detected as Multiword UDMA 2 (Slower) instead of UDMA 2 (Faster)


Read more discussions here:
http://www.amdmb.com/vb/showthread.p...008#post599169
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2002, 09:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

I dwld it yesterday from Epox Japan an seems to work just fine. The memory is a little relaxed than the 8khal00 bios but works fine.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2002, 09:49 PM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Although you can always download Epox 8KHA+ on the first page of the Config Guide here http://www.amdmb.com/vb/showthread.p...6&pagenumber=1

this is the EPOX Japan Bios Support site:
http://www.mustardseed.co.jp/seihin/...u/ep-8kha+.htm
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2002, 09:55 PM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Quote:
Originally posted by WinXP
I dwld it yesterday from Epox Japan an seems to work just fine. The memory is a little relaxed than the 8khal00 bios but works fine.
8khi1c18 ---> Download from Epox Japan Directly

Date: 18 December 2001 (12/18/2001)
Fixes & Changes:
1. Resolves warm reset at FSB above 150 MHz
2. CPU Clock (FSB) has range from 133 to 200
3. AGP Aperture default is set to 128MB
4. It corrects the point where the DVD/CD-ROM which is connected to the IDE 2 with Windows XP is recognized as Multiword DMA Mode 2
5. Works with memory setting set "By SPD" and/or CAS 2.5 Now

NOTE: The early leaked 8khi1c18 bios (sent to me by Erik Messinger nickname ErikaeanLogic) DOES NOT fix Multiword DMA Mode 2 issue & is TOTALLY DIFFERENT from this newer one from EPOX JAPAN. THANKS TO grenet_ghost WHO SPOTED THIS FIRST. READ THIS DISCUSSIONS: http://www.amdmb.com/vb/showthread.p...687#post598965
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 12:22 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

This is as yet not an official BIOS release from EPoX HQ, no ECN is raised and this BIOS is NOT OFFICIAL.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................

Last edited by EPoX Tech; 4th January, 2002 at 01:31 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 04:10 PM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
This is as yet not an official BIOS release from EPoX HQ, no ECN is raised and this BIOS is NOT OFFICIAL.
Epox Tech,
Do you mean that the MustardSeed Japan is not part of Epox ? And may I ask you what do you mean by "no ECN is raised" ?

If you say Epox HQ, that means Epox Taiwan right ? Because Epox is a Taiwanese company. EPOX USA is considered a branch.

Well if the definition is that, I have a big question to ask you then:
- If you go to EPOX 8KHA+ bios supports from EPOX HQ (which means EPOX Taiwan) here: http://www.epox.com.tw/default.asp?n...È%2001:13:45

The latest OFFICIAL bios posted on Epox Taiwan is 8KHI1A17.bin dated 10/17/2001

- Similarly, If you go to EPOX 8KHA+ bios supports from EPOX USA here:
http://www.epox.com/html/english/sup.../bios/8khi.htm

The latest OFFICIAL bios posted on EPOX USA is 8KHI1B02 dated 11/02/2001 ---> this is much newer than bios 8KHI1A17 dated 10/17/2001 posted on EPOX HQ (TAIWAN) web.

So, by your definition for the MustardSeed Japan case who posted latest bios 8KHI1C18 dated 12/18/2001, then the bios 8KHI1B02 posted by Epox USA but NOT POSTED BY EPOX TAIWAN, is considered NOT OFFICIAL as well, because it is not posted by EPOX HQ, right ???

Please answer on this matter, Epox Tech and why is the Epox HQ - Taiwan is always late in updating a new bios ??? Thanks
__________________

Last edited by Mushkin Rules; 4th January, 2002 at 04:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 04:22 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Mushkin Rules

Epox Tech,
Do you mean that the MustardSeed Japan is not part of Epox ? And may I ask you what do you mean by "no ECN is raised" ?

If you say Epox HQ, that means Epox Taiwan right ? Because Epox is a Taiwanese company. EPOX USA is considered a branch.

