AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th January, 2002, 10:01 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Where are the temp sensors?

I'm loving my 8KHA+ (God bless Epox!), and I have a question about where the temp sensors are located. Obviously there's the one in the CPU socket. But in Sandra, and in MBM5, there's a second temp probe that's listed as "Case Temp" which, for me, is currently running at about 38*C. Which I know can't be right. The outside temp is 44*F, and my computer is in an unfinished basement, sitting on a concrete floor, with three case fans running, and the case panels off (kinda defeats the purpose of the case fans, don't it?).

Basically, I'm trying to find out why the reading for my case is so high? And I think the best way to do that would be to find the location of the temp probe used for the case temps.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2002, 01:13 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Whilst not being the most accurate of sensors (on board type) as you all know from everything that you read, since the chassis probe is an environmental sensor rather than a contact sensor - it doesn't have to touch anything - on most mainboards it is undistinguishable from the other SMT resistors on the mainboard (some mainboards may have a blue nipple hanging off them though).
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2002, 11:11 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
Whilst not being the most accurate of sensors (on board type) as you all know from everything that you read, since the chassis probe is an environmental sensor rather than a contact sensor - it doesn't have to touch anything - on most mainboards it is undistinguishable from the other SMT resistors on the mainboard (some mainboards may have a blue nipple hanging off them though).
I thought that the VT8233 could monitor three temperatures? One of which is typically the CPU sensor, one of which is the "ambient" sensor, and one of which was the onboard sensor on the VT8233?

Could it be possible that MBM5/Sandra are confusing the ambient and VT8233 sensors?

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2002, 11:18 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quite possibly (or setup incorrectly).

With regard to the actual sensor though - it is very in-distinct in appearance.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2002, 01:44 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Top left hand corner of the 8KHA+ board - marked RT2 - little blue nipple.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2002, 03:51 PM
Wa11y's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Right behind you.
Posts: 1,358

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
(or setup incorrectly).
Nail - head - BANG!

I was screwing around with MBM5 while running Sandra's burn in wizard, and somehow, some sensor gave me a reading of 127*C. Fortunately, the help file for MBM5 is actually rather useful (RTFM, n00b!). So I got it mostly sorted out. Thanks, though.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp sensors rxu EPoX MotherBoards 17 28th August, 2005 09:55 PM
8rda3+ sensors Veky EPoX MotherBoards 0 26th August, 2003 01:00 PM
Location of 8RDA temp sensors? Ian EPoX MotherBoards 3 23rd May, 2003 09:42 PM
where are the temp. sensors placed (8k9a3+) ? Brummelchen EPoX MotherBoards 1 2nd April, 2003 02:58 PM
Temp Sensors nigejn EPoX MotherBoards 0 6th September, 2002 07:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0