AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 09:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 7

Disable EZ / Easy Boot?

Hi all,

I've a bunch of epox 4plai motherboards in a school. The student's have discovered if you hit escape after the POST, you can select which boot device to start up on.

Unhappily, they are using boot disks in order to cripple the PCs. Is there any way to disable the easy boot options?

Thanks in advance,
Dave
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 11:14 AM
tottyspotter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 246

Why don't you just disable the floppy drives in the BIOS?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 San Diego
1024 MB Corsair XMS PC3200XL CAS2 2-2-2-5
Gigabyte GA-K8NSU-939
NVidia 6800GT
Yesico FL-420(T) Fanless 420W PSU
2 x Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80GB SATA RAID0
Silverstone Temjin TJ05S-T Case
Hyundai ImageQuest L90D+ 19" LCD


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 11:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 7

Because I want to use the floppy drive (and specifically cd rom, which they are actually using to boot from) once it's booted into the OS.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 12:10 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

Chop their fingers off
__________________
I have a kit.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 02:02 PM
kellamne's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 624

Isn't there an option to put you HDD as 1st/only boot device and then password protect your bios?
__________________
* Antec Fusion - ALiveNF6G-VSTA - X2/4000 - 2GB - 7800GT - XP
* Asus Eee 4G Surf - 1Gb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 03:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 7

So far, jnansley's suggestion is the best

The BIOS's are set up correctly (HDD Boot only) and passworded. The problem is with Epox's 'Easy Boot' - if you hit ESC while it's booting, regardless of the boot priority you've set, the 'board pops up a menu asking which device to boot from.

I've tried removing everything BUT the HDD in the bios, but you can still bring up the menu.

Any thoughts?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 04:12 PM
tottyspotter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 246

Have you checked for other revisions of the BIOS that don't have the 'Easy Boot' option?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 San Diego
1024 MB Corsair XMS PC3200XL CAS2 2-2-2-5
Gigabyte GA-K8NSU-939
NVidia 6800GT
Yesico FL-420(T) Fanless 420W PSU
2 x Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80GB SATA RAID0
Silverstone Temjin TJ05S-T Case
Hyundai ImageQuest L90D+ 19" LCD


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 04:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 7

Yep, the board was released with the option as standard (sigh). Also, even if I could find a version (which I can't), I'd be loathed to downgrade.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2005, 04:34 PM
tottyspotter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 246

It surprises me that there's no option to disable it in the BIOS, it does seem to be a bit of an oversight as far as security is concerned.

Out of interest, other than the initial install, why are the floppy / cdrom drives required?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 San Diego
1024 MB Corsair XMS PC3200XL CAS2 2-2-2-5
Gigabyte GA-K8NSU-939
NVidia 6800GT
Yesico FL-420(T) Fanless 420W PSU
2 x Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80GB SATA RAID0
Silverstone Temjin TJ05S-T Case
Hyundai ImageQuest L90D+ 19" LCD


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2005, 09:54 AM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

Quote:
Originally Posted by tottyspotter
It surprises me that there's no option to disable it in the BIOS, it does seem to be a bit of an oversight as far as security is concerned.

Out of interest, other than the initial install, why are the floppy / cdrom drives required?
I think they weren't intended to be OEM'ish boards I would certainly look at getting away from floppy/cd-roms, assuming you can use a network drive for installations, and convince everyone to use email / USB "thumbdrives" to move files around if that's even necessary (of course, hopefully they won't figure out how to make bootable USB drives...)
__________________
I have a kit.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2005, 10:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 7

That was my next point, it's too late for that, they can also boot off USB drives (at least to a dos box, which is enough to fdisk and delete my ghost boot partition, which is what we actually use to perform installs). The floppy's are not a problem, I can happily get shut of them. We use the CD drives as 'burners' (basically, with the horiffically large filesizes of everything these days, we only allow the students a couple of hundred megs on the servers, hence when that's full, we say "put it on CD" (and buy some cd's off us)). But quite frankly, in a perfect world, there'd be no box for the kids to touch at all.

I was hoping for a jumper setting or hidden bios setting or flash to the bios to get rid of this. Failing that, I guess we'll just have to start expelling the students as punishment...

Thanks for the help guys,
Dave
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2005, 02:59 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

I'm sure that since your install base is pretty large, and you're a non-profit organization, that someone at Epox would be more than happy to make you a BIOS that simply skips that keystroke check.

It's probably just a matter of changing a few bytes to NOP.

Wonder if ET will pop in here and tell you who to talk to? I'm guessing a phone call to the support number might be the best way to get escalated to someone who can help you.
__________________
I have a kit.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2005, 03:35 PM
tottyspotter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 246

He's online at the moment - try PMing him. http://www.aoaforums.com/forum/member.php?userid=165
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 San Diego
1024 MB Corsair XMS PC3200XL CAS2 2-2-2-5
Gigabyte GA-K8NSU-939
NVidia 6800GT
Yesico FL-420(T) Fanless 420W PSU
2 x Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80GB SATA RAID0
Silverstone Temjin TJ05S-T Case
Hyundai ImageQuest L90D+ 19" LCD


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2005, 04:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2005
Posts: 7

Thanks for the info! You guys rock... I've sent him a PM. I'll let you know how it goes.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2005, 05:18 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

I know I have a PM, but not seen it as logged in as this account on this Centrino and real busy washing clothes for suitcase atm (doing London - Brighton bike ride Sunday and have to get back to UK).

I have mailed through a request to HQ on this - hope to get a response soon.
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2005, 05:24 PM
tottyspotter's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 246

Offtopic: One of the guys I work with is doing that bike ride, we've all sponsored him as he's doing it for charity. Good luck, temperatures are supposed to be around 29C, so might be tough going!
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700 San Diego
1024 MB Corsair XMS PC3200XL CAS2 2-2-2-5
Gigabyte GA-K8NSU-939
NVidia 6800GT
Yesico FL-420(T) Fanless 420W PSU
2 x Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80GB SATA RAID0
Silverstone Temjin TJ05S-T Case
Hyundai ImageQuest L90D+ 19" LCD


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2005, 05:31 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Cheers Tottyspotter! Temperature no problem for ET!!! 29 degrees is nice and cool for me!
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2005, 12:46 AM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

Quote:
Originally Posted by wild_andy_c
Cheers Tottyspotter! Temperature no problem for ET!!! 29 degrees is nice and cool for me!
Hmm.. Celcius... it was 34.5 today
__________________
I have a kit.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2005, 03:00 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Please get in touch through the proper support channel in order I can assist you properley with this request.
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2005, 05:44 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Please flash with either of the contained BETA BIOS
Attached Files
File Type: zip 4PLA5617.zip (441.6 KB, 32 views)
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you disable the ability to use a cd/rw? Nate-X General Hardware Discussion 2 19th October, 2006 12:43 PM
How to Disable Wireless Zero Config. devilmyarse Mobile Devices and Networking 0 21st October, 2005 07:28 PM
Enable/ Disable autorun in Win XP? bradmax57 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 8 6th December, 2003 01:02 AM
EPoX 8KRA2I : can't disable "floppy seek at boot" Vasya Pupkin EPoX MotherBoards 3 18th September, 2003 08:36 AM
Disable NIC On 8RDA+ CooledByWater EPoX MotherBoards 1 18th January, 2003 04:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0