Well if the definition is that, I have a big question to ask you then:
- If you go to EPOX 8KHA+ bios supports from EPOX HQ (which means EPOX Taiwan) here: http://www.epox.com.tw/default.asp?n...È%2001:13:45

The latest OFFICIAL bios posted on Epox Taiwan is 8KHI1A17.bin dated 10/17/2001

- Similarly, If you go to EPOX 8KHA+ bios supports from EPOX USA here:
http://www.epox.com/html/english/sup.../bios/8khi.htm

The latest OFFICIAL bios posted on EPOX USA is 8KHI1B02 dated 11/02/2001 ---> this is much newer than bios 8KHI1A17 dated 10/17/2001 posted on EPOX HQ (TAIWAN) web.

So, by your definition for the MustardSeed Japan case who posted latest bios 8KHI1C18 dated 12/18/2001, then the bios 8KHI1B02 posted by Epox USA but NOT POSTED BY EPOX TAIWAN, is considered NOT OFFICIAL as well, because it is not posted by EPOX HQ, right ???

Please answer on this matter. Thanks
Plainly -

8KHI1B02 is official BIOS with official Engineering Change Notice raised
8KHI1A17 is official BIOS with official Engineering Change Notice raised
8KHI1C18 has no Engineering Change Notice raised and is not official BIOS release.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 04:30 PM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech


Plainly -

8KHI1B02 is official BIOS with official Engineering Change Notice raised
8KHI1A17 is official BIOS with official Engineering Change Notice raised
8KHI1C18 has no Engineering Change Notice raised and is not official BIOS release.
Thanks, but you have not answered the main questions and sorry for my ignorance, but I am very curious here Epox Tech. My plain questions are:

1) If you say Epox HQ, that means Epox Taiwan right ? Because Epox is a Taiwanese company. EPOX USA is considered a branch. So, where's EPOX HQ ?

2) MustardSeed Japan is not part of Epox ? Who is MustardSeed Japan ?

3) Why is the Epox HQ - Taiwan is always late in updating a new bios ?

4) Epox has an OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) called Enmic which is popular in German and is sold in Europe (German, UK, Poland). The Epox 8KHA+ is exactly the same as Enmic 8TCX2+. The bios supports fro Enmic is here at: http://www.nmc-pe.com/www/uk/index2.htm

The latest bios for Enmic 8TCX2+ is bios 8tc202211 dated 11/02/2001 and has the same Engineering Change Notice raised
as bios 8khi1b02 for Epox 8KHA+. Can one use this bios interchangeably ??
__________________

Last edited by Mushkin Rules; 4th January, 2002 at 04:37 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 04:34 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

1. EPoX HQ is Taiwan.
2. Mustard Seed Japan is an official agent for resale of EPoX product in Japan to support Japanese customers
3. Any branch office can choose which BIOS they publish on their website. Since your branch office is not Taiwan or Japan I suspect - this does not affect you anyway.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 04:46 PM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Thanks a lot Epox Tech for your quick answer. I have another question (sorry to ask you a lot):

* Epox has an OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) called Enmic which is popular in German and is sold in Europe (German, UK, Poland). The Epox 8KHA+ is exactly the same as Enmic 8TCX2+. The bios supports from Enmic is here at: http://www.nmc-pe.com/www/uk/index2.htm

The latest bios for Enmic 8TCX2+ is bios 8tc202211 dated 11/02/2001 and has the same Engineering Change Notice raised
as bios 8khi1b02 for Epox 8KHA+. Can one use this bios interchangeably ??

This is the Enmic 8TCX2+ that is 100% exactly the same as Epox 8KHA+

ENMIC 8TCX2+

http://www.nmc-pe.com/www/produkte/b...tcx2%2Bbig.jpg

http://www.threecom.de/artikel/8tcx2%2B/pics/8tcx2+.jpg

http://www.threecom.de/artikel/8tcx2...eferumfang.jpg
__________________

Last edited by Mushkin Rules; 5th January, 2002 at 04:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 04:49 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

using that argument, what would you make of the european/british epox websites... no bios downloads at all! i would guess its just USA is biggest market so the website is kept more up to date. and most people would find out to go there for latest official bios pretty quick.

