AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th July, 2004, 09:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 9

Epox 8RDA3 FF Post Code

OK, so my old power supply burned out and took my Abit KX7 mobo w/ it (there were burn marks on the 20pin ATX Power connector). I was hoping everything else was ok and didnt find any burn marks on the CPU or anything else.

I purhashed a Epox 8RDA3 and Antec 350Watt power supply and put everything together. Im using my old AMD 1600+ CPU, 256mb Samsung 2700 ram, geforce2 mx, and audiophile 24/96 sound card.

When I turn the system on, the post code display does NOT cycle through any numbers but displays FF. I can hear my hard drive loading, but no display on my monitor. Im pretty sure i put everything together correctly. Did my CPU or ram get burned out when my old power supply failed?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th July, 2004, 10:00 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

The answer may lie on the KX7 PCB - check for any damage to any black coloured plastic components (called MOSFET amplifiers which have two or three legs one side and a tab on the other or spiders which are 8 legged little square voltage splitters) - if any of these are popped, it is possible that you may have a bit of an issue on your hands and your cpu or mem got took out.

Have a looksee and smell the board as well that burned plastic smell remains for ever and a day.

On the 8RDA3 side, make sure that the mainboard is not shorting in the chassis (screwed down too tight), make sure the auxiliary 12v connector is attached and ensure that there are no screwdriver marks on the PCB.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2004, 12:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 9

hi, thanks for the quick reply.

I don't see any burned MOSFET amplifiers, but i do recall a burnt smell when my power supply shorted out. However, there is a copper strip running along the side of the KX7 that leads to the silver BIOS battery that has been burned out. Does this tell me anything?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th July, 2004, 01:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 9

i tried taking all the components but cpu, heatsink, and ram out. I still get the FF code. I tried taking the ram out and got the same deal. Should there be any physical markings on the ram or CPU to know whether or not they've been burnt?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2004, 07:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2004
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to xelldran1

I've had the same problem. I got my system up and running after having some ram problems (board wouldn't reconize my ram, but a bios update solved that) then in the middle of surfin the web my screen went blank. And nothing would respond. When I cold restarted the system the motherboard would not go through the usual count it just went straight to FF code. The first board I RMA'd that had this problem the northbridge fan wouldn't work when I booted after the FF code. On the second board I have now the northbridge fan works but I still get FF, no post, and nothing on my monitor. There are no burn marks anywhere or any funny smells. All the other components are fine. Gonna try to RMA this board (guessing I just got two dud boards) but if any one has a clue as to what could cause this problem I would love to know.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2006, 11:25 AM
Doc Doc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: January 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to Doc

Try taking your CMOS battery out, leaving the machine sit for a few minutes and try to boot it. I'm having the same problem currently and when I take the battery out the mobo is kind enough to hang at a C1 code instead.

In my case though, I'm pretty sure that the capacitors leaking all over themselves is the issue.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epox POST CODE ERROR - HELP!!!! Paradox EPoX MotherBoards 12 17th November, 2006 04:37 PM
epox 8rda3+ post code 25 frog EPoX MotherBoards 3 16th February, 2005 08:39 PM
CF post code - 8rda3+ ziococco EPoX MotherBoards 1 6th July, 2003 06:50 PM
Help!!! 8rda3+ Post Code 01 Boa EPoX MotherBoards 4 24th June, 2003 05:56 PM
EPOX LED Post Code HELP ronin1967 EPoX MotherBoards 8 22nd November, 2002 06:56 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0