AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2002, 09:58 AM
funky_81's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 12

Epox 8KHA+ and Vmod

After 1 week using vmod on my Epox 8KHA+, my mobo becomes strange. It always goes off when i tried to benchmark with 3DM2K1(although LED in keyboard still on) when i'm using vcore above 2v.
I've tried many things, start from updating to new bios, installing new via 4in1, or even run AGP 2x mode. But it seems doesn't change the situations.
Is this MY PSU fault or my epox fault? how to overcome this problem?
plz help me. thx.
__________________
P4 NW 1.6A @ 2.52GHz | Epox 4BDA | Mushkin PC2700 256 MB @ 210MHz Cas 2.5 6-3-3 | MSI GF2 GTS 32 MB 200/333 |Seagate 20 GB 5400 RPM | Acer CDRW 12/8/32 | DVD LiteOn 16x | WC + Dispenser

PCMark2002
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2002, 02:29 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Hi Funky_81,

Does your machine randomly reboot when running intensive applications such as 3DMark2001 ??? The problem with the Epox 8KHA+ Vcore mod is that the CS 5301 Voltage regulator chip has a built in overcurrent protection mechanism. Once you increase your VCore to 2.0 volts and over more current is drawn from the PSU resulting in the triggering of the overcurrent protection mechanism in the CS5301chip leading to random reboots. For instance I can only achieve an Vcore mod of 2.04volts with pin 2 modified anything higher and my machine reboots at random.


Paul.K
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2002, 04:32 PM
funky_81's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 12

Paul K

Quote:
Originally posted by Paul.K
Hi Funky_81,

Does your machine randomly reboot when running intensive applications such as 3DMark2001 ??? The problem with the Epox 8KHA+ Vcore mod is that the CS 5301 Voltage regulator chip has a built in overcurrent protection mechanism. Once you increase your VCore to 2.0 volts and over more current is drawn from the PSU resulting in the triggering of the overcurrent protection mechanism in the CS5301chip leading to random reboots. For instance I can only achieve an Vcore mod of 2.04volts with pin 2 modified anything higher and my machine reboots at random.


Paul.K
Do you know how to prevent this problem beside set the vcore around 2v?
__________________
P4 NW 1.6A @ 2.52GHz | Epox 4BDA | Mushkin PC2700 256 MB @ 210MHz Cas 2.5 6-3-3 | MSI GF2 GTS 32 MB 200/333 |Seagate 20 GB 5400 RPM | Acer CDRW 12/8/32 | DVD LiteOn 16x | WC + Dispenser

PCMark2002
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2002, 04:45 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

What you need to do is soldier 4 further resistors to the CS 5301 chip. 3X 60Kohm resistors to pin 4,5,6 and a linear pot to pin 7. Dial up the pot to 1/3 the value of the combined resistance.

Paul.K
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium

Last edited by Paul.K; 10th January, 2002 at 04:48 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2002, 05:26 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Howdy Paul - how's things ?
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2002, 05:48 PM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Hi m8,


Happy New Year to ya. Just back from a wee holiday in NY city. Got myself a new Radeon 8500 Retail cant wait till I'll try it in my system. How's the dual vapochill setup??? I've just purchased my Vapochill from an English distributor. Just plenty of fun for the New Year m8!!!!

Paul.K
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2002, 06:07 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Leaking unfortunatley - I'm having the secondary hose removed and I'm gonna put it back on my 8KHA+.

At the moment I'm running 2 x 1.0MP in my dual system.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th January, 2002, 11:02 PM
DazzleW's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 77

Quote:
Originally posted by Paul.K

I've just purchased my Vapochill from an English distributor. Just plenty of fun for the New Year m8!!!!

Paul.K
Looks like ur going for the big time this year

Happy New Year to you..

Dazzle
__________________
Mail Me
15114 3dmark2001
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2002, 01:01 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by DazzleW


Looks like ur going for the big time this year

Happy New Year to you..

Dazzle
It gives a little more, but not a great deal more with Athlon XP
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2002, 01:16 AM
DazzleW's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 77

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech


It gives a little more, but not a great deal more with Athlon XP
When the Thoroughbreds come out that run even cooler, i guess the advantage will be even less?

What do u think Epox Tech?
__________________
Mail Me
15114 3dmark2001
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2002, 10:16 AM
Paul.K's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 171

Quote:
Originally Posted by DazzleW
Looks like ur going for the big time this year
Happy New Year to you Dazzle. Thanks again for the micrograbber its been used nicely on my VDimm modified Abit KR7A mainboard.

Yes plenty of tweaking this New Year!!!!

Paul.K
__________________
Abit KX7-333 Athlon XP 2000+ @ 1.92GHz
Completely Watercooled O' Ya Baby!
256mb Samsung PC2700
Gf4 Ti4600
Audigy Platnium
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2002, 10:55 AM
DazzleW's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 77

I'm getting an XP1800 end of the month together with an Alpha H/Sink..Just making up lost ground though..

Have also been talking to the engineers at work about using compressors for vapo charge cooling, they are having a look .

Cu Dazzle
__________________
Mail Me
15114 3dmark2001
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2002, 05:22 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by DazzleW


When the Thoroughbreds come out that run even cooler, i guess the advantage will be even less?

What do u think Epox Tech?
Thoroughbread may give better results - remeber that current Palomino Athlon XP is made at the end of the threshold of the 0.18 micron process which just can't go all that far.

I thhink people may have some great success with the Thoroughbred due to it being the start of a new process - just like those Northwoods that easily go 2.0 --> 2.5GHz without any stability issues with stock cooling.

There is only one teller though - waiting and seeing !
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Epox 8RDA3+ Revision. How can i make the Vdimm Vmod now kayl EPoX MotherBoards 2 13th August, 2004 08:38 AM
epox 4pca3+ vmod soloflow EPoX MotherBoards 56 22nd July, 2004 06:33 PM
Possible to vmod a epox 4PCA3+ Rev. 2.2 ? corleonee EPoX MotherBoards 25 3rd June, 2004 05:43 PM
Vmod for EPOX mikedick6969 EPoX MotherBoards 3 17th October, 2003 01:33 AM
for EPoX tech guy about my vmod have a question Jason|Pro EPoX MotherBoards 8 27th October, 2001 01:47 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0