remember with stuff like this EPoX tech has GOT to point out its not an official bios. cos if one of us emailed epox saying one of there staff said "do this" and blew up their computer, he would get in a hell of a lot of trouble.

im using the 30/11/01 bios, i love it no problems at all, and its a beta, which is all the more impressive!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 04:52 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Due to the ID lock string (which ID's the parent board the BIOS is residing in) in the BIOS you may get an error message trying to flash the Enmic BIOS onto an EPoX planar - although the boards fundamentally are the same. A different effect may be experienced if just plainly swapping the BIOS chip from one product to the other since no lock string violation would occur during a flash process.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 04:56 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

To cap -

If you tried to flash the Enmic board with the EPoX BIOS you may be told that you are trying to flash the wrong type of motherboard. However if you just swapped over the BIOS chips it may work.

This for obvious reasons is not something we would encourage any end-user to experiment with.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 05:01 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Random Nonsense
using that argument, what would you make of the european/british epox websites... no bios downloads at all! i would guess its just USA is biggest market so the website is kept more up to date. and most people would find out to go there for latest official bios pretty quick.

remember with stuff like this EPoX tech has GOT to point out its not an official bios. cos if one of us emailed epox saying one of there staff said "do this" and blew up their computer, he would get in a hell of a lot of trouble.

im using the 30/11/01 bios, i love it no problems at all, and its a beta, which is all the more impressive!
EPoX UK and EPoX Europe have no BIOS or downloads for the simple reason that at present it is more prudent to host them all in one specific place for English speaking nations - this is explained at This URL for the UK site and at this URL for the English speaking section of the European site .

Similarly other nations with differing languages handle their own web-site commitments due to their increased ability to use their own languages. I trust that this clears up any confusion.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 05:06 PM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
Due to the ID lock string (which ID's the parent board the BIOS is residing in) in the BIOS you may get an error message trying to flash the Enmic BIOS onto an EPoX planar - although the boards fundamentally are the same. A different effect may be experienced if just plainly swapping the BIOS chip from one product to the other since no lock string violation would occur during a flash process.
Thanks Epox Tech, you're the best

Random Nonsense, your argument regarding
1) USA is biggest market so the website is kept more up to date and most people would find out to go there for latest official bios pretty quick
2) remember with stuff like this EPoX tech has GOT to point out its not an official bios. cos if one of us emailed epox saying one of there staff said "do this" and blew up their computer, he would get in a hell of a lot of trouble.

is 100% makes sense. As FYI, at first, users do not believe that bios 8khal00 dated 11/30/2001, the one you mention to be the best, is not for 8KHA+ but rather it's for the upcoming Epox 8KHAL mobo. And up till now, some people still do not believe it. Anyway, if you use that bios 8khal00 (11/30/2001), you have to do this:

ALTERNATIVE I
-----------------------
1. Go to bios menu and go to Advanced Chipset Features, DRAM Clock/Drive Control
2. In DRAM CLOCK set to 133
3. In DRAM Timing if you select this:
-- By SPD:
* Only can overclock to FSB 133 - 149.
* Between FSB 150 and 159 system will hang with continuing short beep. You have to Clear CMOS
* At FSB 160 and above DRAM Timing will be times 3/4 (0.75). Upon boot, notice that the true value of DRAM Clock and DDR will be treated as PC1600

-- Manual:
* CAS 2.5 --> system will hang with continous short beep
* CAS 2 --> System will run normally. Now how high FSB you can go depends on the quality of your DDR. I have tried up
to FSB 167 Manual CAS 2, and the 3/4 DRAM Divider Does NOT Kickin'

So, if you choose 133 and by SPD in DRAM Timing, you can overclock only up to FSB 149 or just go straight to FSB 160. Don't forget to lower the multiplier and raise VCore & VDIMM proportionately. Do not Choose by Manual CAS 2.5 !!!

