AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2003, 11:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 15

Question Epox newbie:8RDA+ v2.x and memory errors

Hi folks.
My first Epox board (Asus/Abit in the past) and I'm having problems . I'm getting errors/reboots with apps (explorer, ie, etc) in a fresh install of Windows XP Pro Sr1 and 3DMark 2001SE will complete sometimes or will crash to desktop. No bad error codes on 8rda+ - just FF.

Here's my spec

Epox 8RDA+ v2.x
Bios 8/27/03, "optimal settings"
AMD Barton 2500+ (AQZFA 0341MPM ) running at 11x166
Twinmos PC3200 (CL2.5), 512mb stick (M2G9J16A-TT) DDR400
3x Maxtor ATA133 80gig drives
Leadtek Ti4600
Adaptec 2940 (pci slot 5)
CDRW
scsi DVD-rom
scsi HDD
400w psu
NForce 3.13's
SW ide drivers
No conflicts etc in Windows

USDM 1.09.1 numbers:
Vdd: 1.648
Vcore:1.712
Vdim: 2.768
+5: 4.99
+12: 12.524
-12: 12.281
-5:-5.300
Vbat: 3.120
cpu: 35 deg C (39deg C the hottest I've seen it getting)


Everything apart from the board, processor and memory had been retained from previous systerm (rock solid stable KT7a).
Had a good read through these forums before I ordered the board and the Twinmos. The memory was the hardest decision as so many conflicting view of Twinmos .
Tried putting the memory in different slots - no difference
Tried Auto precharge enable/disable - no difference
Didn't want to change Vdimm as other posters in other threads here had mentioned 2.76 being fine.

Memtest86 has errors (approx 140 on each pass) with Test 6.

Any suggestions? Anything obvious I've missed? RMA the memory? Any preferred memory as alternative?


Cheers
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2003, 12:09 AM
TonyCarr's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: SouthEastern , USA
Posts: 122

Maybe the video card and memory needs a little more power ? especially when running benchmark apps . That memory you have loves power .

Good Luck .
__________________
8RDA+ rev 2.1 @ 11 X 200fsb w/XPM 2500B IQYHA 0348SPMW @ 1.55Vcore , Hyper X DDR400 2 X 256M dc 6-3-3-2 , ATI 9600 , ThermalRight ALX-800 w/ Panaflo U , Antec SL-450 , winXP sp2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2003, 01:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Peru, Illinois
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to golfer49

Try EXPERT setting, memory timings of 11-3-3 at cas 2.5 with 2.75 volts or so on the memory...........chipset voltage Vdd at 1.8 volts, and retest.
__________________
Golf is a good walk spoiled! ( Mark Twain )

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 Barton 2500 AQZFA0340SPMW 11 x 214
w/SLK900A & 92 mm fan (38 deg C)
2 x WD400JD---Gainward Ti4200 8 X AGP
Twinmos PC3200 w/ Winbond chips 2 X 256
600 watt dual fan psu

Abit NF7-S rev 2.0 XP1700DLT3C 10 x 225
SK7 with 80mm smartfan ( 37 deg C )
Gainward FX5200 128 Mb DDR
2 x 40 Gb Maxtor ATA 133 drives
Buffalo PC3200 2 x 256 CH5 chips
650 watt dual fan power supply

WinXP Pro, SP1, nVidia 3.13 on both
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2003, 02:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 15

Thanks for the suggestions folks -I'll give them a try later today.

Cheers
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2003, 08:38 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Welcome to AOA nano! Let us know how things work out!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2003, 10:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 15

Thanks Daniel - nice place you have here


Results in...

Trying Golfer49's suggestions first with the "Expert , 11-3-3 cas2.5 " from the existing "Optimal, 7-3-3 Cas2.5" (and as per Epox's faq on pc3200 stability), Vdimm left at 2.768, and Vdd bumped up to from 1.6 to 1.8, I still get 120+ errors in "Test 6" of Memtest86

I tried upping Vdimm to 2.9 with above settings but still errors (525 of them!) in Test 6.

