AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2005, 03:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 23

Question Unlock Thoroughbred B on 8k3a+

Hi, what I must do to select low (<13.5x) multipliers on my 8K3A+?
I have a Athlon XP 2200+ (now at 166x13.5) T-Bred B, and if I set the multipliers throw the BIOS the values at the boot are different from the selected ones like 8x->16x.
All the multipliers are greater than 13.5 but to increase the FSB I must decrease the multiplier!

Help!

Ciao, Andrea K (from Italy)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2005, 05:17 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Anybody know if the L12 mod will help this one? I know it will give you high multis, but if you've already got the hi ones, can you do it to get the low ones?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2005, 05:54 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I think you have to cut the L12, since it will be already closed on high multi CPUs. However, it is a risky surgery.

BTW, while 8k3a+ was a champ overclocker in its day, running higher than 180 fsb has risks on that board, that are unncessary today (IDE for example). Getting a cheap new mobo with 200fsb support is a safer bet.... while you are at it, you could get one with 5bit FID in the bios, which would authomatically get you all multipliers for that CPU.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2005, 02:40 AM
chile's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 160

go to www.ocinside.de
__________________
MSI K8T Neo FIS2R / A64 2800+ (200x9) / TT TR2M6 / 512x1 Buffalo PC3700 / PColor 9800SE / Antec TP430W

My Heatware
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2005, 02:52 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

i used a Tbred B 2400+ in my 8k3a, you have to use the copper wire trick to do it. At one stage there were several posts and images of how to do it on AOA but alot of the image links are dead by now. http://www.ocworkbench.com/2002/amd/...ocktbredp1.htm
you can put the wire in the socket itself rather than on the pins. I found a spare IDE cable that was copper, sliced a strand out, cut it, bent it into a u shape, inserted it into the pin holes that those two pins would go into, and let fly. 185X12.5 = 2313mhz on the Tbred 2400+. good chips, good trick
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 15th February, 2005 at 03:01 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2005, 11:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 23

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
i used a Tbred B 2400+ in my 8k3a, you have to use the copper wire trick to do it. At one stage there were several posts and images of how to do it on AOA but alot of the image links are dead by now. http://www.ocworkbench.com/2002/amd/...ocktbredp1.htm
you can put the wire in the socket itself rather than on the pins. I found a spare IDE cable that was copper, sliced a strand out, cut it, bent it into a u shape, inserted it into the pin holes that those two pins would go into, and let fly. 185X12.5 = 2313mhz on the Tbred 2400+. good chips, good trick
Thanks!!! I will try!

Ciao, Andrea K.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th February, 2005, 11:51 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Its a 100% success rate trick and well known, if that page is a little uninformative, google the keywords, U copper wire trick tbred
that should get you a few good pages on it.
once upon a time i was one of about 20 people on this forum that had the wire trick in place. Now the 8k3as are all but dead.
good to see one of these old girls is still in action. soon as i get an ATX case to house it in im getting the 2400/8k3a out as a folding rig. They're old, but damn good

Give us a yell once you get it running mate, good luck
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2005, 03:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Posts: 23

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio
Its a 100% success rate trick and well known, if that page is a little uninformative, google the keywords, U copper wire trick tbred
that should get you a few good pages on it.
once upon a time i was one of about 20 people on this forum that had the wire trick in place. Now the 8k3as are all but dead.
good to see one of these old girls is still in action. soon as i get an ATX case to house it in im getting the 2400/8k3a out as a folding rig. They're old, but damn good

Give us a yell once you get it running mate, good luck
Ok, this 8k3a+ is used and I have taken her to accommodate one old 3Dfx Voodoo5 55000 AGP.

I am a nostalgic one!

Bye, Andrea K.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoroughbred 2600+ 333 FSB and 8k3a DarkRift EPoX MotherBoards 4 4th November, 2003 10:39 PM
8K3A and Thoroughbred 2600+ tallguy EPoX MotherBoards 20 2nd November, 2003 12:16 AM
8K3a-XP2600 need unlock to add V-core? Player1 EPoX MotherBoards 3 14th January, 2003 12:20 AM
2200+ can't unlock with 8K3A+ ap0calyps AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 23rd September, 2002 11:25 PM
which mb for AMD Thoroughbred? cpu-uk EPoX MotherBoards 1 10th March, 2002 11:15 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0