AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 11:46 AM
spirits247's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 106

Were did half my stick of RAM go????

My computer started rebooting randomly two days ago.

Then it was fine for several hours before it started doing it again.

At first I thought it may be the power supply giving out, but on the umpteenth random reboot half my RAM disappeared!!

For where there was once 256Mb crucial on a single stick, now lies 128Mb. Never new half a stick could die like this.

I've ran memtest on the remaining 128Mb, and it's 100% fine.

Questions:

Could a faulty power supply have killed half my RAM? Computer seems back to normal now half the stick is no longer used.

Has anyone else experienced this and found replacing the ram solved all issues.

Thanks for the advice.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.33Ghz 1.6V - 133FSB - 2000rpm Silent Coolers
Epox 8KHA+ KT266A - Crucial 256Mb 2100 DDR 2.5V
Radein 8500 64MB DDR - SBlive
4x Front 2x Rear USB 2.0 Card
Deskstar 180GXP 120GB 8MB cache - SpinPoint SP0411N 40GB Low Profile
Optorite CDRW 52x32x52 - Pioneer DVD 115 16x
SkyHawk 400W PSU - 220W combined
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 01:13 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

had my GF1 DDR go from 32 mb, to 16 mb once.... but it came back after i put everything back to stock speed.... may be the same with your RAM
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 02:12 PM
spirits247's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 106

Thanks for the reply, but I'm afraid my RAM is half dead RIP.

I've selected optimised defaults, reset the CMOS, re-seated the RAM stick in all three slots but it only wants to play 50%. - I want 110%!!!

Strange thing is, I've treated this stick with respect: never going above 2.7V while testing high FSB; normal day-to-day running at 2.6V 136FSB; handling it with a anti-static wrist-strap.

Yet you guys are creaming these babies at 3.2V and 170+ FSB!!! I must have received a weak stick.

Oh well, looks like I'm stuck with 128Mb for a while until I send it back for replacement leaving me with no computer other than my trusty AMD586-P75 133@160 (never failed me yet! )

With RAM prices the way they are, I'm sure as hell not going to buy a new one!
__________________
Athlon XP 1.33Ghz 1.6V - 133FSB - 2000rpm Silent Coolers
Epox 8KHA+ KT266A - Crucial 256Mb 2100 DDR 2.5V
Radein 8500 64MB DDR - SBlive
4x Front 2x Rear USB 2.0 Card
Deskstar 180GXP 120GB 8MB cache - SpinPoint SP0411N 40GB Low Profile
Optorite CDRW 52x32x52 - Pioneer DVD 115 16x
SkyHawk 400W PSU - 220W combined
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 07:41 PM
K6-III's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 661

Crucial lifetime warranties rule!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 09:19 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Mains borne spikes can also inflict this sort of damage. The random reboots sound like it might well have been the RAM in the act of dying.

I've known of one guy who ran a BBS who lost 4-5 sticks across several computers at the same time due to glitches.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd February, 2002, 09:37 PM
Spode's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain
Posts: 1,439
Send a message via MSN to Spode

I have seen this happen before. One reboot would be 256mb and it would then CRASH and reboot with 128mb. Then it would be fine...

Nothing we could do except replace RAM.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2002, 11:07 PM
Jen Jen is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 138

my generic MT ddr memory is doing the same.........rebooting randomly even at stock speed.




Jen
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
usb dvt stick ianf General Hardware Discussion 5 28th September, 2006 07:41 PM
8RDA+ (1) 512 stick or (2) 256 of this ram? El_jer EPoX MotherBoards 2 11th February, 2003 06:25 PM
8RDA with 1 stick of RAM?! paymon EPoX MotherBoards 3 2nd January, 2003 04:18 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0