AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2006, 10:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Posts: 2

EP-8RDA3 Sound Problems

I just installed an Epox 8RDA3 motherboard with a fresh copy of Windows XP.

Despite the onboard AC'97 sound set to "Auto" in the Bios, I do not have entries in my Device Manager relating to the chip.

In the Sound and Audio Devices Properties dialog box it says "No Audio Device".

All other motherboard features are working fine (LAN, USB etc)

I have installed all the options on the Driver CD, however, at no point was there an option to install audio drivers.

In my Device Manager, I have a "PCI Modem" under Unknown Device with no drivers installed for. I don't have a PCI modem installed and as far as I am aware the motherbaord does not have an no board modem. Is it possible that this mystery modem is related to my lack of sound chip?

Does anybody have any ideas?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2006, 03:08 PM
Wolf2000me's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,238

download the nvidia nforce drivers at www.nvidia.com

Those include drivers for all components including sound. You also get the choice of installing every component, including the audio driver.
__________________
Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
Intel Q6600 3720Mhz
TT Mozart Tx
2x WD Raptors 74gb R0
2x Maxtor 300gb
Asus Geforce EN8800GT
Windoors XP Pro sp2

Download here OcBible 1.55 & Guidemania v1.21
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2006, 08:41 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

You probably need to install Realtek drivers as you don't have the MCP-T audio.
__________________
I have a kit.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2006, 08:42 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

To be more precise, that's Avance drivers from the Realtek site. You have a chip on your motherboard named "ALCxxx" where xxx is the model number.
__________________
I have a kit.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 08:16 AM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Or possibly even CMedia Drivers since the older 8RDA3 boards are with CMedia PHY instead of Realtek ALC655.
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 11:43 AM
ochest's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2005
Location: Vauxhall, London
Posts: 65
Send a message via MSN to ochest

Would Windows Update pick up any drivers for it?
__________________
I Antec NeoHE 550W I Epox EP-9NPA+ Ultra I SD 3700+ 1.475V I
I 1GB Crucial Ballistix PC4000 I X1900XT I Viewsonic VX924 I
I WD Raptor 74GB+Maxtor Diamondmax10 200GB+80GB I
I Current Speed 2695mhz (11x245) RAM @ 2.5-2-2-7 2.7V 245Mhz I
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 11:50 AM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

No - not unless the device is already installed
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 12:01 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Make sure you install ALL of your motherboard drivers. This will ensure propper operation af your board and the best stability. Do the same with your video also.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 01:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2006
Posts: 2

Thanks for the replies,

I have installed the latest nvidia and realtek drivers, but no change.

The problem still seems to be that there appears to be no hardware for the drivers to work with, despite the AC'97 sound option in BIOS being set to Auto.

I still have this strange PCI Modem hardware entry.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 01:54 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

You show nothing? There should at least ba an unknown pci device with a welloy exclamation mark next to it in the device manager.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 02:21 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

Yeah, "PCI Wave Modem?" comes up a lot. Did you find the ALCxxx chip? If you didn't, then the ALC drivers won't help and you should be looking for a CMIxxxx chip.
__________________
I have a kit.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 03:26 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Is it the CMI 9739 on those ?
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 04:09 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

You know better than me Does 87xx ring a bell? It was their popular 5.1 part "back in the day" (when non "+" models only came with stereo) whatever it was.
__________________
I have a kit.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 04:11 PM
jnansley's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 888

Oh... he has a non "+". Hmm.
__________________
I have a kit.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2006, 04:19 PM
wild_andy_c's Avatar
Pixel Slave to Satan
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Back in the UUUK
Posts: 985

Nah - 8K3A was the only board with 2ch on one rev and 6ch on another. All EPoX ATX premium board PCB's have been 6ch or 8ch since the 8K3A series.....

8K3A/+
8K5A2/+
8K5A3+
8K9A2/+
8K9A3/+
8RDA/+
8RDA3/+
8RDA+ Pro
8RDA6+ Pro
8RGMI
8RGM3I

All 754 are 6 or 8
All 939 are 6 or 8

Only some freak cost down PCB's are 2ch like 8KMM+ etc.

Obviously I may have forgotten a few but it should be pretty much as above!
__________________
Macbook 5,2 | GeForce 9400M | 4GB DDR2 667 | Core 2 Duo P7300 | 2.3TB storage | Vestax Spin
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8RDA3+ on board sound - only 2 channels work Novis_cz EPoX MotherBoards 0 1st November, 2005 01:46 PM
8RDA3 No Post, Siren Sound tetrahedron EPoX MotherBoards 4 4th December, 2004 10:22 PM
8RDA3+ On-board sound prob sunsys100 EPoX MotherBoards 2 20th February, 2004 09:35 AM
How good is the sound on the 8RDA3+? superjohnny EPoX MotherBoards 0 19th June, 2003 08:03 PM
Sound problems with XP Samuknow Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 17th July, 2002 04:28 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0