AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > EPoX MotherBoards

EPoX MotherBoards EPoX Intel and AMD Motherboards.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2001, 07:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 16
Send a message via ICQ to Jason|Pro

EPoX TECH HELP PLEASE !!!

ok i got a epox 8kta3+ trying to install windows XP
and it keeps hanging in the xp startup im running as follows
XP 1800
epox 8kta3+
running raid 0 w/ 2 40 gig ibm 60 gxp
3 mushkin rev3+ 256 mb (ram)


and im using the windows 2k raid drivers

is there something wrong with my bios or something that its not booting ??? after i install it if i do a completley new install it stops at the bluescreenpart of the install where it says starting windows
then if i try to upgrade it stops in the starting windows so same spot just diff screen

i cant figure out whats wrong and cannot find XP raid drivers if that is my problem
__________________
XP 1800
epox 8kta3+
3 mushkin rev3+ 256mb
2 40 gig ibm 60 gxp in raid 0
ASUS GF3 Deluxe
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2001, 08:07 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

EPoX Tech is out of town for the week-end. Normally I'm not one to jump on to questions addressed to him. But given the serious nature of this(you want you machine running, and running now!), and the fact that he won't be back till Monday, I don't think he will mind if I try to help.

What type of PSU are you running the machine on? Is it AMD approved, if so for what speed of CPU? And how much combined power, on the low voltage rail, does the PSU have? I know EPoX Tech recommends a minimum 195w of combined power for the DDR boards, I assume the SDR boards arn't quite as hungry. So I'll take a wild stab and guess 185w would be about the minimum you would want.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2001, 08:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 16
Send a message via ICQ to Jason|Pro

heh trust me i got nuff power
enermax 651

everything is pretyt much close to top of the line on my pc but it just wont boot and its sorta making me mad i can still go into win2k or xp setup tho heh so im on 2k now
__________________
XP 1800
epox 8kta3+
3 mushkin rev3+ 256mb
2 40 gig ibm 60 gxp in raid 0
ASUS GF3 Deluxe
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2001, 08:20 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Hmm . . . . don't know then. My next guess would be cooling, but I assume you have that covered as well. Only thing I can figure is the driver then.

Who knows, maybe someone else will come along with the solution.

Good luck . . .
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2001, 08:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 16
Send a message via ICQ to Jason|Pro

ok well i guess ill just wait around then
__________________
XP 1800
epox 8kta3+
3 mushkin rev3+ 256mb
2 40 gig ibm 60 gxp in raid 0
ASUS GF3 Deluxe
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2001, 08:35 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

650, but it's still an enermax. what sort of voltage are you getting on the 5v rails? I don't think that' sthe problem though.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2001, 09:02 AM
dimmreaper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: road to insanity
Posts: 5,347
Send a message via ICQ to dimmreaper Send a message via AIM to dimmreaper

Quote:
Originally posted by Jason|Pro
heh trust me i got nuff power
enermax 651
I dunno, I don't see it on either the XP 1800+ or Tbird 1.4 list. You would think for AMD to not approve a PSU from a companey like Enermax that there would be a damn good reason.
__________________
¤ Jeffery ¤

Wishing you were someone else is a waste of the person you are. - Kurt Cobain

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2001, 09:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 16
Send a message via ICQ to Jason|Pro

yeah you can mod it tho just open it up and turn the 5V pot up a lil bit and the 5v is just fine thats the only problem w/ them
__________________
XP 1800
epox 8kta3+
3 mushkin rev3+ 256mb
2 40 gig ibm 60 gxp in raid 0
ASUS GF3 Deluxe
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Epox Tech??, Beta Bios for Epox 8KDA3J NeWJoe1 EPoX MotherBoards 1 12th June, 2004 05:06 AM
To Epox Tech... Questions about the Epox EP-9NDA+ Bring the Noise EPoX MotherBoards 3 10th June, 2004 04:26 PM
Epox 8kha+ Boot problem Epox tech please help csonkaa EPoX MotherBoards 1 26th November, 2003 09:32 AM
EPoX Tech, some really tech info... MOSFETS... TodB EPoX MotherBoards 2 12th May, 2002 08:20 PM
Epox Tech few problems with my setup of my Epox 8KHA+ Paul.K EPoX MotherBoards 13 18th October, 2001 07:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0