AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2002, 01:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 25

Epox Tech... bios flash question

The "read-me" that comes with the bios flashing instructions (4G4A+, in my case) has this at the end:

5. Reboot the machine.

6. After this, press DEL to enter the BIOS setup and select to "LOAD OPTIMIZED DEFAULTS". After doing this select to "SAVE & EXIT."

Actually, when performing the flash, the on-screen instructions indicate to load "setup defaults". I'm sure most of us don't use the optimized defaults, and certainly no one uses the setup defaults. In either case, what is the purpose of step 6?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2002, 02:48 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Just a guess, but it would seem a good measure to take to insure that your current settings don't crash your box with the new BIOS. But as I said, just a guess.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th September, 2002, 11:55 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

The popint of loading optimiesed defaults is to remove all settings that may have been left from your previous bios.

Clearing the CMOS jumper will do the same thing.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPoX Tech - Beta BIOS Question CYoung1235 EPoX MotherBoards 6 25th June, 2003 08:35 AM
8rda+ bios short question to Epox tech maluszek EPoX MotherBoards 4 20th May, 2003 08:26 PM
Epox Tech - Tried 8k5a2805.bin force flash-> xgman EPoX MotherBoards 8 20th August, 2002 07:17 PM
Bios Flash Question The Spyder EPoX MotherBoards 1 12th June, 2002 05:53 AM
A Question for EPox Tech O'Dell EPoX MotherBoards 3 7th March, 2002 11:43 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0