AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2002, 09:42 PM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Cool Athlon XP1600+ @ XP2000+ !!!

I have just upgraded from Athlon TBird 1.4 Ghz to Athlon XP1600+ today. My XP1600+ is AGKGA - 4. It is still LOCKED at default 10.5 multiplier. So, the default is 133 x 10.5 = 1.4 GHz. Tonight I will UNLOCK the L1 Cache Multiplier with Super Glue & Gold Conductive Ink. Meanwhile, before Unlocking it, I am playing around with the multiplier still LOCKED, and I can run at Athlon XP2000+, which is 1680 MHz. I notice that Athlon XP1600+ (real clock is 1.4 GHz) has better benchmark, faster, and lower in CPU temperature by 5 to 6 C compared to my TBird 1.4 GHz. My suggestion for all those TBird users out there, I recommend very much to upgrade to Athlon XP1600+ for Price vs Performance. I bought mine for US$ 120. Too bad, Athlon XP1800+ is still expensive at around US$ 215. This Athlon XP1600+ and EPOX 8KHA+ are VERY SWEET

Here's my system specs:
- OS: Win XP Pro Final Version 5.1 Build 2600
- Monitor: ACER FP751 LCD TFT 17" Flat Monitor
- Mobo: EPOX 8KHA+ (VCore Mod)
- BIOS: 8khal00 dated 11/30/2001
- CPU: Athlon XP1600+ (AGKGA-4)
- HSF: Swiftech MC462A Rev1 + Delta 80mm 80 CFM
- Memory: 2x 256MB Crucial PC2100 DDR + 1x 256MB Corsair XMS2400 with Thermaltake DDR Blue Heat Spreaders
- HDD: 2 x Quantum Fireball AS 7200 RPM 40GB ATA 100 / UDMA 5
1 x Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 7200 RPM 46GB ATA 100 / UDMA 5
- CDRW: Plextor 12/10/32A - FirmWare: 1.09
- DVDROM: Sony DDU1621 (16/40 X) - FirmWare: S1p6 (Region Free)
- Keyboard: M$ Internet Keyboard Pro USB
- Mouse: Logitech Wireless Optical USB Mouse
- NIC: 3COM 3C905C-TX for Cable Modem - PCI slot 4 IRQ 9 changed automatically by Win XP to IRQ 3
Compex RE100-TX/WOL (Realtek 8139 chipset) for LAN - PCI slot 6 IRQ 9 changed automatically by Win XP to IRQ 3
- Graphic Card: Winfast GeForce2 MX DHPro - AGP slot IRQ 11, Driver: Detonator 22.80
- Soundcard: Voyetra Turtle Beach's Santa Cruz - PCI slot 3 IRQ 5 Driver 4142 WHQL
- Hauppage Win TV - PCI slot 5 IRQ 5
- RAID Card: Chaintech ATA100-R (HPT370 - No Raid Array is set) - PCI slot 2 IRQ 10
- Case: Lian-Li PC-60 USB
- PSU: Mod Enermax EG451P-VE 431 Watt (+5 V Rail = 5.05 V)
- Other: Alpha Aluminium Heatsink on Southbridge, Small Aluminium Heatsink on ICS 93718 DDR Clock Gen and Small Aluminium Heatsink on CS 5301 Voltage Regulator. 80 mm 40 CFM fan is on top of CS 5301 and 3 Phase Voltage Regulator.

And here's my Athlon XP1600+ Benchmark:

Athlon XP1600+ (1.4 GHz) @ 160x10.5 = 1680 MHz

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/...5.jpg.orig.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/...f.jpg.orig.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/...0.jpg.orig.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/...1.jpg.orig.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/...d.jpg.orig.jpg

__________________

Last edited by Mushkin Rules; 12th January, 2002 at 08:19 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2002, 11:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

I just installed a new AMD XP1700+ yesterday on my Epox 8K7A+, it does run alot cooler than my 1.4 T-bird I replaced. Idles 27c load 36c water cooled. Have not unlocked it yet running 11x160 (1774) with no problems. It was worth the change to me.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 09:03 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

That XP1600+ seems to do just a little less than my XP1800+ of the same stepping - that show's that it's a waste of time wasting money on the "quicker"(?) processor.