Trying a variation on Tony's idea, I tried unplugging all the other drives so that only the board, Ti4600 and FDD are pulling power with the above settings but still get errors (99) in Test 6 . I could swap the 4600 with a gf2 but get the feeling still gonna get the same results.

I read the notes on memtest86 (double dutch to me ) but does "Test 6 [Modulo 20, ones and zeros,cached]" point the finger towards the dimm? I only get errors in Test 6. Again no error codes on the mobo. Unfortunately haven't got access to anyone else's memory to try swapping.

Any other ideas? If none, does anyone have any recommendations for single stick 512meg DDR400 pc3200 for this board which available in the UK?

Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2003, 12:06 AM
TonyCarr's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: SouthEastern , USA
Posts: 122

Many memory interface issues have been resolved with bios updates , I would try to flash to the latest 10/17/2003 , I believe .

Good Luck .
__________________
8RDA+ rev 2.1 @ 11 X 200fsb w/XPM 2500B IQYHA 0348SPMW @ 1.55Vcore , Hyper X DDR400 2 X 256M dc 6-3-3-2 , ATI 9600 , ThermalRight ALX-800 w/ Panaflo U , Antec SL-450 , winXP sp2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2003, 01:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 15

Unfortunately updating the bios to the 10/17/03 made no difference - still plenty of errors in Test 6
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2003, 09:26 AM
Karaya's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 29

I have somewhat similar experiences with a pair of Twinmos PC3200 512 mb sticks on my 8rda+ v. 2.1.
It took a while to sort it out and in the end I discovered that the memory didn't like high voltage at all.
I had to lower vdimm to 2.6 to get memtest86 stable running att 200 MHz fsb, this was with the timings set to 11-3-2-2.5.
I'm currently running this configuration at 209 MHz fsb which seems to be the maximum safe speed.
__________________
A64 3200+ @2400 MHz (10x240), Thermalright XP-90, MSI Neo2 Platinum, 2 x TwinMos 3200 512 MB (10-3-2-2,5), Club3D Radeon 9800 NP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2003, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 15

Thanks Karaya - I'll give it a try later
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2003, 11:51 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Hiya there

Try to look at http://www.nvidia.com/content/nForce...patibility.asp

Also - try not to use memtest - not a very good indicative test of anything - something like Sysmark2002 is a good stability test
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2003, 02:21 PM
Jarrv's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 72
Send a message via ICQ to Jarrv Send a message via AIM to Jarrv Send a message via Yahoo to Jarrv

if its the same twinmos ive got, winbond ch-5 then its on the list.

try these settings?

CPu Interface:= optimal
Auto precharge:= disable

i thought vcore was 1.65 on the xp2500.
mine doesnt like anymore than 1.65v
__________________
\ Epox 8RDA+(v2.1)\ XP2500+@2100mhz\ 1gb Twinmos\ Ati 9700 pro\ 120gb maxtor 9+\ 16xDVD\ 17" LG 1710b\ 350w psu\ XP pro & xp office\ Slk 800 + 80mm fan\ 4x 80mm case fans\
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2003, 03:14 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
Hiya there

Try to look at http://www.nvidia.com/content/nForce...patibility.asp

Also - try not to use memtest - not a very good indicative test of anything - something like Sysmark2002 is a good stability test
Thanks ET I'LL remember Sysmark 2002... For sure! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2003, 04:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
Hiya there

Try to look at http://www.nvidia.com/content/nForce...patibility.asp

Also - try not to use memtest - not a very good indicative test of anything - something like Sysmark2002 is a good stability test

$200! Do they do a Lite version which is cheaper than the components it's supposed to be testing?

Never used Memtest before today but having Windows apps like 3DMark2001, IE and Explorer kick me to desktop on a new install along with random reboots and seeing it and Prime mentioned just about every other post thought I'd give it a go.

Thanks for the chart ET My Twinmos is there but there were a few recent threads in a UK overclocking forum discussing quite a few RMA's of Twinmos dimms. If none of the suggestions here works I'll RMA it and was going to try either:
Kingston Hyperx 512 400MHz DDR Non-ECC CL2 (2-3-2-6-1) DIMM
Kingston HYPERX 512MB 433MHz DDR Non-ECC CL2 (2-2-2-6-1) DIMM
Corsair (CMX512-3200C2PT) 512mb DDR400 Memory Module
or
Samsung 512 Pc3200 DDR400
All of which have contradicting "yea's" and "Nay's" from folks using Epox boards and some don't appear on the guide - oh me poor head...

