AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2002, 12:20 PM
Purity's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 25

Question 8kha+ starting to boot itself after a week of stable running

Over a week ago I put together my system, only my TBS montego sound card caused trouble, so removed it and ran rock solid without even one reboot or jam issue, the last friday tried putting it back, started rebooting and jamming, took it off, kept rebooting and jamming, falshed bios and had a freash install of w2k, bit less booting & jamming but still quite annoying

can't be os related, happens in 98se/w2k

can't be PSU as ran fine for a week with @ 1,90 volts (antec 350 watt psu, only 1 hard drive + cd rom)

tried all the usual stuff, flashing bios, clearing cmos etc. etc.

what's wrong?

specs:
xp 1700+
8kha+
256 meg crucial ddr tested to go 170 mhz with cas 2-2-2
radeon 32 ddr
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2002, 04:12 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Check and make sure your Ram and PCI/APG cards are fully press down in their slots and that your power leads are fimly connected, this has helped me out of a jam more than once.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2002, 04:59 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Please do try to run the board at 100MHz FSB only to attempt to debug.

Please also try to reflash the BIOS to thee latest revision (in case your present one is corrupt).. Please try to LOAD THE OPTIMIZED DEFAULTS only with no other alterations made.


Try to use the latest 4-in-1's before trying to install the sound card drivers. If not using the onboard audio - make sure that the AC'97 is disabled within the BIOS.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2002, 08:38 PM
Purity's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 25

huh it dont do it anymore well, at least for the time being..

probably had something to do with corrupted bios date (maybe already in factory?) as the second flash did the trick. i did load the optimized defaults about 5 times in row before going to windows the first time after first flash, and the flash program said everything was ok after the flash...

well, this goes to the classified mysteries category, had lots of those on my asus k7m

thank you for your help guys
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st February, 2002, 07:17 PM
Purity's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 25

Last post taken back, unfortunately

The booting is back, tried it now underclocked, standard, standard with maximum voltages for dimm & cpu, overclocked, but still he same booting. Happens quite randomly, but more often in 3d games than desktop usage (everything from browsing internet to rendering in 3dstudio).

Tried about everything mentioned here, so might it be the PSU? It's an Antec 350 watter... but still it amazes me that it ran the setup fine for the first week..

The board has the CoolerMaster chipset cooler and bios has U= label on it, what shall I do? Take it back to the vendor or burn it in a bonfire:-D
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 03:53 AM
kricys's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to kricys

I get the same reboot issue. Only happens to me when playing 3D games though. I have done the same thing with the same result. I created a new post on the issue before I read yours. Hopefully we get a resolution soon. Specs below.

EPoX 8KHA+ mobo
Apollo VA-300BA-T 300W PS (AMD Reccomended)
AMD Athlon XP 1800+
512 MB PC2100 DDR Kingston RAM
LeadTek WinFast Titanium 200 TDH 128 MB AGP Card (GeForce 3 Ti 200)
(2) Maxtor 40 gig ATA-100 Drives
Linksys LNE100TX Ver 2.0 PCI NIC
Windows XP Professional
Current BIOS Revision: 8khi2116
Video Driver: Leadtek XP NVIDIA 2.1.8.3 (9/14/2001)
VIA 4in1 Drivers Rev. 4.37
VIA AGP 4x/133 Driver Ver. 1.00.000
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 04:29 AM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

How is your 5v line doing???

You may want to give a 400watt PSU a whirl.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 05:19 PM
Purity's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 25

well the 5 volt line is 4,90-4,95 so that shouldn't be the problem...

yeah i get it mostly in 3d games too, only once or twice in desktop usage

and what comes to the PSU, if it were the PSU how do you explain that it ran just stable with no problems for a week with precisely the same configuration..
__________________

Last edited by Purity; 3rd February, 2002 at 06:04 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 07:50 PM
kricys's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to kricys

My 5V line is about 4.89-4.90.

I'm going to purchase a better PSU as recommedned by the EPoX Guru in the other thread.

Although my current PSU says it's AMD Recommended, accoring to AMD's site, it isn't.

I'll post once I get the new PSU and test it.

- Kricys
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2002, 08:09 PM
Purity's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 25

okay these are my assumptions on this case:

it cant be the psu as it ran for a week with no probles at all with exatly the same configuration

it cant be driver related, as the computer was 100% stable for a week with the same drivers that it started booting with

pull all the cards out n+1 times and put it together n+1 ties

flashed bios - always loaded optimized defaults several times before starting os

had two fresh installs of w2k and one of win98se

all the card & disk work when tested on another computer


so is the board broken and should i take it back to vendor?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2002, 08:25 PM
nullCRC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 270

Anything in the event viewer in W2K? W2K by default is set to reboot on a BSOD.
__________________
Press ALT+F4 to learn more

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2002, 08:42 PM
Purity's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 25

does win98se support this option too? and where can it be turned off?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2002, 08:46 PM
nullCRC's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 270

Been a while since I used 98, but I don't think so.

In W2K, right click on My Computer, click on properties. Click on the Advanced Tab and then click on StartUp and Recovery.
__________________
Press ALT+F4 to learn more

"If you can't make it good, make it look good." - Bill Gates, 1995

Defeat Autism Now!
Athalon XP 1600
Epox EP-8KHA+
Thermaltake Volcano 6cu
512MB Crucial DDR PC2100
Enlight EN-7237 AZ MT Case
Gainward GF3 Ti200 64MB Power Pack Golden Sample
Adaptec 2940UW
Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB SCSI
HP 9200i SCSI CDRW
Sony 50X IDE CDROM
Iomega 100 Internal Zip SCSI
Sony CPD-E500 21" Trinitron
NetGear RP114
RatPadz mousing surface
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2002, 09:44 PM
Purity's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 25

well wasnt that either

guess i gotta call the warranty tomorrow
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2002, 04:54 AM
kricys's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to kricys

To update:

I replaced the POS 300W Apollo PSU w/ an AMD Approved Antec Smart Power 400W.

No more sudden reboots or instabilities.....

Did you get the mobo replaced? Maybe you can swap out the PSU first before going through the hassle of RMA'ing the board.

- Kricys
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System was running stable, now the same crash keeps comming Wolf2000me CRASHED! 16 17th January, 2005 10:27 PM
Running a Barton CPU on 8KHA+ dt99 EPoX MotherBoards 26 23rd May, 2004 12:16 AM
anyone running 2600+ / 8KHA+ (rev. 2)? merv EPoX MotherBoards 5 3rd May, 2003 12:37 PM
Up running and stable Uncle Bob EPoX MotherBoards 4 26th January, 2003 01:55 PM
How to make 8kha+ stable at 200 mhz? EluSiOn EPoX MotherBoards 11 19th November, 2002 06:38 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0