AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th October, 2001, 06:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 16
Send a message via ICQ to Jason|Pro

for EPoX tech guy about my vmod have a question

bout to Vmod my epox 8kta3+ any tips? i got a 4.7k ohm pot is this the right size? im gonna be watercooling it after i do this
(still need to unlock my xp ack )
__________________
XP 1800
epox 8kta3+
3 mushkin rev3+ 256mb
2 40 gig ibm 60 gxp in raid 0
ASUS GF3 Deluxe
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th October, 2001, 07:32 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

I don't know if he can actually answer that question since he still is an employee of Epox. I could be wrong though.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th October, 2001, 08:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

sounds a bit low to me... the 8kha mod needs a 220k resistor or pot from the feedback pin to ground. 4.7k in the 8kha's case would cause all the feedback current to flow to ground, and the voltage would rise infinitely until your chip or mobo popped! i'd definitely confirm with someone who's done the 8kta3 mod first.
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th October, 2001, 08:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 16
Send a message via ICQ to Jason|Pro

i read it here

here check it out

http://www.ocmod.com/code/show_art.php?id=18&pg=1
__________________
XP 1800
epox 8kta3+
3 mushkin rev3+ 256mb
2 40 gig ibm 60 gxp in raid 0
ASUS GF3 Deluxe
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2001, 04:28 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

http://www.wildandyc.co.uk/pieces/8kta3/volt.shtml

First off, the 8KHA+ uses the CS5301, and I believe the 8KHA does as well. The 8KTA3(+), use the CS5303. These are not the same IC(though similar), so to treat there voltage feedback the same might not be appropriate.

Secondly, with the 8KHA(+) Vcore hack, you are soldering dirrectly to the IC leg. With the 8KTA3(+) you are soldering to some points on the motherboard.

These are two different voltage regulators, and two different motherboards. Lets not get 'em mixed up ladies and gents, 47K is the ticket for the 8KTA3+!
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2001, 07:07 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Dimmreaper is completely right.

This modification is very easy provided that you take care.

The only problem is that if your 8KTA3 has the HIP 6301 voltage regulator you will need to find another guide such as the one at http://www.vr-zone.com/guides/8kta3/
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2001, 08:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

i stand corrected. how is it, though, that the power supply circuits are so different on the 8kha and 8kta3?
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2001, 12:15 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Because of the feed voltages. The feed voltages and currents on a DDR board differ from those on a SDR SDRAM board - Hence the difference in VMod.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2001, 01:47 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by EPoX Tech
Because of the feed voltages. The feed voltages and currents on a DDR board differ from those on a SDR SDRAM board - Hence the difference in VMod.
ah, that makes sense.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for Epox Tech Galifrey EPoX MotherBoards 16 6th December, 2002 05:48 PM
Epox tech, question for you!! drunken_master EPoX MotherBoards 4 30th April, 2002 07:46 PM
Question for Epox Tech Dr. GoodenHigh EPoX MotherBoards 6 4th February, 2002 08:39 PM
Epox Tech, Question Please Landry21 EPoX MotherBoards 8 14th December, 2001 10:28 PM
Question for Epox Tech Racerx EPoX MotherBoards 5 13th December, 2001 03:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0