You gotta unlock the thing though and give your memory a workout - even more to be gained. If done correctly - you should get every multiplier ratio there is.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 09:54 AM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
That XP1600+ seems to do just a little less than my XP1800+ of the same stepping - that show's that it's a waste of time wasting money on the "quicker"(?) processor.

You gotta unlock the thing though and give your memory a workout - even more to be gained. If done correctly - you should get every multiplier ratio there is.
EPoX Tech,

Initially, I was thinking of buying Athlon XP1800+, but then rethinking again. For US$100 more ? Then I chose Athlon XP1600+ for US$ 120. I have noticed that the more Official GHz on Athlon XP+, the less its overclockability in percentage, as it's nearly its edge. Unless you have the budget and unless the XP1800+ price is reducing, I recommend you all to get XP1600+ over XP1800+
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 10:02 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Mushkin Rules

EPoX Tech,

Initially, I was thinking of buying Athlon XP1800+, but then rethinking again. For US$100 more ? Then I chose Athlon XP1600+ for US$ 120. I have noticed that the more Official GHz on Athlon XP+, the less its overclockability in percentage, as it's nearly its edge. Unless you have the budget and unless the XP1800+ price is reducing, I recommend you all to get XP1600+ over XP1800+
and try to get the latest stepping also
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 11:21 AM
Brad
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

[QUOTE]That XP1600+ seems to do just a little less than my XP1800+ of the same stepping - that show's that it's a waste of time wasting money on the "quicker"(?) processor.

You gotta unlock the thing though and give your memory a workout - even more to be gained. If done correctly - you should get every multiplier ratio there is QUOTE]




no comment
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 11:26 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Brad
Quote:
That XP1600+ seems to do just a little less than my XP1800+ of the same stepping - that show's that it's a waste of time wasting money on the "quicker"(?) processor.

You gotta unlock the thing though and give your memory a workout - even more to be gained. If done correctly - you should get every multiplier ratio there is



no comment
And the point you are trying to make in this instance is what exactly ?
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 05:38 PM
Mushkin Rules's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Posts: 39

Thumbs up

SWEET, I finally did it. My Athlon XP1600+ is now 100% UNLOCKED.

It took me about 2.5 Hour to do it
- 10 minutes to take out my Swiftech MC462A and the XP1600+
- 15 minutes for the L1 Cache covering with scotch tape preparation
- 15 minutes to apply Super Glue to cover the "valley"
- 15 minutes to let the Super Glue dry & smooth it
- 15 minutes to sand and smooth the left over
- 15 minutes to apply a mixture of conductive ink
- 30 minutes to let the conductive ink dry under hot lamp
- 5 minutes to apply scotcsh tape to cover the L1 Cache
- 15 minutes to install MC462A and change less noisy Panaflo 48 CFM fan
- 15 minutes to play around with multiplier in bios menu & to confirm all multipliers are 100% working

The hardest part is to cover the valley. You definitely need a Magnifying Glass.

And now, I am running at 161 x 10 = 1.61 GHz but it's read and actually runs at 1.62 GHz

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/...7.jpg.orig.jpg

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 07:34 PM
Cole's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Athens, GA USA
Posts: 140

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
That XP1600+ seems to do just a little less than my XP1800+ of the same stepping - that show's that it's a waste of time wasting money on the "quicker"(?) processor.

