AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2004, 12:45 PM
MiL's Avatar
MiL MiL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Croatia
Posts: 14

New 8RDA+ rev 2.2 and "siren tone" issue, going nutz!

Ever since I switched from my 8RDA+ rev 1.1 to revision 2.2 i noticed two issues. One is good but one is really bad.

1. The bad: The worst is, almost every time after changing settings in bios and saving & exiting, after reboot it goes into "siren tone state" with C1 showing on onboard LED display. Hard reset doesnt help, so I have to turn off the PC by holding power button. After I switch it back on, bios reports "CPU changed or unworkable", so I have to go into bios and just save and reboot. Than its fine till the next time it happens.
It is also possible to go into "siren tone state" sometimes even during ordinary reboot.
I dont think it's overheating like its been stated on this forum before. My CPU temps are fine, northbridge has a Zalman NB47J on with artic silver and southbridge has that "golden" default passive cooler. This issue hapens when I'm not overclocking so I don't think its heat.
Maybe its memory timeings? I have 2 X 512 Geil Value 400Mhz with blue heatsinks. Not the terrible ram I hear. I can run it 6-2-2-2.0 @ 333 and it flies. No errors acording to MemTest+. I also tried all kinds of mem timings (slow ones) and still siren tone.

That maybe leaves me with PSU. Its the older Enermax 300W. It may be a bit streched with all the components I have, especially with Radeon 9700Pro..voltages look fine. So would this result in siren tone?

Its actually two tones. It starts with just 2 beeps than the siren joins on top of that. Very frustrating! Never happend with my RDA8+ rev 1.1 before and I didnt change any components, so it cant be voltage or heat?! Maybe the new revision is more sensitive. New revision is also showing higher CPU temps. Even reseted CPU twice to make sure. The change from the old revision is almost 10C. WTF?


2. The good: Heh, I guess I got lucky with my Barton 2500+ that I got from Newegg while I was in US. With this 8RDA+ rev 2.2 I can change the multiplier. So it goes from 11x166 to 12.5x166 with no prob, rock stable no voltage changes. Its AQXEA with little T in the corner.

help me with some ideas...plz
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2004, 11:13 PM
MiL's Avatar
MiL MiL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Croatia
Posts: 14

What no coments? C'mon guys.. Bump
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2004, 05:41 AM
TonyCarr's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: SouthEastern , USA
Posts: 122

Yeah , my rev 2 was more of a problem than the rev 1.1 , getting it set up just right .
The southbridge on my rev 2 runs much hotter than the rev 1.1 , I replaced the southbridge heatsink , case temp went down a little .
In your case I would start with a stronger power supply , could be causing your problems .
__________________
8RDA+ rev 2.1 @ 11 X 200fsb w/XPM 2500B IQYHA 0348SPMW @ 1.55Vcore , Hyper X DDR400 2 X 256M dc 6-3-3-2 , ATI 9600 , ThermalRight ALX-800 w/ Panaflo U , Antec SL-450 , winXP sp2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2004, 01:35 PM
MiL's Avatar
MiL MiL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Croatia
Posts: 14

Yes rev 2.X seems more sensitive than 1.X. I guess I just have to set up a bios and not mess around it much, 'couse everytime I change FSB or mem timings goes into "siren mode". It could be PSU I have a feeling rev 2.X is more power-hungry than 1.X

So can anyone confirm what does that siren tone means? Is it overheating of CPU, bad voltages from PSU or RAM error? And why does it happens after saving and exiting from bios, sometimes during reset, too.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"AMD: Bringing "Torrenza" and "Fusion" Together" Daniel ~ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 20th March, 2007 02:59 AM
Latest ATI "R600," "R610" and "R630" details danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 9th January, 2007 10:44 AM
8rda+ error codes "56" and "FF" jarucho EPoX MotherBoards 12 6th December, 2003 06:18 PM
Where to plug "Line In" Device with 8RDA+ and Rear Speakers plugged in "Line In" MegaManX4 EPoX MotherBoards 8 18th June, 2003 10:19 PM
8RDA can't install NF2 drivers in win98 "HELP"-"HELP"!!! qwerty57 EPoX MotherBoards 4 25th January, 2003 06:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0