Jarrv I've tried the Auto precharge to no obvious effect. As to the vcore that's what the board chose. I'll try it lower tonight

Thanks again.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2003, 04:58 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Samsung TCCC or TCC4 is ideal for the job - better than all of the other in terms of price/performance/stability in ratio it would seem.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2003, 05:12 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
...Also - try not to use memtest - not a very good indicative test of anything - something like Sysmark2002 is a good stability test
Really? I love memtest since it avoids booting into windows.. I like the idea of stability testing without risking data corruption of the os. Maybe not foolproof, but it has always been a good first step for me.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2003, 04:06 AM
TonyCarr's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: SouthEastern , USA
Posts: 122

Maybe a simular situation as the one in the link below ....Good Luck .



http://www.ocworkbench.com/2003/buff...0/pc3700-2.htm
__________________
8RDA+ rev 2.1 @ 11 X 200fsb w/XPM 2500B IQYHA 0348SPMW @ 1.55Vcore , Hyper X DDR400 2 X 256M dc 6-3-3-2 , ATI 9600 , ThermalRight ALX-800 w/ Panaflo U , Antec SL-450 , winXP sp2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2003, 04:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 15

Jarrv might be onto something here folks!

I tried Karaya's suggestion of the 11-3-2-2.5 timings with Vdimm at 2.6v. No difference - still 100+ errors in Test6 in 1 pass.

But...

Left these settings and dropped Vcore down from existing 1.712 (as auto selected by the bios, not me) to 1.65v as suggested by Jarrv and no errors in Test6!!! but got 5 errors in Test5.

Left Memtest running all the tests over 3 hours (11 passes) with all the drives connected only got 10 errors (including the 5 in the first pass) and all in Test5.

Not perfect but looks a lot better More tweakage needed by the looks of it.

Why did the bios's "8/27/03" and the "10/17/03 " auto select such a high voltage for the Barton?

I'll try and run some more configs tonight and tomorrow - I'll post my findings.

Thanks again folks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 4th December, 2003, 04:36 PM
Jarrv's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 72
Send a message via ICQ to Jarrv Send a message via AIM to Jarrv Send a message via Yahoo to Jarrv

mine overvolts quite a bit.

its set to 1.675 in the bios, but reads 1.72

use dimms 1 and 3 (the two closest),

then remove the cpu fsb jumper.

helps my system. (dont know why but it does)

__________________
\ Epox 8RDA+(v2.1)\ XP2500+@2100mhz\ 1gb Twinmos\ Ati 9700 pro\ 120gb maxtor 9+\ 16xDVD\ 17" LG 1710b\ 350w psu\ XP pro & xp office\ Slk 800 + 80mm fan\ 4x 80mm case fans\
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2003, 06:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 15

Another update.

Changing the memory timings and voltages haven't been able to get rid of the Test5 errors. I reseated the memory in Dimm 1 (the slot furthest from the processor) and got no errors in memtest! For two passes then 2 Test5 errors

Popped it into dimm2 and am now cacking myself while memtest is running pass3 beside me...




EDIT

Pass 3, 1 hour in and two errors in Test5.
488.3Mb and 503.8mb both "ffffffef" to "bfffffef"

Think I'm gonna cry...
__________________

Last edited by nano; 5th December, 2003 at 07:11 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Source SDK Memory Errors skool h8r OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 5th April, 2007 12:27 AM
9nda3+ and memory errors LBJGH EPoX MotherBoards 4 12th January, 2005 11:58 PM
Epox 8KDA3+ overclocking errors bonzaibuddy EPoX MotherBoards 6 9th August, 2004 09:55 AM
8rda3i - overclock memory errors kRaZeAzN EPoX MotherBoards 17 9th August, 2004 04:28 AM
EPOX 8RDA+ and memory problem WinterX EPoX MotherBoards 0 5th July, 2004 10:36 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0