You gotta unlock the thing though and give your memory a workout - even more to be gained. If done correctly - you should get every multiplier ratio there is.
I have to agree on that. I've setup at least a dozen 1500+ boxes and they all overclocked to 1680-1700 quite easily. I had one 1800+ and it would do no better than 1725. Seems like they've hit the end of the road at .18u and more money gets you little more than a different multiplier.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 09:05 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Cole
I have to agree on that. I've setup at least a dozen 1500+ boxes and they all overclocked to 1680-1700 quite easily. I had one 1800+ and it would do no better than 1725. Seems like they've hit the end of the road at .18u and more money gets you little more than a different multiplier.
Agree Agree Agree !!! Isn't the bother of unlocking just so worth it though.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 09:53 PM
Cole's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Athens, GA USA
Posts: 140

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech


Agree Agree Agree !!! Isn't the bother of unlocking just so worth it though.
I didn't even bother unlocking the 1500's. Most of them top out at 1700, and 170 is about the best I can get out most dimms with aggressive timings - just seems like the perfect combination without any hassles (10X170) along with cas 2
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 09:58 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

im at 1718 now........ i cant run 10X170 i get probs with the mouse god knows why!
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12th January, 2002, 11:02 PM
Brad
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Epox Tech, I was referring to you meaning we'd get the 1/5 and 1/6 pci speed.

I had thought you meant cpu multiplier, but they go up tp 20x or something, if you change the L10 bridge. So I can't imagine you meaning that.

As well as the fact you were talking about very fast memory just in that sentence.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2002, 03:11 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I now have a Big Grin

Ive just got a Xp-1700 (on special offer £99+vat)

ive yet to run it as my RMA board is still yet to arrive

But my watercooling is now finished (but ive allready though of a hundred ways to improove it) so im starting planning on the MK2 peltier system allready.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2002, 09:43 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Brad
Epox Tech, I was referring to you meaning we'd get the 1/5 and 1/6 pci speed.

I had thought you meant cpu multiplier, but they go up tp 20x or something, if you change the L10 bridge. So I can't imagine you meaning that.

As well as the fact you were talking about very fast memory just in that sentence.
Repetitive, monotonous, predictable.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2002, 11:04 AM
Brad
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

true :P
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 01:05 AM
Don Govan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Seremban,Malaysia
Posts: 13

Lightbulb

Just 2 week back i bought my Athlon XP 1600+ stepping code
AGNGA-Y ... new green coloured processor .... is this processor
has good OC'ing compare to the older stepping code..
AGKGA-Y/9/4 ...... haven't tried unlock it ..yet .... becoz
this my first AMD PC .... and i'm new with overclocking ...

Do any One has site to learn about unlocking processor and
OC...
__________________
My PC : -
AMD Athlon XP 1600+
Epox 8KHA+
KingMax 256 PC2400
Maxtor 40GB ATA133
DVD Liteon
Lian Li PC 5
GlobalWin SAK 38
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 01:35 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

They have a video of the unlocking process at Tom's Hardware site. go to:

www.tomshardware.com

The video is pretty easy to find.

Mook.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 07:36 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by Don Govan
Just 2 week back i bought my Athlon XP 1600+ stepping code
AGNGA-Y ... new green coloured processor .... is this processor
has good OC'ing compare to the older stepping code..
AGKGA-Y/9/4 ...... haven't tried unlock it ..yet .... becoz
this my first AMD PC .... and i'm new with overclocking ...

Do any One has site to learn about unlocking processor and
OC...
Yes the green ones generally are quite overclockable
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2002, 04:44 PM
Don Govan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Seremban,Malaysia
Posts: 13

Cool

Wat is the advantages of unclocking the processor??
with out Unclocking is it ok ... i push my FSB high for
OC'ing .....
__________________
My PC : -
AMD Athlon XP 1600+
Epox 8KHA+
KingMax 256 PC2400
Maxtor 40GB ATA133
DVD Liteon
Lian Li PC 5
GlobalWin SAK 38
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add another XP1600 dod ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 3 2nd February, 2003 08:36 PM
My XP1600 @ 2026Mhz Biohazard Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 9 20th January, 2003 04:49 PM
xp1600 issues.....???? comradeboris AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 5th July, 2002 04:29 PM
help! epox 8k3A with Athlon XP2000+ Catweasel EPoX MotherBoards 9 26th June, 2002 11:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0