AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2002, 11:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 67

8K3A question.

Will the 8K3A have a 1/5 pci divider?
I have read two reviews for the asus a7v333 and both show a 1/5 and 1/6 divider.
http://www.amd3d.com/review/a7v333/bios1.jpg
The only review of the epox 8K3A made no mention of it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2002, 01:41 PM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Please understand that this is a touchy subject. Our resident EPoX Tech may not be able to answer that question now or ever.

However, if the chipset supports it, I doubt EPoX would go out of there way to disable that support.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2002, 10:44 PM
Nitza666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 121

The 8K3A looks again like again a great board like the 8KHA+ but if it doesnt support 1/5 and 1/6 PCI divider there is no point to buy the 8KA3 if you have already have the 8KHA+ to just run a-sync the memory to 166MHz.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2002, 03:11 PM
herbal'|''s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Gainesville, GA
Posts: 10

I definately agree. The only way I will even think about upgrading to the 8K3A is if I can run at a 166FSB with memory at 166MHz and my PCI at 33MHz. I don't like running my Audigy and R8500 at extremely high frequencies.
__________________
AthlonXP 1800+ TBredA@2000MHz (10x200) - Alpha PAL8045 w/Delta 68CFM 80MM Fan (Soon to be WaterCooled) - EPoX 8K3A+ - 512MB Corsair XMS3500C2PT DDR SDRAM 2-2-2-5 - ATI Radeon 8500 128MB (310/315) - SB Audigy w/Altec Lansing 5.1 Channel Speakers - Western Digital 120GB Special Edition ATA100 7200RPM - Plextor CDRW (40/12/40) - Lite-On DVDROM (12/40)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2002, 09:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 11

It has to have the 1/5 because the KT333 chipset nativly supports PC2700. The only way this can be is with a 1/5 PCI divider. The only reason it wasn't in the KT266 is because it only supported PC1600 and PC2100. The question should be does it have a manual setting like the screenshot or does it do it automatically. And also does it suppore 1/6PCI as well.
__________________
"If its broke fix it, if it ain't broke overclock it!"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2002, 09:23 PM
Nitza666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 121

The KT333 supports PC2700 but that doesnt mean that it supports 166MHz FSB it can run async the memory/FSB,memory at 166MHz and FSB at 133MHz.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2002, 12:32 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
Originally posted by Haze
It has to have the 1/5 because the KT333 chipset nativly supports PC2700. The only way this can be is with a 1/5 PCI divider. The only reason it wasn't in the KT266 is because it only supported PC1600 and PC2100. The question should be does it have a manual setting like the screenshot or does it do it automatically. And also does it suppore 1/6PCI as well.
The KT333 has a 1/5 PCI and FSB devider.

Meaning that the CPU runs at 133 and the memory at 166.

Obviously there is a big gain by running your CPU and memory at 166...as yet nobody knows if the epos supports this feature or not.

Hopefully we will see a propper overclocking review soon.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd March, 2002, 02:51 AM
Nitza666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 121

There is no need for the KT333 to have an 1/5 PCI multiplier to run the memory at 166MHz and the CPU FSB at 133MHz since at 133MHz CPU(which is the FSB)and the memory async at 166MHz only a 1/4 PCI divider is required since to get the PCI bus we divide the CPU FSB not the memory clock.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8k3a+ question Fran28 EPoX MotherBoards 2 28th December, 2003 12:31 AM
8k3a question I-G-I EPoX MotherBoards 5 25th December, 2003 11:31 PM
8k3a+ question for E.T. shroomalistic EPoX MotherBoards 4 8th November, 2002 11:21 PM
8k3a question KillerMCB EPoX MotherBoards 3 18th August, 2002 10:58 AM
8K3A question??? evilernie EPoX MotherBoards 16 15th February, 2002 03:30 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0