AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2004, 05:09 PM
Garrett's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 82
Send a message via ICQ to Garrett

Thumbs up 8RDA+ 1.1 13xMP and higher possible through wiremod?

If I use a wiremod (in the socket) to obtain 13x multiplier on my mobile Barton, it will use 13x as the default multiplier if I understand correctly?

http://home.planet.nl/~dikke332/13xmp.png

But if that works, will I also be able to use lower and/or higher multipliers or will it be locked then?

I'm asking this because the board doesn't seem to have the 5bit FID or whatever it's called

I have a mobile here that'll do 2830 mhz @ 2v on "another board" and since this board can give 2.2v I'd really like to have big fun with my waterchiller 3ghz maybe?

I used the guide from this site: http://www.ocinside.de/go_d.html?/ht..._pinmod_d.html
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2004, 09:23 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

From my understanding, the wire mod just forces the 5th bit high. This is the bit that the board can't set on it's own. By doing so, you force the system to use only multipliers above 12.5x. Effectively, the lowest multiplier becomes 13x, even if it displays 5x.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2004, 10:04 PM
Garrett's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 82
Send a message via ICQ to Garrett

Aha... yeah well that's no big issue, the cpu does 2600mhz easily, only needs 1.75v for that
so that would make 13x200, I can run PiFast 1 or 2 times @ 240 fsb and that's it, and 233 3dmark, above that I can't publish 3dmark scores because of the horrific "detected cpu speed variation error", so @ 13x mp, the chiller and LOTS of volts I hope to reach ~ 3Ghz, 13x231 = 3003
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2004, 10:10 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

It's been said before that Bartons don't like voltage. By going from 1.85V to 2.0V with a reservoir full of ice, I go from 2500mhz to 2560mhz.

1.95V without ice is a happy medium, at 2550 mhz, but not during the summer.

2500mhz is stable with an SLK-900 and Panaflo M1A... all that work for 50mhz?

"Noise" isn't even applicable with either setup
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which is better, higher CPU speed, or higher memory bandwidth? mookydooky Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 26th August, 2004 12:33 AM
Higher FSB with 8RDA3+ than 8RDA+? The Doors EPoX MotherBoards 9 12th November, 2003 08:38 PM
nForce2 Higher tRAS yields better performance and higher overclocks? Evc AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 23rd July, 2003 10:42 PM
Higher FSB with 8K9A or 8RDA? Danno EPoX MotherBoards 3 5th July, 2003 10:23 PM
Anyone getting 13x or higher on their 8RDA+ and a 2400+ or 2600+??? boead EPoX MotherBoards 9 19th January, 2003 07:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0