AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2002, 11:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 7

Epox Tech need help badly

hi,
im an owner of 3 epox boards. Love em all which is why i keep buying them. anyway my problem is with the 8kha+ and the AIW Radeon 8500dv. The firewire just won't work. I emailed epox support and i have a thread over at AMDMB.com about the problem.
The reason i am thinking it is a epox problem is that an article found by another member came across the same problem with the same motherboard.
i am actually hoping its an epox problem, cause the support has been great and i would rather rely on you guys than ATI.
well here is the thread in the AMDMB.com forum with the link for the article as well.
http://www.amdmb.com/vb/showthread.p...threadid=88297

thanks again guys and i hope you can help


out
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2002, 02:32 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Please clear up (without linking 3rd parties forums) the firewire device that is causing this issue.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th January, 2002, 08:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 7

i have an ATI all in wonder radeon 8500dv in which the capture does not work. I tried multiple different things like drivers clean installs, etc.
first install (winxp clean) capture lasts 20-30 sec (major artifacting) then stops. At this point i can still control the camcorder but now i get no video (not until a restart). If i use my audigy firewire, everything works perfectly.
I then tryied disableing ACPI and assigning irq's but with the same result. I tried all the lastest drivers, ATI, Via etc..... no luck.
I then reinstalled now i get about 5 sec worth, still artifacting. That was with nothing installed but the radeon, No sound card no nic. I also used the ATI drivers on the cd and the Via drivers from XP.
I also tried lowering agp in bios, and all other AGP settings. no luck. There is one other guy having the same problem as me on .rage3d.com but he has a turtle beach s/c.
I also noticed a dip switch box on the card. 1 dip is set to on and one to off. i tried with the both in the on position still no good.

the article from extremetech.com states which is exactly the same problem im having:
"Here we hit another snag with our Via KT-266A-based Epox 8KHA+ testbed motherboard. We were able to have our Sony DVR-PC5 digital camcorder be recognized by Windows XP, and we could drive the camera's transport controls (play/pause/rewind/etc.), but we could not receive an incoming video or audio stream coming from the camera. Apparently ATI's Agere 1394 PHY/Link chip and the Epox motherboard's BIOS just couldn't get along. To verify that ATI's overlay driver wasn't broken, we installed a second FireWire card that uses TI's PHY/link chip, and it worked swimmingly. We did however have success doing digital captures on the upcoming HP Pavilion that will use the AIW DV."
i know you don't like third party articles, but in case you want to read it, the direct link is here:
http://www.extremetech.com/print_art...3D19635,00.asp

and again thanks for any assistance. if there is any info i am leaving out please ask, i would really like to get this fixed.



8KHA+ (U=) 11/30
XP1600+
256 Mushkin Hi-Perf 222
AIW Radeon 8500DV
Audigy Platinum
Neatgear 310tx
Asus 8x DVD
Yamaha 20x10x40 CDRW
Lian-Li PC60-USB
Antec 400w PP412X
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th January, 2002, 09:00 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I can read the 3rd party articles now I'm using a modem rather than my mobile phone's IR connection on my PDA !!

This I will try to replicate in some way in the office when I get a chance tomorrow.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2002, 02:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 7

any new news??

(more of a bump)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2002, 01:09 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

No problem with Video capture from a TEAC vid-storm through a SB Audigy card's Firewire with this mainboard.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2002, 03:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Winchester
Posts: 22
Send a message via ICQ to KAIN Send a message via MSN to KAIN

Quote:
Originally posted by pitt1717
If i use my audigy firewire, everything works perfectly.
EPoX Tech, I think he found the same result as you on that test.

I think he wanted to get it working through his Radeon though...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2002, 04:24 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by KAIN


EPoX Tech, I think he found the same result as you on that test.

I think he wanted to get it working through his Radeon though...
Radeon AIW is a piece of equipment we don't have here to test unfortunatley.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2002, 05:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 3

is there any possibility of you getting this video card so it can be tested? this video card was a big investment and there is no reason why it shouldnt work together with the motherboard...hopefully its just a software issue...you would really make a whole bunch of people very happy if you could get this up and running...

thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When it's this badly done, it's almost cute! Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 9 19th January, 2006 04:12 AM
Epox Tech??, Beta Bios for Epox 8KDA3J NeWJoe1 EPoX MotherBoards 1 12th June, 2004 05:06 AM
Epox 8kha+ Boot problem Epox tech please help csonkaa EPoX MotherBoards 1 26th November, 2003 09:32 AM
Need Some Assistance Badly !!!! captkirk EPoX MotherBoards 8 7th January, 2003 03:49 PM
EPoX Tech, some really tech info... MOSFETS... TodB EPoX MotherBoards 2 12th May, 2002 08:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0