AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 27th December, 2004, 04:40 PM

Your recommendation on Epox motherboard, Epox rep input requested

Gents,

After reading many posts and several bios flashes (using the flags that were recommended).

In specific using the 11/30/04 bios release for the 8KDA3+ with
AWDFLASH [biosflash].bin /py /wb /cc /cd /cp

I noticed that the system is faster, the slight to annoying lag is gone, and startup is also faster. Memory autiomatically comes up with 200, using Corsair 3200 XMS.

But the random restarts and BSODs remain (although fewer). I think that I have done everything I can to test the system. Re-read that, everything I can, not what experts can do. I am no expert. Changed memory, vid card, not the processor, no overclocking ever.

I am thinking of RMAing the board. I just want something comparable, but stable. I have been pleased with this board (when it works). I would not mind staying with Epox, but I think I want something different than the 8KDA3+, unless there is something you all can tell me.

In the arena of revisions, do you know if there was an update to the board (not bios)? How, where, can I find out all this?

In your opinion would the EP-8HDA3+ be a decent lateral alternative? This is the one that uses the VIA chipset.

Or would you suggest I go to another manufacturer (last option to me)?

Regards,

Liver.
Old 27th December, 2004, 07:36 PM

What kind of PSU are you using..... A weak one will cause the problems you describe. Also, you cant go by either the total wattage or individual rail amperes listed on the sticker; you need to select a PSU wisely or you'll be trying out a lot of mainboards.
eVGA 6800GT
Antec 430 TruePower
1-WD800JB PATA
2-WD800JD SATA