ALTERNATIVE II
------------------------
1. Go to bios menu and go to Advanced Chipset Features, DRAM Clock/Drive Control
2. In DRAM CLOCK set to 100 --> This will enable the 3/4 DRAM Divider Automatically
3. In DRAM Timing if you select "By SPD" OR "Manual" you must set SDRAM Cycle to 2. Then you can actually set CPU Clock in the Frequency/Voltage Control whatever value you want, including 150 to 159 WITHOUT hang or freeze. The 3/4 DRAM Divider is kickin'

If you are using this bios 8khal00, at any time do not set SDRAM Cycle to 2.5 cause it will hang. This bios does not like setting SDRAM Cycle = 2.5. It will only work for SDRAM Cycle = 2.

I hope Epox will fix this in the new bios updates and it is fixed by the latest bios 8khi1c18. Many users with not too good DDR cannot run with bios 8khal00 because they set the memory by SPD at CAS 2.5 and it will hang and you have to clear CMOS. With bios 8khi1c18, you can set the memory by SPD and at CAS 2.5

Thanks again Epox Tech
__________________

Last edited by Mushkin Rules; 4th January, 2002 at 05:17 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 05:11 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Mushkin Rules

Thanks Epox Tech, you're the best

Random Nonsense, your argument regarding
1) USA is biggest market so the website is kept more up to date and most people would find out to go there for latest official bios pretty quick
2) remember with stuff like this EPoX tech has GOT to point out its not an official bios. cos if one of us emailed epox saying one of there staff said "do this" and blew up their computer, he would get in a hell of a lot of trouble.

is 100% makes sense

Thanks again Epox Tech
Cool - and keep up the good work Mushkin Rules - you have been an inspiration to many confused end-users toi whom IRQ sharing and appropriate power supply useage may previously have been a little daunting.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 05:27 PM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
Cool - and keep up the good work Mushkin Rules - you have been an inspiration to many confused end-users toi whom IRQ sharing and appropriate power supply useage may previously have been a little daunting.
Again, You're the best Epox Tech. Thanks again, you have quenched my curiosity. Epox has the best supports and its products are among the excellent ones. 8KHA+ and 8K7A are one of a few excellent products to be mentioned here, and I am waiting for the new Epox 8KHA2 and 8KHA3 with onboard Raid and enhanced overclocking features

I own a running Iwill KK266-R and Asus A7V133. I have Abit KT7A Raid Rev 1.0 which is not a good overclocker board (this one is a Joker board), and is in the box right now. I have to admit that my Epox 8KHA+ is the best & fastest reliable system I have right now, and it's my main system

Have a nice weekend there

UPDATES: BIOS 8khi1c18
I have checked it with WPCREDIT Registry address 64 hex, bits 0, 0 on my setup which means No Interleave. I am running at 160 x 10 on TBird 1.4GHz with 2x256 MB Crucial PC2100 and 1x256 MB Corsair XMS2400 All with Thermaltake blue Heat Spreaders right now.

I tried to set the registry back to enable the 4 Way Interleave with WPCREDIT, and it's working again now. Follow this link:
http://www.amdmb.com/vb/showthread.p...432#post603568
__________________

Last edited by Mushkin Rules; 4th January, 2002 at 05:51 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 06:29 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

8KHAL bios filenames begin 8khl such as 8khl1b20.bin where as the BETA file you refer to begins 8KHAL00.bin - this is not an 8KHAL board binary file.

Many assumptions have been made due to the lack of website availability (no requirement as yet) of any upgraded BIOS binaries for the 8KHAL.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9NDA3J 5401 Bios Posted bonzer EPoX MotherBoards 3 15th April, 2005 01:07 PM
BSODs with any BIOS newer than 3305 (8RDA+) Photon EPoX MotherBoards 5 1st May, 2003 02:29 PM
ET posted new BETA BIOS for 8k3a+! nfrenay EPoX MotherBoards 35 1st February, 2003 11:42 PM
Bios 8khi1c18 OFFICIAL = Slower Memory Cole EPoX MotherBoards 3 6th January, 2002 09:03 PM
How is the Final BIOS from Epox Japan doing ? cynics EPoX MotherBoards 4 4th January, 2002 04:42 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0