AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2004, 12:03 PM
Noogen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 34

Is it okay to raise the vdd voltage on 8rda3+ rev3

i have a 8rda3+ rev3 with just the stock northbridge cooler is it okay i up the vdd voltage to 1.8?
__________________
2600 xp-m, 8rda3+ rev3, Corsair 512m 3500v1.1, 128 Powercolor 9600xt, maxtor 80g sata, Antec 1000amg, 480w Trueblue, slk947u/Tornado
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th July, 2004, 12:24 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noogen
i have a 8rda3+ rev3 with just the stock northbridge cooler is it okay i up the vdd voltage to 1.8?
Only one way to find out

Drop your CPU multiplier, so that isn't an issue.
Set your memory ratio to less than 100% - I like to use 50% as the timing pulses still match up evenly. (2 mhz NB = 1 mhz memory)

Increase FSB as high as possible. You can use Prime95 for a "quick" test, but I believe that 2-3 passes of memtest86 should be your criteria for stability.

Increase NB voltage by 0.1V and see if you can go faster. Repeat. If your max FSB actually decreases, this means that either the NB is too hot, or it just doesn't like voltage.

I think you should at least replace the thermal pad with thermal grease - you should note if either the NB or stock cooler are concave - this will cause you problems (= leave the pad for now)

To extend the life of the board, I would certainly replace the stock cooler if you plan on indefinitely using a higher voltage.

You can also make a nice cooling duct in your side panel, if you want to go that route. Kind of hard to do this in a pretty manner, however. For a quick and dirty solution, and by dirty, I mean dusty, and ugly, I would screw in an 80mm fan to the outside (after cutting hole of course) of the panel, and hotglue a small piece of PVC pipe to the inside. Just an idea.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 01:09 PM
Noogen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 34

thanx, wat would be a dangerous temp for the northbridge
__________________
2600 xp-m, 8rda3+ rev3, Corsair 512m 3500v1.1, 128 Powercolor 9600xt, maxtor 80g sata, Antec 1000amg, 480w Trueblue, slk947u/Tornado
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2004, 07:24 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

Can't tell you that, since I've never monitored NB temperatures. With a non-flipchip NB, it'd be pretty difficult to get a thermal probe anywhere.

All I can tell you is that if it is unstable (due to temperature), then it's probably too high, whether or not it's really "dangerous", and if you increase the voltage, it's probably smart to upgrade the cooling, although it might not be "dangerous" if you don't.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2004, 02:53 AM
Noogen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 34

im goin to put artic silver 5 but should i get a new northbridge cooler, sumfin like the vantec iceberg or just epox cooler wil do?
__________________
2600 xp-m, 8rda3+ rev3, Corsair 512m 3500v1.1, 128 Powercolor 9600xt, maxtor 80g sata, Antec 1000amg, 480w Trueblue, slk947u/Tornado
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th July, 2004, 03:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

I dont know what is dangerous temp,but i have had my KT333 chip up to 60´C when i was testing stuff.
If you can keep it under 55´C it should be good.
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how much to raise CPU Voltage?? Yamboo29 EPoX MotherBoards 5 17th September, 2006 07:27 PM
8rda3+ rev3 Bois settings help? Bubba [OEM] EPoX MotherBoards 5 18th January, 2005 11:41 AM
8rda3+ rev3 stock nb anygoot? Noogen EPoX MotherBoards 1 7th August, 2004 02:54 AM
success w/ 8rda3+ rev3.1 fast-- EPoX MotherBoards 34 17th June, 2004 12:10 PM
8rda3+ voltage! masala EPoX MotherBoards 1 7th August, 2003 06:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0