AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 12:54 PM
mixx666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 298

Modded Pro to XT

Well got my hands on a long awaited Radeon X800Pro Vivo, Which my friend DresUk helped mod to an XT, Got to running some bench tests and all was sweet, check out the new 3dmark 2003 score on my sig.

Next day ready for more bench tests so Dres went to switch system on and we got the error message no power connected to grfx card?????
So on checking it out the new X800 was dead (R.I.P)

How unlucky is that?

I just don't think it’s meant to be

__________________
Asus P5B-Delux
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400@3500Mhz
Skyth Ninja + 120mm Delta Fan
2GB Corsair Dominator
2 x 500GB Hitachi
Creative LAbs X-FI
Logitech Z-5500
Antec P182 Special Edition
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 02:23 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Maybe this should of been in Hardware hacking.

But anyway.

Are you positive that the card is dead.

Eg Flash it back to a pro and return it to stock settings to see if it brings life back to it?

If not, where did you get it from and what is their RTNs policy?

Because most companies are aware of ability to mod a Pro Into a XT and will most likely check the core for signs of tampering. If they see it, they will probably use your warrenty for toilet roll.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 03:51 PM
mixx666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 298

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch
Maybe this should of been in Hardware hacking.

But anyway.

Are you positive that the card is dead.

Eg Flash it back to a pro and return it to stock settings to see if it brings life back to it?

If not, where did you get it from and what is their RTNs policy?

Because most companies are aware of ability to mod a Pro Into a XT and will most likely check the core for signs of tampering. If they see it, they will probably use your warrenty for toilet roll.

Yes positive that it has died. Why? I'm not sure

As for returns my friend DresUK is on friendly basis with shop so they will change it, they are fully aware that it was flashed with the XT bios. Because it is a (Vivo) card this means that all you do is flash the XT bios you do not have to mod the core in anyway what so ever. The X800pro cards are identical from core to the memmory chips as the XT but just have the 12 pipelines and slower core & memmory speeds, that is untill you flash it with the new bios.

The problem is that because people have twiged that you can turn any X800 Pro (Vivo) with just a flash of the XT bios, every time a shop gets some of these Pro's in they fly of the shelf and I have to wait a very long time for a replacement

Whoops should have put this in Crashed but I suppose more people look in this section so will get more replys?
__________________
Asus P5B-Delux
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400@3500Mhz
Skyth Ninja + 120mm Delta Fan
2GB Corsair Dominator
2 x 500GB Hitachi
Creative LAbs X-FI
Logitech Z-5500
Antec P182 Special Edition
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 04:14 PM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Oh right..

I knew you could turn a Pro into a XT by using conductive paint on the core. That would unlock the rest of the Pipes.

Good luck with the returns.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th July, 2004, 04:20 PM
mixx666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 298

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitch
Oh right..

I knew you could turn a Pro into a XT by using conductive paint on the core. That would unlock the rest of the Pipes.

Yep that’s the old way. Now with any make of pro as long as it's VideoInVideoOut (VIVO) than all you do now is flash it. Some People believe that these cards where originally supposed to be XT's but because NVidia have made some improvements to their own 6800 range the newer XT's intend to be better. So they have downgraded their range of XT's to pro's and this is why we are still waiting for the XT's to ship in nationwide?
__________________
Asus P5B-Delux
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400@3500Mhz
Skyth Ninja + 120mm Delta Fan
2GB Corsair Dominator
2 x 500GB Hitachi
Creative LAbs X-FI
Logitech Z-5500
Antec P182 Special Edition

Last edited by mixx666; 18th July, 2004 at 04:35 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 07:01 AM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

Semi-related question, since this seems to be resolved

All of you video-flashing people who are reading this... will I get any performance increase by flashing my 128MB 9800 Pro (R360 core) to an XT bios? I'm thinking that I'll get temperature monitoring and overdrive, but will I get any genuine performance increase that's not due to overdrive? Also, I'm a little iffy on using a 256MB bios on a 128MB card... future games may try to access that missing 128MB... is there a 128MB XT bios?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 08:50 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

you have to understand in regards to the 360 that the 360 is actually a 350...with a higher clock. if you do some research, the 9600xt features an onboard temp sensor whilst the 9800xt has it on-board....this means that all you have to do id flash the bios to get the better performance.
however
the cip packaging is slightly different on the 360 than the 350.. so you must have a 360 gpu to do it...
on another note.. i have done this to more than 8 cards so far.. and the speed increase is not forever.. it will dwindle with time. so will your max o.c.... @ least in my experince with BBA cards
i have an asus that runs flawlesly... even to the point that th gpu is only getting 1.72v...that's 350 voltage. 360's are 1.78-1.83.....but the card performs so well in ut2004 and far cry weith all settings maxed that i have no need for higher speeds yet...check my sig and 3dmark
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 08:50 AM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

does that x800 have 1 or 2 power adapters?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 11:32 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

I have a rare card - an X800XT PE that is clocked at Pro speeds (475/450) - revision 0.6 ES stock - takes quite an amount of coaxing to get it to and past actual XT PE speeds .............
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 12:14 PM
mixx666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 298

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca
does that x800 have 1 or 2 power adapters?

