AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2004, 09:34 PM
Ancient1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Ancient1

Question will 8RDA+ handle 1Gb stick ?

I'm thinking of getting CMX1024-3200PT Corsair . 1 stick has better chance to OC afaik.
BUT ! can 8RDA+ handle 1Gb in one memory stick ??

Thanx
__________________
We don't need Peace , we need PC !

NF7-S Ver2.0 heatsinked and WC.
WCed Barton 2500+
256Mb CL2.5 TwinMos 3200 @200 7332
MSI Ti4600 VTD 333/693 WCed.
SONATA case 380W TruePower + Acoustipack kit.
x2 Raptor 36Gb Raid
few more IDE HDDs and rounded Cables and TVtuner.
Samsung 959NF, Painted BLACK.
LiteOn 48x24x48x16 Combo Painted Black
Soon Freezer cooled WC sys.
...ongoing project...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2004, 12:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: BC Bud
Posts: 47

The manual say it can handle a total of 3GB so 3 slots = 1GB each.
Best fsb overclock is with 256mb sticks, anything larger, the nforce2 boards have problems handling 512mb sticks unless you have a bios option to turn off CPC.
__________________
TBred 1700 @ 9.5 *200 FSB 8RDA+ Corsair 512MB PC3200 ATI 8500 64MB
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2004, 10:02 AM
Ancient1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Ancient1

of course 3 slot for & 3Gb max - makes sense.

I didn't find any info with Google, which suggest the possiblity that the 8RDA+ was not properly designed for using 1Gb sticks, considered highly unlikely for the Home users market. So I am hoping someone actually tried.

From what I read : http://www6.tomshardware.com/motherb...602/index.html
"and also the price for an individual 1 GB DIMM is almost always undercut. Furthermore, DIM modules with 1 GB or more only seldom handle fast timings."
which seems correct since the RAM I mentioned earlier has slow 3 3 3 8 timings at 200 FSB.

What is CPC ???

THX
__________________
We don't need Peace , we need PC !

NF7-S Ver2.0 heatsinked and WC.
WCed Barton 2500+
256Mb CL2.5 TwinMos 3200 @200 7332
MSI Ti4600 VTD 333/693 WCed.
SONATA case 380W TruePower + Acoustipack kit.
x2 Raptor 36Gb Raid
few more IDE HDDs and rounded Cables and TVtuner.
Samsung 959NF, Painted BLACK.
LiteOn 48x24x48x16 Combo Painted Black
Soon Freezer cooled WC sys.
...ongoing project...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2004, 10:03 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

It is possible that the memory will be okay but please do note that NVidia has not valdated any 1GB modules, only 512MB.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2004, 06:52 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

You're in Spain? Very nice!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2004, 07:01 PM
Ancient1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Ancient1

I'm not in sPain .. and if EpoxTech is , it isn't nice , its an addiction to work :P
__________________
We don't need Peace , we need PC !

NF7-S Ver2.0 heatsinked and WC.
WCed Barton 2500+
256Mb CL2.5 TwinMos 3200 @200 7332
MSI Ti4600 VTD 333/693 WCed.
SONATA case 380W TruePower + Acoustipack kit.
x2 Raptor 36Gb Raid
few more IDE HDDs and rounded Cables and TVtuner.
Samsung 959NF, Painted BLACK.
LiteOn 48x24x48x16 Combo Painted Black
Soon Freezer cooled WC sys.
...ongoing project...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2004, 07:08 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

ET is there according to his location. Alicante looks very nice to me:
http://www.alicante-spain.com/
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is the fastest proc the epox 8rda+ can handle? waylman EPoX MotherBoards 4 3rd February, 2005 09:20 PM
stick with RAID and 8k3a+ or go to 8RDA Boss900 EPoX MotherBoards 3 7th March, 2003 06:13 AM
8RDA+ (1) 512 stick or (2) 256 of this ram? El_jer EPoX MotherBoards 2 11th February, 2003 06:25 PM
8RDA with 1 stick of RAM?! paymon EPoX MotherBoards 3 2nd January, 2003 04:18 AM
8RDA+ won't post with only 1 stick of ram mrsteel74 EPoX MotherBoards 5 5th December, 2002 07:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0