Just 1 but you do need a good make PSU or it will struglle as it get very hungry
__________________
Asus P5B-Delux
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400@3500Mhz
Skyth Ninja + 120mm Delta Fan
2GB Corsair Dominator
2 x 500GB Hitachi
Creative LAbs X-FI
Logitech Z-5500
Antec P182 Special Edition
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 12:19 PM
mixx666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 298

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
I have a rare card - an X800XT PE that is clocked at Pro speeds (475/450) - revision 0.6 ES stock - takes quite an amount of coaxing to get it to and past actual XT PE speeds .............

Thats very rare indeed, how much did that set you back if you don't mind me askin? I pre ordered an XT a long while back but still waiting, I might just sell it if people are willing to pay overhead for it, so that I might make a bit of money. I will just stick with the pro as my system is CPU limiting the performance of the cards.
__________________
Asus P5B-Delux
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400@3500Mhz
Skyth Ninja + 120mm Delta Fan
2GB Corsair Dominator
2 x 500GB Hitachi
Creative LAbs X-FI
Logitech Z-5500
Antec P182 Special Edition
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 03:28 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

wow mixx...i must say that that x800 just stomps my card....
but the reason i ask about the power connector...being the gigabyte man that i am....gigabyte's boards feature a 12 and a 5 v connector....and are supposed to be able to clock higher...is there a pin out on the card for another connector?
my asus 9800XT pcb is missing way too much for it to be just a 9800 pcb..i think they may plan to use it with the x8000 too.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 19th July, 2004, 07:38 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixx666
Thats very rare indeed, how much did that set you back if you don't mind me askin? I pre ordered an XT a long while back but still waiting, I might just sell it if people are willing to pay overhead for it, so that I might make a bit of money. I will just stick with the pro as my system is CPU limiting the performance of the cards.
It's direct from ATi from my test purposes (compat with 8x boards based on various NB) - It's well worth having when you see the difference Direct X 9.0 wise - the extra pipes are worth the effort - but overclocking the Pro speeded memory to XT speeds is a tright rough - can just get it to 1.2GHz now after chaning a few SMT parts on the card, and get the core near to 590.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 02:53 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

GEtting a sapphire x800pro vivo tomorrow will test out witht the bios flash fingers x
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 09:02 PM
mixx666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 298

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradmax57
GEtting a sapphire x800pro vivo tomorrow will test out witht the bios flash fingers x

I hope you have more luck than me mate, good luck.

I'm still waiting for my replacement. I hope I get it before Doom III comes out
__________________
Asus P5B-Delux
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400@3500Mhz
Skyth Ninja + 120mm Delta Fan
2GB Corsair Dominator
2 x 500GB Hitachi
Creative LAbs X-FI
Logitech Z-5500
Antec P182 Special Edition

Last edited by mixx666; 31st July, 2004 at 12:25 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 09:15 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixx666
I hope you have more look than me mate, good luck.

I'm still waiting for my replacement. I hope I get it before Doom III comes out
yeah i know what you mean got it on pre order, thing is I recently tried a 6800gt out and all in all scored higher not sure which one to stick with really, although I hate the size of the nvidia card oh well fingers crossed
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 10:39 PM
Member/Contributor/Resident Crystal Ball
 
Join Date: March 2004
Posts: 7,451

that is my only issue @ the moment with the next gen cards and why i got the one in my sig...size...heat....the nvid outperforms ati @ standard 1024x768, which is what i use, so ati's claim to fame has no use to me.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 10:54 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

You guys keep listing 3DMarks 2004 yet I can only find 2003 340 build what gives?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 10:59 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

ooooooooh typo
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 11:04 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

So they'er one and the same? Darn was hoping for new eye candy!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
modded drivers wward Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 17th December, 2006 09:47 AM
Any Modded KV7 BIOS (KT-600) Pandaz3 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 5th February, 2005 11:02 PM
Pre-Modded Specials EPoX Tech EPoX MotherBoards 10 31st December, 2004 10:08 PM
Modded My Broken GF2 GTS Biohazard Hardware Hacking 20 4th September, 2003 05:03 AM
What MODDED VDD are ppl running?? Flymo EPoX MotherBoards 6 24th March, 2003 05:28 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0